We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Clean room, comfortable beds. Just a few minor complaints, but overall, great for the price. Surprised that no one at the front desk had info on the city bus. Shower curtain needs to be bleached or replaced. Free breakfast is meager: donuts, oranges, orange juice, coffee period. Complimentary shuttle back and forth to the airport is great. Beautiful indoor pool and fantastic workout gym. Would definitely stay here again. City bus drivers are very friendly and helpful. Catch the Green line bus right across the street from the hotel at the street corner coming out of the airport. Get off at Water and Wisconsin to catch a bus to the ballgame or the art museum or anywhere in town basically. Just ask the bus drivers who are glad to help.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    86
    65
    32
    14
See reviews for
73
82
25
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Do to the calamity which befalls all travelers by air, I un-expectently found myself grounded in Milwaukee. The nearest hotel/motel is the Clarion. This refuge of sanity is 3 minutes or less by the shuttle provided by the hotel. The shuttle runs 24/7, and is available on a moments notice.
The front desk staff is courteous and helpful. Adjacent to the lobby is a common lounge, in which is supplied the complimentary breakfast(sweet rolls, coffee, juice) in the AM.
In the basement, or is it PC to say: in the lower floor, lies the restaurant and bar-lounge, and the meeting rooms. Decor is art, mostly modern reproductions, prints, etc.
The price is right: my room had 2 king sized beds, A/C thru the wall--not loud, TV with umpty- ump channels . The bath room was typical for such a facility. Yes, it was clean( I even checked under the sheets before lying down).
The only downer: long hall ways, the elevator is halfway down the hall.
Would I do it again; YES.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the elevator, but not next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for sharing the positive comments on the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center. We also have a full size gym, Sweeney's Gym, that is open 24/7 and 18,000 sq. ft of banguet area for meetings, weddings and parties.

Sherry Rupena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here for one night. I arrived late and wanted to get from the airport quickly and go to sleep! The Clarion bus picked me up in 3 minutes. My check-in was fast and my room was small but spotless. My room was so quiet that I could hear a pin drop! The carpeting was brand new. The mattress was very ideal in my opinion and the feather pillows were exactly the squishy type that I like. The bathroom was clean and spotless. I am the type of traveler that likes to take a bath. This bath was clean, clean, clean. Even as I soaked in the tub and stared at the walls, I saw only cleanliness and tidy grout. The parking lot felt safe even though I arrived late at night. The restaurant was nice and the staff was friendly.

The best part was the GYM! Wow! It was a privately owned gym that was housed in the Clarion hotel, but outside people could come and be a member. So the equipment was for the serious type of fitness buff. Lots of mirrors and tons of different type of equipment. There were some bodybuilder types there and the staff/trainers were very knowledgeable about fitness, etc.

This will be my Milwaukee Airport hotel for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

On July 23rd, 2012 @ 11:15 p.m., we happily walked into the lobby and told the woman at the service desk we had stayed at the hotel previously and really liked the room we were in. She stood there, looked at me blankly and said, "Well, if I don't have your information, how am I suppose to know what room you were in." Not how I expect to be greeted, nor had I ever been treated so rudely at this hotel.

Quite unfortunate, as we have stayed previously and found the hotel clean, quiet, reasonable, and professional.

Surely they can find staff with more highly developed customer service skills.

Very distasteful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
I agree! There is no excuse for rude behavior. My Hotel manage is looking into the situation and it will be handled. Thank you for bringing it my attention.

Sharon Rupena
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The room was clean, equipped with a microwave and a fridge. Almost 100 channels on TV, including HBO, Hallmark and Cinemax. Free internet connection in the room.
There is a very nice swimming pool open 9am - 10pm, and the gym is open 24/7.
Free coffee, juice and pastries (doughnuts and muffins) every morning in the lobby.

What is the most convenient is the location of the hotel, only 3 minutes from MKE airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

First room did not have a refrigerator, requested another room with one in it, there was one available. Room was clean, carpet was older. Extended stay for parking was $7 daily. Single bed & Double bed room size was plentiful. The Hotel offers coffee/orange juice/roll in the morning 6 a.m. to 9 a.m. - no continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Pros: clean bathroom
On time shuttle service
Donuts and coffee in the morning
Flat screen tv
Very close to the airport

Cons: dirty carpet
Dirty stained chairs in the room
Dry rotting curtains
Noisy airconditioner
Dirty iron board cover

I have to stay here for business but would not book 1 night that I had to pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I am sorry that you were not happy with your room. The room your company put you in was one of smaller budget rooms. But there is no excuse for a dirty room. The carpet in those Queen bedrooms were just professionally cleaned last month. I think that darked area of carpet was a shadow from the light over the night stand. We have checked the A/C for noise, repaired the drapes, cleaned the chair and replaced the iron board cover. In fact, I had our housekeeping department check all iron board covers which they should already be doing.
As you can see on our website we have a variety of rooms and prices. Please have your company give me a call and I can offer them different room types at different rates.

Sharon Rupena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#22 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Address: 5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a full-service facility located conveniently across from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport. Featuring 180 tastefully-appointed guestrooms and suites, nearly 18,000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet space, and spacious, complimentary open-air parking, The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a premier choice for both the business and social traveler coming to Milwaukee! Guest amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, dining in our Cork 'N Cleaver Restaurant and Lounge, long-term parking options, a 24-hour business center, a deluxe indoor pool complex, and complimentary health club access to the on-site Sweeney's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.