We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knickerbocker on the Lake

Save Saved
You added Knickerbocker on the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knickerbocker on the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1028 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the junior suite. It was like a small apartment. We had a separate kitchen with a full fridge, stove and microwave. They also had glasses, utensils and cookware. We had 2 closets and quite a bit of space including in room free internet. It was quite old an interesting, yet updated and comfortable. The shower was a bit weak. But the decor was fun and we enjoyed discussing the different pieces, including the very unusual doors which opened up 2 ways. The houskeeping did a good job, but did not come one of the days... we are not sure why. Great location across from a park down by the lake. Service at the front desk was good. We also ate at the restaurant on site which had phenomenal food. We had tilapia with a succotash which was very fresh and tasty. We also had a hummus with artichoke and tomatoes paired with warm pita. I loved it. Good experience. We will return. I did not see a pool or fitness center, so I put average as not sure on them...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    19
    13
    18
See reviews for
15
26
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is need of renovations. This was made apparent by the pounding that began at 8:30am on a Sunday. On what planet would you allow renovations to begin at that hour, on a Sunday, I have no idea. On what planet you would allow someone to be placed in a room directly adjacent to renovations when it's not fully booked, I have no idea.

I intended for a sweet night with my girlfriend who I had not seen in 3.5 months, we got have the night in peace and the morning ruined. The reaction by the front desk was dismal at best.

Room Tip: Obviously, ask where renovations are being done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for a business trip for 2 weeks and was really a wonderful, safe place near to lake with lake view in the room. Walkable distance to Metro Market, Restaurants, Starbucks, AT&T, Indian hotels. 10 minutes walk to E Wisconsin where most of the giant companies are!! Gym was small but it is kept good. Got a parking lot in the hotel easily which I found was little difficult and unsafe to park outside on downtown. Room we stayed was 1 bed, with attached kitchen and it has everything to cook for two. Receptionists are so friendly!! @lmost enjoyed my stay here!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent just one night at the Knickerbocker hotel - staff was very cordial and efficient at check in/out. Looks like most of the hotel rooms of this semi-converted apt. building are on the 7th floor, near the top of the building. It was well outfitted with all the kitchen utensils one needs. The room was spacious, with an office alcove next to the small kitchen. The kitchens are obviously well used as their was a smell of bacon from another apt. A very noisy but efficient a/c cranked away all day/night. A good bar and restaurant is on the ground floor.

For a bit of old Milwaukee just a block from Juneau Park and Lake Michigan, the Knick was pretty neat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normal, illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived just a few minutes before the early check in (3 PM) on a Saturday. There were 5 or 6 people in line and they were being turned away because their rooms weren't ready. There was only one person in the cubby hole "front desk" and she seemed overwhelmed. They had our room ready so we were able to check in but we felt bad for the others standing in the lobby.

The room was quaint but it had an older apartment size gas stove in it with a working pilot light. The bathroom was small but functional and did have a tub/shower combination. The bed was king size and comfortable.

We changed clothes and went to a wedding on Lake Michigan unaware of the hotel's biggest issue: PARKING. When we returned from the reception we found that their lot was full and were told by the only person on duty that they had limited parking and we'd have to drive around the block until we found parking on the street. He said we should have been told by the person that checked us in that we could have reserved parking in the lot for $15. Luckily we found a spot 1/2 block away and after we calmed down got a pretty good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Room was very large and comfortable with a full apartment sized kitchen, cove with writing desk, kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Keep in mind that this is a boutique, 1930s hotel. Don't expect modern day luxury! However, if you are seeking a great location and interesting, historic architecture, this is your place! We stayed here during a busy weekend in Mileaukee when most hotels were booked. We were a little nervous with some of the reviews, but ended up very pleased. Our one-bedroom suite was not "modern", but the bed, kitchen, and bathroom were spacious, clean, and rather cost-effecient for a busy weekend. The hotel is a short walk to the lake. If you are looking for a good meal and interesting bars, Brady Street is a few blocks away. The front desk help was helpful and accommodating, and was staffed 24-hours. I would stay here again. Only thing I didn't appreciate was parking was $19 a night in their private lot. The lot was tight, and even though we paid, there wasn't always space available. We would have to find street parking until space opened up. I would suggest they become more careful about "overselling" their parking spaces.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a condo hotel. No bellhop, no doorman, no conceirge.

Our suite was a one-bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and two televisions, and we liked the old-fashioned details. Had a real 1930s-'40s charm. Very homey, quiet, unpretentious (without being shabby), clean, and comfortable, and the location next to the lakefront park was fantastic. There's a pretty good restaurant in the hotel.

However, the furniture wasn't too comfortable, the bathroom was tiny, the paint and carpeting needs updating (but again, it was not shabby), and the window air conditioners weren't quite adequate for a hot day, but on the other hand it was nice to have windows that opened. The bedroom was big enough for a king-sized bed, but it was a queen. Also, the Wi-Fi was iffy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knickerbocker on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knickerbocker on the Lake

Address: 1028 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knickerbocker on the Lake 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Knickerbocker on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knickerbocker On The Lake Hotel Milwaukee
Knickerbocker On The Lake Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knickerbocker on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.