We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knickerbocker on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knickerbocker on the Lake to your Saves list
Knickerbocker on the Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1028 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Within walking distance to festivals, art museum, river walk. No amenities (except kitchenette which we didn't need for an overnight trip), but location was great. Building on registry of historic places. Clean, friendly staff. Other reviewers said difficulties with parking (or lack thereof). We had no problem - mentioned my concern about parking to staff. They issue parking passes - only enough passes for as many spaces as try have - so we were guaranteed a space for $15 a night... Cheap compared to Chicago hotel parking rates. They let us check out late and use the parking pass the rest of the day, even after we checked out, no problem. Just ask :). Was a decent place to stay for a short getaway.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    21
    13
    18
See reviews for
15
27
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This "hotel" is really a condo building in which a portion of the units are rented out by the owners. So, all of the units have kitchenettes, which is good, but all of them are as different as if they were decorated by different people off the street -- which they were! In our wedding group some people had units with marble bathrooms and French-style furniture, we had 70's brown corduroy upholstery and a value-city mission bedroom set, and outdated kitchen and bath. This place would be a good value if you really wanted a kitchen and were staying on business for a while, although I think the Astor Hotel next door is cheaper. In our unit, the wifi did not work despite what the desk clerk said, the sink drained slowly, and the elevator broke one day and one day had no lights on in it - the clerk said go ahead up in the pitch black. The clerk is just the desk person you might expect in a vintage condo - which is what she is. There is only one ice machine/vending area on the ground floor. The halls are long and the carpet is old. But is is more homey than a cookie cutter hotel. Don't stay here with kids. There are no rooms with two beds - only a cheap love-seat pullout that is very inadequate even for a kid. No pool or other activities for kids. The Knick restaurant in the lobby was excellent - surprisingly so

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room on a high floor with a view. Not all rooms have wifi - no matter what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just stayed one night at the Knickerbocker on a quick road trip to Milwaukee to attend Summerfest. I found it on Expedia when I wasn't having much luck with Priceline. We were very happy with the location of the hotel. It is walking distance (it's a little less than a mile away) from the festival grounds. It's a nice walk along the lakefront too. We were a little surprised with the parking situation though. I went back on their website and couldn't find anywhere that it said it was street parking. Maybe it was because it was Summerfest? I did see that some of the building is residential so maybe the lot is for the people who live there? It was a little strange, we arrived about 4:30 on a Thursday and the girl that checked us in said that street parking was 2 hour parking until 7 p.m. She said that after 7 she could give us an overnight parking pass that was good until 7 a.m. This was kind of disappointing because we had just planned on dropping off our stuff and heading to the fest. We didn't really want to walk back in 2 hours and move the car. So I asked her how much the ticket would be if we didn't move the car and got a ticket. Only $17 and they can only ticket you once in a 24 hr period! So we decided to just get the ticket and not have to worry about coming back. She seemed to act like this is what most people do. Well, we didn't even check on the way back and when we left the hotel about 10 am the next morning, we didn't have a ticket. Don't know if we got lucky or if they don't monitor it very often? So just beware of that if you stay there! I think we were in one of the older rooms 614 (I read that some have been redone recently with hardwood floors and newer appliances) but it was clean and worked for us. One other little thing that I found odd was there wasn't any soap in the bathroom. There was shampoo, conditioner and lotion, but no soap. Maybe it was just forgotten? The spa/salon and restaurant looked nice, but we didn't have time to experience them. Overall it was a fine stay for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Milwaukee. We were very impressed with the whole experience. The hotels history is shown throughout, from the beautiful decor of the lobby all the way up to our room, which was tastefully decorated and very clean. The mix of old with modern amenities is perfect. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and not one but two walk in closets made it all the better. Our room even included a kitchenette. It is in a safe neighborhood and sits not far from Lake Michigan. The guest relations folk were very accommodating. We did have to turn away the cleaning person when she showed up bright and early to clean our room as we were just getting our day started. "The Knick", the on site restaurant, was outstanding! No question would we stay here again when we return to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at the Knickerbocker for two weeks in February. I was very impressed with the hotel, my room (818), and the hotel personnel. The lobby and hallways have been updated....very classy (in an old fashion way).

My room has been recently remodeled and was perfect for a long stay. Wood floors, comfortable furniture, and modern kitchenette. Bathroom was clean, but old fashion (but who should care).

Knick restaurant in the building for sandwiches and light meals. Good bar. County Clare Irish Restaurant just around the corner.....great pub and pub food.

Quiet neighborhood. Hotel has a secure parking lot.

A very pleasant hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were put up at the Knickerbocker for a wedding back in September. I was a little apprehensive after reading the reviews but our weekend turned out just fine. There are, however, many quirks that come with a stay at the Knickerbocker and the differences between rooms can make or break your stay.

We had a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette that really came in useful since we had a six-month old baby with us. We were able to use it to make and store his food, etc. It was also nice to have glasses, silverware, a corkscrew and bottle opener that I didn't have to go searching for. The living room was a decent size and we thought that there would be a pullout couch but we had to call for a rollaway. The bedroom was a little tight but our queen bed was very comfortable.

Like many others, we had a 19" tube tv in our suite. That would have been fine with me but there was no remote control and we only got about 10 channels. There was also a dvd player sitting there but it was not hooked up to the tv and there was no way to hook it up as they didn't have the right cables. At least the wi-fi worked once we called down to the front desk to get the password. The bathroom was clean and we had good water pressure - no complaints there.

There was plenty of parking the weekend we were there (and there were two weddings staying at the hotel) to the point that we were able to get an extra spot for my sister-in-law who was watching the baby. Parking is $10 a night. We also didn't hear much of anything while we were there. Given that other reviews mentioned noise I was expecting much worse.

The Knick restaurant has a good brunch and we at there both mornings. The Irish place around the corner is great too.

Overall, this would not the be the first place I would pick if I was returning to Milwaukee. But if you have to stay here it's really not that bad. A lot depends on which room you get though as I had friends stay in a room that was much different than mine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We really liked the Knickerbocker. Conveniently located near Juneau Park and the Art Museum, with turn-of-last-century style, it offers great value with a kitchenette and friendly service.We'll go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knickerbocker on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knickerbocker on the Lake

Address: 1028 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knickerbocker on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Knickerbocker on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knickerbocker On The Lake Hotel Milwaukee
Knickerbocker On The Lake Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knickerbocker on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.