We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knickerbocker on the Lake

Save Saved
You added Knickerbocker on the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com AMOMA.com
and 3 more sites!
Knickerbocker on the Lake
1028 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Keep in mind that this is a boutique, 1930s hotel. Don't expect modern day luxury! However, if you are seeking a great location and interesting, historic architecture, this is your place! We stayed here during a busy weekend in Mileaukee when most hotels were booked. We were a little nervous with some of the reviews, but ended up very pleased. Our one-bedroom suite was not "modern", but the bed, kitchen, and bathroom were spacious, clean, and rather cost-effecient for a busy weekend. The hotel is a short walk to the lake. If you are looking for a good meal and interesting bars, Brady Street is a few blocks away. The front desk help was helpful and accommodating, and was staffed 24-hours. I would stay here again. Only thing I didn't appreciate was parking was $19 a night in their private lot. The lot was tight, and even though we paid, there wasn't always space available. We would have to find street parking until space opened up. I would suggest they become more careful about "overselling" their parking spaces.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    18
    12
    18
See reviews for
13
24
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a condo hotel. No bellhop, no doorman, no conceirge.

Our suite was a one-bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and two televisions, and we liked the old-fashioned details. Had a real 1930s-'40s charm. Very homey, quiet, unpretentious (without being shabby), clean, and comfortable, and the location next to the lakefront park was fantastic. There's a pretty good restaurant in the hotel.

However, the furniture wasn't too comfortable, the bathroom was tiny, the paint and carpeting needs updating (but again, it was not shabby), and the window air conditioners weren't quite adequate for a hot day, but on the other hand it was nice to have windows that opened. The bedroom was big enough for a king-sized bed, but it was a queen. Also, the Wi-Fi was iffy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Before we arrived, we received wonderful service from the manager who helped us with our reservation. He was very kind and gave us a very good rate.
However, my experience while at the hotel barely met my expectations. The room (617) was clean and had a kitchenette. The bathroom was very small. The rollaway bed we requested for our daughter was so uncomfortable we just put the mattress on the floor. I asked for a different one the next day and was told there weren't any others. Upon check-out, I asked for it to be removed from our bill and was questioned several times before it was removed.
The hallways and carpets were worn. The overall feel was sterile. There was a computer and printer in the lobby which was nice if you needed to print something out.
The salon was nicely decorated, the massages were very good (although the massage therapist was late) and well priced.
As for the parking, the fee was $15 per night for the private lot. I think it should be free for guests.
This would be an okay place for a business trip but not for leisure and definitely not with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Within walking distance to festivals, art museum, river walk. No amenities (except kitchenette which we didn't need for an overnight trip), but location was great. Building on registry of historic places. Clean, friendly staff. Other reviewers said difficulties with parking (or lack thereof). We had no problem - mentioned my concern about parking to staff. They issue parking passes - only enough passes for as many spaces as try have - so we were guaranteed a space for $15 a night... Cheap compared to Chicago hotel parking rates. They let us check out late and use the parking pass the rest of the day, even after we checked out, no problem. Just ask :). Was a decent place to stay for a short getaway.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This "hotel" is really a condo building in which a portion of the units are rented out by the owners. So, all of the units have kitchenettes, which is good, but all of them are as different as if they were decorated by different people off the street -- which they were! In our wedding group some people had units with marble bathrooms and French-style furniture, we had 70's brown corduroy upholstery and a value-city mission bedroom set, and outdated kitchen and bath. This place would be a good value if you really wanted a kitchen and were staying on business for a while, although I think the Astor Hotel next door is cheaper. In our unit, the wifi did not work despite what the desk clerk said, the sink drained slowly, and the elevator broke one day and one day had no lights on in it - the clerk said go ahead up in the pitch black. The clerk is just the desk person you might expect in a vintage condo - which is what she is. There is only one ice machine/vending area on the ground floor. The halls are long and the carpet is old. But is is more homey than a cookie cutter hotel. Don't stay here with kids. There are no rooms with two beds - only a cheap love-seat pullout that is very inadequate even for a kid. No pool or other activities for kids. The Knick restaurant in the lobby was excellent - surprisingly so

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room on a high floor with a view. Not all rooms have wifi - no matter what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just stayed one night at the Knickerbocker on a quick road trip to Milwaukee to attend Summerfest. I found it on Expedia when I wasn't having much luck with Priceline. We were very happy with the location of the hotel. It is walking distance (it's a little less than a mile away) from the festival grounds. It's a nice walk along the lakefront too. We were a little surprised with the parking situation though. I went back on their website and couldn't find anywhere that it said it was street parking. Maybe it was because it was Summerfest? I did see that some of the building is residential so maybe the lot is for the people who live there? It was a little strange, we arrived about 4:30 on a Thursday and the girl that checked us in said that street parking was 2 hour parking until 7 p.m. She said that after 7 she could give us an overnight parking pass that was good until 7 a.m. This was kind of disappointing because we had just planned on dropping off our stuff and heading to the fest. We didn't really want to walk back in 2 hours and move the car. So I asked her how much the ticket would be if we didn't move the car and got a ticket. Only $17 and they can only ticket you once in a 24 hr period! So we decided to just get the ticket and not have to worry about coming back. She seemed to act like this is what most people do. Well, we didn't even check on the way back and when we left the hotel about 10 am the next morning, we didn't have a ticket. Don't know if we got lucky or if they don't monitor it very often? So just beware of that if you stay there! I think we were in one of the older rooms 614 (I read that some have been redone recently with hardwood floors and newer appliances) but it was clean and worked for us. One other little thing that I found odd was there wasn't any soap in the bathroom. There was shampoo, conditioner and lotion, but no soap. Maybe it was just forgotten? The spa/salon and restaurant looked nice, but we didn't have time to experience them. Overall it was a fine stay for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Milwaukee. We were very impressed with the whole experience. The hotels history is shown throughout, from the beautiful decor of the lobby all the way up to our room, which was tastefully decorated and very clean. The mix of old with modern amenities is perfect. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and not one but two walk in closets made it all the better. Our room even included a kitchenette. It is in a safe neighborhood and sits not far from Lake Michigan. The guest relations folk were very accommodating. We did have to turn away the cleaning person when she showed up bright and early to clean our room as we were just getting our day started. "The Knick", the on site restaurant, was outstanding! No question would we stay here again when we return to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knickerbocker on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knickerbocker on the Lake

Also Known As:
Knickerbocker On The Lake Hotel Milwaukee
Knickerbocker On The Lake Milwaukee
Address: 1028 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Knickerbocker on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knickerbocker on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.