We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much work needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park East Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park East Hotel to your Saves list
Park East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   916 E State St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“Much work needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have come to Milwaukee virtually every Autumn since 2008, and I have stayed at this hotel (it was previously a Comfort Inn) each time, mainly because of the location. Over the years I have watched the hotel become increasingly worse, while the rates have risen. This time was by far my worst stay there.

I made my reservation somewhat late, so had to take a suite (I recognize this is on me). While the room was large it was exceedingly hot, so much so that even in the first half hour I was there before going out for the evening I was dizzy and uncomfortable. The air conditioning unit did not function. Also the elevator call button down from Floor 4 wasn't lighting, so I took the stairs. On my way out I asked at the desk to have the heat lowered; when I returned several hours later it was still hot, and yet another trip down - this time on the elevator, which had apparently been repaired - where I learned that due to the season the air conditioning unit had been disabled, and there would be only heat.

I spent about three hours tossing and turning in the extreme heat, taking showers every fifteen minutes or so and wetting washcloths to try and cool. Eventually I took a look at the air unit and managed to re-enable it by a switch. Still, it took several more hours for the room to cool.

Finally, my key card was deactivated multiple times; I understand that this happens, but it was an inconvenience to have to go all the way back down to have my card recharged. Desk service aided me but was not especially friendly - each time I went to speak I felt as if they were vaguely annoyed by my presence.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Searched every hotel in area, this was best cost wise. When we arrived we had trouble finding street parking. Hotel dose have parking for extra $10 per night. Staff were very helpful and nice. Place was clean for hotel standards. Be ware of elevators they are tricky but very funny he he. The free breakfast was very good. Room had nice size fridge and microwave. They are small, hardly enough room to add a cot or sleep more guests on floor. Location is walking distance to most bars. Or cab fare is less than $10 to get to most breweries or local places. They charge a rate and $1 per person which is normal. This cab driver was very nice but English is not the best. 1 414-271-1800 he shows up really fast!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very basic hotel. It was clean, and reasonably comfortable, but certainly nothing fancy. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were small and square, which was a little odd. There are very few amenities, but the price is definitely for the budget conscious traveler and the location is pretty stellar: just a few blocks from the art museum, Bradley street, and the main part of downtown.

Parking is $10 a day, and definitely worth it for the peace of mind, as there isn't much street parking in that area.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were attending the closing night of the Milwaukee Film Festival and chose this hotel for its location and price. What a fabulous find! Yes it's an older hotel but you can see it's been updated and the rooms have everything you need including a microwave, mini-fridge, firm mattresses on the beds and a beautiful view of the lake from our fifth - floor room. All this for a really reasonable price, especially in a downtown location. The bar/nightclub wad a fun place to get a drink and our bartender, Joe, was a plus to this establishment. Definitely will be back.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off my friends and I chose this hotel on location and price. A block from the water is pretty nice but in hindsight I would have gladly paid $10 more to stay at a motel like Hampton Inn.

Everything about this hotel is run down. The exterior, the lobby, the hallways, the elevator, the rooms all need a remodel or downright fixing. The rooms smelled, the bathrooms we grimy, and the A/C units rattled. The desk staff seemed annoyed by our presence. The parking "garage" (it's a parking lot with a level above it) drips sediment on cars and the spots are so tight that that the 3 spots between pillars really only fit 1 car.

I am shocked that a place like this can continue to operate with the amount of quality travel competition. I would never ever stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for the past weekend while attended a wedding. Clean, rooms, nice firm beds, a bit dated, but well appointed. With a little work could be a luxury boutique hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, fun night spot (Aura) attached. The roof top observation area was closed, unfortunately. Great location within walking distance to the museums along the shore, neat appearing, condo neighborhood. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty much the same, some smaller than others, We saw four different ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Our family met in Milwaukee for a weekend near the lake and we were happy to get a great rate at the Park East. We were informed at check-in that there would be no AC available but that our parking would be free as compensation. It was a warm weekend, but we were generally comfortable except for our pregnant daughter whose room was not cool enough. The rooms were clean and quiet and the beds were very comfortable. We loved the location and were able to enjoy long walks on the lakefront and plenty of places to eat and drink close by. We also loved the fantastic view on the rooftop patio, although the hotel should add some chairs up there. We were disappointed that our request for a 1-hour late checkout was denied. However, we would definitely choose the Park East in the future.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Park East Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hello

Thank you for your comments!!! I really appreciate it!
Our hotel does strive to be the best that we can. We have plenty of plans on updating in the near furure.

I am very happy that your stay was enjoyable, I am very sorry about the air conditioner, we are trying to resolve this issue and is a work in progress also if you want a later check out ask a manager next time and we will honor it...

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to extend to you once again our hospitality in the near future.

Thank you!
Lisa Guibord
Park East Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park East Hotel

Address: 916 E State St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan an unforgettable stay in downtown Milwaukee at our lake-view hotel, located a stone's throw from beautiful Lake Michigan. At Park East guests will find the city's best museums, nightlife, sports arenas, shopping and restaurants right outside their door. All of our pet-friendly guestrooms and suites have been designed for simplicity, elegance and comfort - a combination that guarantees a relaxing stay at an unbeatable price. Every room includes a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, cable TV, free wireless Internet, complimentary breakfast, cozy bedding and more. For an added touch of luxury, upgrade to a suite with a private Jacuzzi tub, or request a room with fantastic views of the lake or downtown. When you've finished exploring the city, return to the hotel for a locally brewed beer and dinner at Aura Restaurant and Lounge, or unwind with a lakeside stroll on the paths located just outside. First-class amenities like a 24-hour fitness center and scenic rooftop patio make Park East Hotel one of the best values in the heart of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Park East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Milwaukee
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.