We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Airport

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
leepoffaith
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A very average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel has it's good points and bad points. Overall it's very average. The staff was fine; not overly nice, but not rude either. They do have free internet, free parking and it's about as close to the airport as possible. Another nice perk is all rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and our room was properly cleaned. That's where the good points about this hotel end. The room we got (Single Queen Bed) was horribly outdated and felt like we took a trip back to 1980. Also it was so small that one side of the bed didn't even have a night stand. The window in our room was looking out into the pool area and we could hear the noise from that area until about 9 pm. I'm guessing we got one of the worst rooms since I booked a very low rate for this hotel through Priceline. As for breakfast they buy doughnuts from Dunkin Doughnuts and put them on a tray. Don't get me wrong, I like Dunkin Doughnuts (which is why I am 100% sure that is where they are from), but to call that breakfast is a stretch. For a 3 star hotel I expected more. If I had to stay there again I would do so without hesistation, but I feel there are other alternatives in the area that are a much better value for your money.

Room Tip: Stay away from the single Queen rooms and the rooms that overlook he indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    55
    27
    10
See reviews for
55
61
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After calling them for a pickup, I had a van in 7 minutes. They have access to a full 24 hour a day gym which locals pay for. They have a nice inside swimming pool. They have a small business office with 2 computers and free printing. Parking was also free. The breakfast consists mostly of donuts. Do not expect a waffle maker or even a toaster. They do have orange juice for breakfast. I saw no milk anywhere. Coffee is available 2 hours a day and free. I was treated very graciously. Though I got a non-smoking room, it reeked like smoke my entire stay. I did call the desk clerk and was offered a different room or a machine to filter the stench in the room.

Room Tip: Just let the desk know if your room reeks of smoke, so you will not be charged a $150 cleaning fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. Our continental breakfast consistsof juice coffee, donuts, muffins and fresh fruit. In our restaurant, whch opens at 6:30 everyday but Sunday (9:00AM), has a complete menu of Breakfast. items. Perhaps next time you come you can have a made to order breakfast. Sorry about the smoke smell in your room. We are a smoke free facility but it seems as the weather gets colder, people will start smoking in their roooms. We need to enforce our no smoking policy better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Clarion on the Wednesday and Thursday of Thanksgiving and were pleasantly surprised by the facility. The room was spacious, clean and very quiet considering the location next to the airport. Maid service was very good and friendly. The beds were very comfortable. The kids enjoyed the pool which was very nice and well maintained. This was a very good hotel for the price. The hallways and rooms may be a bit outdated but overall it was well maintained and very clean. I would recommend staying at the Clarion especially if you are going to do a park and fly out of the Milwaukee Airport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the building were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel not only smelled awful but the walls, carpet and bedding were all stained. Porn was playing on the tv. The "breakfast" was nothing but donuts and oranges. I was horrified that places like this are in business/not condemned.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest, Did you notify the front desk that your room was unsatisfactory? I'm sure they would have changed you to another room.
We serve a complimentary continental breakfast of juice, coffee, donuts and fruit. Our restaurant serves a full breakfast. If you reseerved a room at full rate you would have gotten a $6.50 coupon for breakfast.
As for the porno...we have all the regular channels plus HBO and Showtime. I don't think any of these channels have porno.
I'm sorry you were not happy ,please contact me.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here recently for three nights while on business in WI. The hotel itself has some age on it but the room I had was excellent. The room was very clean (clean, fresh bedding), clean bathroom & large LCD tv. The cost was not bad either < $100 a night.

The only ding I would give the place is that the wireless internet connection was not secure (open network that doesn't require a password).

Front desk staff was nice as was the van driver that took me back to the airport. (Generally all midwest people are good anyway).

I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for the response and the 5 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My big mistake was reserving a room that had been previously been used as a smoking room. It still had the faint scent of smoke. I booked a suite and the whirl pool tub was great and ordered room service which was also decent. They have a restaurant and a gym inside.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was an airport hotel that was actually busy with activity on a Friday night. Good location as we normally stay at the "airport" side of town. The room was nice. We had the room with a pullout couch. Basically a suite for a minimal upgrade fee since the rooms with double beds were all taken. So not bad on the value. Did not take advantage of the restaurant on site, however did enjoy the donuts they provided with the continental breakfast. We went swimming in the pool. It is an older pool (older hotel too), because there was a deep end. Pool temp was very good, worried it was going to be cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Address: 5311 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.