We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but old and not well done” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park East Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Park East Hotel to your Saves list
Park East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   916 E State St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok but old and not well done”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a bad hotel. It just is not nice to the point you would recommend it. It is old. The room (bed area was updated and in moderately good condition. The bath room was more the size and style you would find in a old Route 6, motor hotel for $45. There was no counter top in the bath, just little shelves on the wall. So both my wife and I had to leave our bath stuff in the room and make 20 trips back and forth to get each item. The bath tile is old and not super clean. The common areas are not super clean. They have done things like in the hall they used 1/2x6 flat pine boards for trim at the ceiling instead of a milled moldings. Likely cost the same but it appears no one cares how it looks. The shower head was nice with good flow and lots of hot water. We paid $75. For a downtown hotel that is a good price. We would go again if we had a event at the hotel, otherwise, we would spend more and get a lot nicer place. It appeared they only had one elevator working and it was really really slow and dirty.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband I really loved this place. We all came to WI to visit our parents and stayed at the Park East. They were very accommodating and put all of our rooms together so that we could spend time with each other without having to go to other floors. We had a cute room and it was very clean. We were very close downtown to all the main restaurants and activities. I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I were seeking an affordable hotel on the Eastside of Milwaukee, and this one fit the bill. I actually used to live in a historic hotel right around the corner from this one a few years ago (Plaza Hotel), so I was very familiar with the area. We found this one last minute listed for $67 (pre-tax) for the night. It was the cheapest deal we found aside from hotels located on the rougher side of Milwaukee.

There really wasn't much to consider - the place was cheap and located right where we wanted to be - near our brewery tour and close to Brady Street area.

I read some reviews before going, and had relatively low expectations for this place. We were staying one night and going to be out the entire night, so we didn't care too much about the hotel amenities. Funny enough, the most recent review I read was written a week earlier(11/14/14 I think), and it said the girl at the front desk seemed to hate her job. Now I want to reiterate here: my girlfriend and I had low expectations and are generally very unparticular people. That being said, the review we had read before reserving about the lackluster service was spot on - the girl at the front desk did not even greet us. My girlfriend finally said 'hello', and then she hardly replied back with a 'hi'. She didn't ask if we were checking in or what we needed, so I said "Hi, we're here to check in." She grudgingly proceeded to help us. She didn't smile - ever. She didn't make any eye contact. She didn't ask us anything about our trip or attempt to make even the smallest small-talk. Once she had us checked in, she had no follow up 'let us know if you need anything' - instead she was just awkwardly quiet and unwelcoming.

She really killed our mood for the next 20 minutes. We hardly ever get hotel rooms. We're not super well-to-do, so this was a once or twice a year kind of occasion for us, and she put a damper on it for a short while. As we walked to take the elevator, a sketchy man reeking walked out, and the elevator was clearly filled with pungent ganja odor. I wouldn't even mention this detail, but it seemed that he was the front desk girl's boyfriend, because we saw him later on waiting around the front desk.

I work in customer service and greatly enjoy interacting with people, and I was appalled by how unwelcoming the service was from the front desk girl was. My girlfriend and I wanted to tell her to cheer up, but she was clearly an unfriendly person. I don't understand how the hotel manager hired this girl to work at this hotel, but I do know it made us decide to spring a few more dollars for the nearby Astor Hotel next time. We're very friendly people, and we just wanted to feel a little bit welcomed.

The other details about the hotel: it was very mediocre, which was expected from the price-point - I would have rated it 'average' to 'good' and probably returned if it weren't for the horrible customer service.

Stayed 11/26/14.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. So I've separated them into a list of pros and cons.
Pros:
- the price was affordable
- parking was in the back and only $10 a day
- the location was convenient and in walking distance to good bars, restaurants and activities

Cons:
- the hotel is very outdated and has musty smell
- out bathroom was very small and needed a renovation
- the room was really warm/stuffy even though it was cold outside and we didn't have the heat on
- the pillows were awful, they were probably the smallest bed pillows I've come across and they were very flat (bring your own if you can)
- there's a continental breakfast that they call "Deluxe"- we went to investigate but it didn't seem appealing
- when we checked in the girl at the front desk seemed pretty indifferent to being there. The other people we talked to were friendly.

Overall the stay wasn't bad but if you're looking for modern touches, this probably isn't the place for you.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This was my first stay at the hotel, while not luxurious, it was very comfortable. The location was great. Work was being done on the parking structure for repairs, not a bad thing... they were fixing the issue. I recommend paying for parking due to lack of parking spaces around the hotel. This was my first trip to Milwaukee but I will be going back (my niece just married and moved their). I will plan on staying at this hotel again. It is great for the price and location. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was very normal for this type hotel. Milk was ice cold. Can walk to the water. Late night front desk staff could have been friendlier but other that that had no problems.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

This hotel was really nice for the money I spent. The total room with taxes was only $74 and I got a spacious, clean room, with a lot of sunlight. I ate until I was full downstairs at breakfast and the food was actually very tasty. They had egg and cheese omelets and bagels...which is amazing for a hotel to have for free. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. The room was nice with a view of the lake and the staff was accommodating. I looked at other hotels and frankly this hotel can not be beat for the money you spend on the room. There is a gym (which I always look for), free secure wifi, and a great breakfast. The breakfast had everything too. There was Eggs, omelettes, bagels, cereal, milk and coffee all for free!!! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms on the left side...great lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Park East Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments!!!

We really apprectiate your comments!!!

I hope to extend our hospitality to you once again in the future..
Anything that we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please let us know!!

Sincerely,
Lisa Guibord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park East Hotel

Address: 916 E State St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan an unforgettable stay in downtown Milwaukee at our lake-view hotel, located a stone's throw from beautiful Lake Michigan. At Park East guests will find the city's best museums, nightlife, sports arenas, shopping and restaurants right outside their door. All of our pet-friendly guestrooms and suites have been designed for simplicity, elegance and comfort - a combination that guarantees a relaxing stay at an unbeatable price. Every room includes a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, cable TV, free wireless Internet, complimentary breakfast, cozy bedding and more. For an added touch of luxury, upgrade to a suite with a private Jacuzzi tub, or request a room with fantastic views of the lake or downtown. When you've finished exploring the city, return to the hotel for a locally brewed beer and dinner at Aura Restaurant and Lounge, or unwind with a lakeside stroll on the paths located just outside. First-class amenities like a 24-hour fitness center and scenic rooftop patio make Park East Hotel one of the best values in the heart of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Milwaukee
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.