We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for anything more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for anything more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

On our way to Canoe Bay, WI to celebrate our 10th anniversary, we decided to stay a night in Milwaukee specifically to visit the art museum. I was deciding between the Iron Horse and Pfister. Pfister's art package was unbeatable - including museum tickets, a deluxe lake view room, dining credit, parking, and wine - so I booked. Our initial room was on the 20th floor. The room was nice, but had slightly dated carpet and a standard bathtub. As we unpacked, I could hear our neighbors talking and playing their radio. Being a light sleeper, we called down to request a quieter room and they moved us to the presidential floor. Our room there was spectacular. Same view but newer accommodations and so very quiet! We were most impressed with the fitness center (really top-notch!), which was as upscale as the 5-star hotels we've stayed in, and the Pfister Cafe. They lend iPads, which is a nice, modern touch. I was also impressed with the Artist-in-Residence room, which lets you view a painter at work. I won't lie that the upgrade to a Presidential bedroom made a big difference. But, the overall service and amenities at Pfister were really impressive. We look forward to a future stay.

Room Tip: Request a high floor; request a presidential bedroom if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much, and Happy Anniversary. I hope your visit to Canoe Bay went well. Thank you for your compliments on all the amenities offered at the Pfister Hotel. While we are very proud of our 118 year history, we know that our guest need a little bit more than history for a stay, so we have included all the modern touches you could desire, like the iPads. We look forward to having you with us for future anniversaries!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    227
    58
    26
    17
See reviews for
242
471
51
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Ideally located in easily accessible downtown, the classic hotel is kept up magnificently. We had a suite which was beautifully appointed. wonderful service, really nice workout room and pool and beautiful lobby. marble bathroom and super comfortable room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for enjoying all of our featured comforts, and sharing it with other travelers. Anniversaries our some of our favorite guests to have. You review was very nice and detailed, thank you for sharing. We look forward to having you with us again.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have had two exceptional stays at the Pfister Hotel. The first was when we "reviewed" the hotel as a possible reception site for our daughter's wedding and the second was for the wedding reception. Both times the accomodations and staff attentiveness was exceptional. The rooms in the original building are very large, tastefully decorated and delightful. We found the food selections to be top-notch and the service/friendliness of the staff superior. When in Milwaukee, this is the hotel to visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Two visits, two great trips, what a great thing to hear! I am happy to hear that you loved our accommodations, and the food, I will be sure to share with our Chef and kitchen staff. Thank you again for sharing your experiences in "Old World Elegance" with the world.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have been staying at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee since the 1970's. Each time we return, it is with host of pleasant memories and the assurance that our current trip will not disappoint us. Ask for a room on the balcony, finish the night with a cocktail in the bar, and take the time for a leisurely breakfast in the morning. You CAN go home again to the Pfister.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
While we know every guest has a home, we love the fact that people feel "at home" at the Pfister Hotel. It is really great to hear from guests who have been staying with us for so long, in your case 4o years! I take pride in knowing that every return visit is like returning home. Thank you again for your fabulous review, and we can't wait for your next visit.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great downtown location, lots of dining options inside and nearby, valet and dining staff were exceptional. The negative: jackhammers and private events created a rather noisy experience. Obviously the hotel couldn't control outside road construction, but I certainly hope guests were booked in rooms near the construction only because the hotel was at capacity. Front desk staff was kind enough to comp my breakfast when I mentioned the noise at check-out. Construction aside, Wisconsin Avenue is a popular thruway in the city so I'll probably request a room on a higher floor, or one not facing Wisconsin. There is either a bar or maybe it was a private event, but the noise over the course of the night was just loud enough to keep me up. The Pfister has great history and staff is very attentive, but chose your room carefully.

Room Tip: Chose your room carefully for a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you so much for you kind review. I am sorry that the construction on Wisconsin Ave was bothersome to you during your stay, you are correct, we were at capacity that evening with weddings and other special events. Thank you again for you kind words on the property and staff, I will be sure to share them. We look forward to having you back with us again in Milwaukee, and at the Pfister Hotel...sans the road construction.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

There is no price on being part of Milwaukee's history. Walk to everything, river walk, museum, shops. Beautiful historic building with high ceiling, luxurious rooms. Ask to stay in the original hotel and see old world luxury. Well worth the premium. Soak up the city on the 23rd floor pool and Blu restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in original hotel as the Tower was built at a later date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for dubbing us "The Only Hotel in Milwaukee." We take a lot of pride in our history, amenities and location. It is great to hear that you had the chance to take them all in, along with the rest of the city. We truly look forward to all your future visits to Milwaukee and the Pfister Hotel.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed 2 nights at the Pfister for business. (The stay was booked by someone else.) I would not have selected this property; it is tired and seems to be resting on its historical laurels rather than investing in upgrades to make it a truly great property. For the price you pay, for example, I would expect solid Internet connectivity. However, the Internet was sketchy, and would sometimes take 10 minutes just to log in. The pillows are of the cheap, fiber-fill variety... Really? You couldn't afford one decent pillow? There's no question the property looks great, but I'm more interested in properties that WORK great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry that you experienced the issues that you did during your stay. I would like to talk further and explain some of the circumstances that took place during your stay. If you would like, please reach out to me directly at the Pfister Hotel, 414/273.8222. I look forward to speaking with you and further visits.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.