We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Oshkosh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Will stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our fist time at the Clarion and won't be our last. We used the hotel for a park & fly and have never had such a curtious staff. From the moment we walked in and met the shuttle driver, to the front desk and then the bar/restaurant staff - all excellent. One staff memeber mentioned the owners have been the same for 29 yrs and some staff have been there 17+ year. The rates were fair and we were plesantly surprised with the free drink voucher too. Your car is kept in a locked area for safety. 2 minutes to the airport. The rooms are very large and well kept. The pool looked nice although we did not use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As you stated, yes the Rupena family has owned the clarion for quite some time. We pried ourselves in being a family owned and operated hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    67
    56
    27
    10
See reviews for
57
65
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I booked two rooms to attend the Wisconsin State Fair. Everyone we met at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and our reservation was in order. Pool area is very nice and we enjoyed it quite a bit. Rooms were clean and well appointed. When I was booking the rooms online, I messed up and didn't get the rate I was looking for, but upon arrival, the front desk went out of their way to help us get it rebooked. We read the reviews beforehand and had a few question marks, but after our stay, I would have no problem recommending this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for expressing your comments. I am glad to hear that the front desk was able to help you get the rate that you were looking for. 3rd party bookings can always be tricky. Look forward to your next stay.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is tired. It's dated and worn but in a good location to the airport. My room is sparsely appointed and has a 70's feel. My chairs are so spring worn I can't reach the table that serves as a desk. I called the front desk for an office chair and, after a search, was told there were none. So now I have 3 pillows in the chair so I can reach the table. Not a bad hotel but I won't be back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I am sorry to hear about this. Please accept my apologies. Please contact me at the hotel, and I would like a chance to rectify this.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were great, clean, and comfortable. We stayed here after Oshkosh Air Show, and there was no better place to rest at than this hotel and then pick up some delicious food at the hotel bar. Chris is great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the comments. We look forward to seeing you on the next visit.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was a return trip for me and there are many things that I like about this location. One is the on-site restaurant/bar Cork and Cleaver. This is good choice for food and drinks, including the free cocktail vouchers. The king bed was very comfortable the A/C unit was new and operated great.

On the downside this location is in need of a makeover as ti is just showing its age some and out of date, but it is pretty well kept.

The room also included a voucher for a free breakfast in the restaurant which I didn't have time to use so I took advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast.

I would return again when in this area of Milwaukee or flying into the airport.

Room Tip: Third floor room away from the airport was surprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for the comments. We have just completed a renovation of all the hallways, and a portion of the rooms. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had an enjoyable stay for a 3 day weekend while attending Germanfest. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Summerfest park using Hwy. 794. Booked the hotel on Priceline, and they gave us a double-bed room on the first floor which had been recently renovated. The hallways have also been recently updated, so the comments about the hotel appearing run down no longer apply.

The reception desk staff and housekeeping staff were all courteous and friendly. Didn't really get to sample the free "breakfast" in the lobby, because there were several large groups staying there, and they pretty well cleaned everything out by 8:00 AM. There is a Denny's restaurant right up the street, and a Perkin's restaurant about a mile away, and plenty of fast food places nearby.

The room was very quiet, with no airplane noise from the airport, unless you open the window. Mitchell Airport does offer a viewing area to watch the airport operations, with a radio station you can tune into to listen to the tower communications.

The only negative I have about the hotel is that, like all other hotels in the Soviet Republic of Wisconsin, they do not offer smoking rooms, so you have to go outside of the lobby to smoke.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your remarks. As you stated, the Clarion has just recently finished a large renovation throughout the hotel. We are very happy you noticed and commented on that. Thank you again, and look forward to your next stay with us.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The staff is courteous, and very helpful. Place is clean and efficient. Cannot say enough good things.
Would return when back in Milwaukee.
Food was outstanding...portions were huge.
Thanks to housekeeping and all staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate all the good things you stated about the Clarion. We try to take pride in all aspects of the day at the Clarion. We look forward to your next visit.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Address: 5311 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.