We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A curious experience...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Milwaukee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 W Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A curious experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have to admit, nothing beats free. I tagged along with my husband to a conference and Milwaukee, and everything happened at this hotel (the classes, the meals, etc). While the husband is out and about with other attendees, I had a chance to explore downtown Milwaukee on foot. The weather was gorgeous, and the city is very manageable on foot. MAM (Milwaukee Art Museum) and Pabst Manor are some of the highlights.

But I digress. For some reason I kept thinking the conference was at the Intercontinental a few blocks away, so did all my research and planning based on there. When I was gently reminded that the video I was watching and faithfully taking notes off of (Intercontinental had a very helpful video by their concierge on what to do around town) is not from the host hotel, I must admit I was disappointed.

I digress again. Since I was already disappoint before I even set foot in the hotel thru no fault of Hyatt, I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. And as in most experiences in life, the truth is a mixed bag.

PROS: the service is very good. From check-in to almost 4 square meals a day (buffets galore, the host really wanted to feed us well), the staff are friendly and focused, and everything happened very smoothly. Rooms were always kept clean, and room service is decent.

The location of this place is a big plus. I understand it is linked by a sky bridge directly to the convention center. Although the immediately surrounding isn't stellar, the location is central and close to everything (River Walk, Historical Society, stadiums, and convention center,... did I mention the Intercontinental?)

The rooms are new and clean. Pleasantly appointed with ample storage space. The water pressure in the shower is strong and awesome. The bedding is super super comfortable and very relaxing. The sheets and the pillow cases are very very soft.

CONS: during one evening in the elevator when all the attendees are heading back up to their rooms, one of the attendees blurted out, "Man, if my ex-wife was here, she wouldn't last a day. She would have jumped!" As he exited the elevator, the remaining passengers all agreed that it was a macabre comment. I secretly admired the man for pointing out the 800-pound gorilla in the room (no pun intended, in our case, it's the whole building): The entire building is a bunch of rooms surrounding a HUGE void space. All the corridors are open on one side to this oppressive source of vertigo. I believe in the 1970s it was considered very cool, and it is called an Atrium (yes, I am being facetious). Many of the reviews I read here mention the noise being an issue, but no one seems to note why: it's the building!!! It's is one of those dilemmas that all property owners must face: should one hang on for another 30 years and see if my building is going to be retro and chic (like 1950s "mid-century modern"), or do I have an outdated facility on my hands? (I did read on one review that the Anime attendees tried to address the issue, by having screaming contests up the space... very creative and sophomoric. At least the teens are honest and tried to acknowledge there is something odd about the building!)

Another inherent issue lies in the unchangeable fact that every window is set at a deep exterior window ledge... and it is very hard to clean. In our few days there, I watched as hundreds of little flying bugs get caught at multiple spiders' webs right outside my window. The debris at the ledge can be easily avoided by pulling the curtains, I guess.

There is an very conscientious effort to modernize the building to Hyatt standards, and the effort should be applauded. Most of the attempts do work: the interior of the guest rooms as well as the restrooms, etc. There is a gray accent throughout every floor, punctuated by "random" planters (yes, the plants are plastic). This only added to the overly odd atrium space being very gloomy as well. There is even a new coat of paint on the exterior of the building... but gray! Double gloom! The carpet along the corridors are also utilitarian (busy pattern to hide dirt) rather than aesthetic.

Every brand wants to establish themselves as unique, and Hyatt has a special fragrance they use at all their properties... it's a tad too strong for me, and mixed with the smell of laundry soap and steam (one of the 2 exits of the hotel is right next to the air outlet vent), the overall effect is simple unpleasant.

In the room itself, the only thing I noticed in a bad way was the carpet felt dirty and "flat" always, even without stain marks or visible dirt. Bring your own slippers or wear socks...

The water pressure in the toilet is also an interesting phenomenon: the flush flows so slowly, I was sure the toilet was going to flood every time: but it never did. I just needed to have more faith.

All in all, a very curious experience at a proven hotel brand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review - please rest assured that all issues that can be addressed, will be. The atrium-style design of the hotel is something that we do our best to work with, and we hope to continue to be successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    212
    125
    49
    39
See reviews for
64
179
43
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. It's beautiful, it wasn't TOO expensive (I booked through an external site), and was the perfect location for a wedding I attended downtown. The only mild complaint I have is regarding parking. It was a little pricey for my liking, but downtown parking will always be expensive, so I expected the high price. It was nice that the parking structure had a skywalk directly into the hotel, though. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Sadly, as we do not own or operate the parking structure we are attached to, we cannot control the pricing. We are, however, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The front desk staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. I accidentally misplaced my room key and the night clerk was very kind and replaced the key without any hassle. The fitness center was great and had top of the line equipment. My room had access to the Regency Club and I enjoyed the hot breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are happy to have been so accommodating during your stay...we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stay here on business and always enjoy the view from the rooms on the higher floors. Nice having the skywalk to the convention center. Food is always very good, but there are some great restaurants near the hotel as well. Short walk to Bucks, Admirals games.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are always glad to hear from our frequent travellers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times for business and traveling with my family. It's a nice upscale hotel as you would expect. The rooms are fine, but nothing particularly special. But the location is really good for any activity downtown. There are a number of very good restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you get a room on a higher floor the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for your review...we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We loved everything ! The room was fantastic the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We loved the restaurant and the workout room. We walked to restaurants and bars every night there were so many in walking distance ! We enjoyed the view from our room. The only thing I could say is complimentary wifi would have been great. We did see the reviews about parking and so we opted to park in another less expensive garage and walked a bit further.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Wow...what a wonderful review! Please keep in mind for next time that we do offer complimentary wifi in our lobby and public spaces, so feel free to log in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Surprised that it is considered a 3.5 star hotel and only gets a 3.5 on Tripadvisor. Location is a hit (if going to sporting event or convention) or miss if elsewhere. The hotel layout was nice and convenient to access. We had a room on the 18th floor and I was really surprised that the view was very nice. Room was clean and well appointed.

I have to single out Juan during the breakfast buffet who was genuinely very nice and helpful, since most buffet staff are nice enough but usually not such a standout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, and we will be sure to let Juan know of your kind words. We take great pride in our staff & their service to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Address: 333 W Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Milwaukee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in downtown Milwaukee with $19+ million renovation. Hyatt Regency Milwaukee… The premier hotel and meeting center in downtown Milwaukee beckons with world-class amenities in the heart of Milwaukee’s entertainment district. Located one block from the city’s riverwalk, and connected by enclosed skywalk to the Midwest Airline Center, Federal Plaza, and the Shops of Grand Avenue, it’s an ideal setting for business or pleasure. A magnificent 18-story atrium welcomes you to 481 guestrooms complete with wireless high-speed Internet access, including 18 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and Hyatt Gold Passport accommodations. More than 26,000 sq ft of T1 equipped function and meeting space is perfect for any occasion. When it’s time for dining, enjoy American cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere at Bistro 333, or experience Bar 333, where hand-shaken fresh squeezed cocktails are our specialty. Unwind in a new Hyatt Stay Fit 24 hour fully equipped fitness facility. Enjoy golf and Lake Michigan beaches. Or, discover Milwaukee’s renowned festivals and breweries. A short walk away is the Milwaukee Center Theater District, Milwaukee Theatre, US Cellular Arena, Bradley Center and the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts. Hyatt Regency Milwaukee….experience a unique combination of amenities and unsurpassed service, as only Hyatt can deliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.