We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Baton Rouge, LA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My sisters and I recently stayed at the Pfister Hotel and we we extremely satisfied. There were four of us and we had a Tower room. The room was accomodating but the bathroom was quite small. The real jewel of this hotel is the lobby. It was breathtaking! True old world charm! The people at the front desk were very helpful when the lobby computer was not working, they printed out all of our boarding passes and even printed out a boarding pass for another traveler that was not staying with us. We ordered a pizza from room service and it came right away and was very tasty. It may have been a little pricey but it think it was about normal for a hotel of this caliber. The only down side was the room had a very old smell. We bought a $20 bottle of room spray from the spa to mask the order. I think the rooms overall could use a little updating. Also, the person I spoke with on the phone said the double beds were the same size as a standard queen, only shorter. NOT TRUE! It was a typical size double bed. Also, we were there 2 nights and room service never cleaned our room. Other than a few minor mishaps, we enjoyed our stay here and will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review and share your stay with everyone on Trip Advisor. I do apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay. While we always strive for perfection, we do understand that problems and occurrences do happen, and I apologize. If you would like to discuss the matters more in depth, my ears are open, please do not hesitate to call the hotel and as for me directly at 414/273.8222.

On the other hand it's still sounds like you had a fantastic trip and stay with us. I will share your kind words with the staff. We do look forward to having you with us again a the Pfister Hotel and in Milwaukee. Thank you again!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
431
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were in Milwaukee to drop our kids off for camp and we stayed at the Pfister once again. Few hotels have a more impressive lobby area, and though we have never been in one of the newer rooms - we always opt for the Suites in the historical wing. The extra space and the extra TV are always welcome. The staff is always efficient and friendly and make you feel welcome. The spa and fitness center are clean and up to date. The hotel is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants and to the historic Third ward with the public market and great restaurants and bars. One of our favorite restaurants in in the hotel - The Mason Street Grill is a great restaurant - don't miss the Surf Clam appetizer (best clams in the upper midwest) and the steaks are wonderful. We cant wait to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for our review! While being 120 years old, we do still try out best to maintain modern amenities, such as the extra TV's in the room. I love hearing that you enjoyed the clams in Mason Street Grill, they are one of my personal favorites too. Don't wait till next year to visit us again, we would love to have you even sooner.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pfister on the night of July 3rd to spend some time together and watch Milwaukees annual fireworks display (the city does the show on the 3rd so suburbs can have the 4th)
As usual check-in was seamless and efficient, everything from the valet to the desk to our room. A total of 6 minutes may have passed from the time we drove up till the time we were kicking off our shoes in the large comfortable bed.
This is an old hotel that has been refreshed on a regular basis. It wears it's age with dignity and style. There are some drawbacks-the bathrooms tend to be a bit small but nicely appointed. The rooms are adequate in size and comfortable.
After getting settled we enjoyed a terrific dinner in the hotel's restaurant, The Mason St. Grill. Service wasfessional and the food very good.
After a fireworks disply that a bit dissapointing compared to previous years (bring back the Bartolottas) we adjourned to the Pfister's cool and casual cocktail lounge, Blu.
If your primary concern when visiting Milwaukee is cost you may want to stay elsewhere. You do get what you pay for at the Pfister but this level of service, comfort and location does'nt cheap in any city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for spending the holiday with us here. Glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay, and had a chance to take in what Milwaukee and the Pfister Hotel has to offer. I was really blown away by your phrase, "It wears it's age with dignity and style." We can't thank you enough for your sentiment, this Grande Dame of a hotel has seen is turning of years, but we agree with you. We look forward to your future stays with us here at the Pfister Hotel. Thank you again.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Spent 2 nights in a King Suite in the old hotel, a post-wedding/pre-honeymoon getaway. Beautiful building, original details are all intact, incredibly friendly and accomodating staff. I didn't enjoy paying seperately for parking (the all day pass seems quite pricey) but it was convenient so we did it anyway. The room was immaculately clean, well appointed and very functional. The weather was unseasonably cold, we we ended up not walking around the neighborhood as much as we wanted, but still did enjoy the hotel's location. A fun place to get away for a few days. Downtown Milwaukee is quite underrated!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your special night with, and we here at the Pfister hope you had an amazing and memorable honeymoon. I enjoyed hearing your kind words on the history and convenience you found the hotel to offer. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you on future anniversaries now.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaunee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We absolutely love the Pfister Hotel. We spent two days there and our wonderful experience started at check-in. We were taking in a Brewers game and our room wasn't ready. We were able to stow our bags and received a phone call later saying our room was ready, we were all checked in and just had to stop at the front desk to pick up our keys. Our room was fantastic. We had a lake view king and the view was just incredible, during the day and at night! We watched fireworks from Blu which was another amazing view of the city. The drinks there were quite yummy and very reasonable. The food at the Mason Street Grill was very good. We really enjoyed the Mason St. Grill Burger and the Signature Chopped salad with grilled chicken breast. YUMMO! Another fun thing we found to do was people watch in the lobby bar. Our bartender was so much fun to talk to and was very knowledgeable about the history of the hotel and all the fun things to do and see in nearby neighborhoods. We found the staff to be extremely welcoming and very attentive. I can't think of one thing that should've been done differently. Our stay was so good we are going back in October. We just can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Well we can't wait to have you back! Thank you so much for your review, by the sounds of it you really enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer, that is fantastic. Thank you for staying with us at the Pfister Hotel while you root on the Brewers, we will see you this October.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We love to stay at The Pfister whenever we can spend a night in Milwaukee. The old world elegance is very special. The staff goes out of the way to accommodate your needs, at least the have for us. The services at Well Spa are *awesome*.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your *awesome* review. I love the fact that you got to enjoy the spa, it really is a world class experience. I will pass you kind words on to the staff, they love hearing that the guests leave satisfied. We look forward to having you with us again at the Pfister Hotel, don't be a stranger to Well Spa and Janice Salon either.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin,Il
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night for our anniversary this month. I wish we could have stayed 2 but they were booked. I had written in the comments of my reservation requests we were celebrating our 30th anniversary. Upon arrival we were given a free upgrade to a King Suite which was awesome. Please visit the swimming pool area to take in a panoramic view of the city as well as their lounge Blu for more views and quaint settings. Overall our stay was very nice and the hotel decor is so beautiful. Alot of artwork to look at too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
We here at the Pfister Hotel wish you a very Happy Anniversary and wish many more to come. When we know ahead of time that a guest is celebrating something special, we make every attempt to go above and beyond when available. I am so happy to hear that this was the case with you stay. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the fun on the 23rd floor, including the pool and Blu. Please do visit us again for your next and future Anniversaries, we will always be ready for you. Thank you again so much for your time and effort in the review.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.