We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Milwaukee to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Owatonna, MN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a convention. The people were very friendly. The rooms were comfortable. It wasn't real quiet due to the number of people in the lobby/bar/restuarant area. But I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your response, and we are so glad to hear that you would stay with us again...we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    253
    140
    57
    42
See reviews for
83
208
46
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

In this case - the Milwaukee Anime Convention - consisting of thousands of primarily teenagers dressed in cartoon costumes. It took 25 minutes to get an elevator going up, 15 minutes to get one heading down - EACH TIME. We were also given a room across from the elevator - so of course it was even louder as groups hung out waiting and waiting. Because the hotel is connected to the convention center - you will want to know what type of group has booked the majority of the hotel. The noise and chaos level was unbelievable - even louder given the open design of the hotel. Even had the hotel been filled with thousands of 60 year old accountants - it still would have impacted the elevator and check-in times. The room was fine - nothing special, but there are many other options in Milwaukee - I would not stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are disheartened to hear of the difficulties you experienced during your stay. As part of our recent ninteen million dollar renovation, our elevator systems were upgraded to maximize their efficiency. Understandibly, when there is such a great volume of people, a slowdown may be experienced. Please do not let one busy weekend dissuade you from staying with us again - let us know if there is anything we can do to encourage you to stay with us next time you visit Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The rooms are nice and comfortable. The hotel staff are generally very helpful and friendly. It's great that they have transport shuttle service to areas near the hotel and as such I did not need a car. One drawback during the stay was they was a "games convention" of some sort and the place
was pretty noisy. In general, would recommend this hotel because of the friendliness
of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - we pride ourselves on the friendliness & professionalism of our staff. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before. It's fine for an overnight, but nothing out of the ordinary. Pricing influenced our decision again to stay here. Upon check in we got to our room and I immediately noticed the headboard was full of hand prints and "whatever". A call to the front desk resulted in housekeeping cleaning and sanitizing the headboard and we received a hand written note from the head of housekeeping along with two breakfast vouchers. Nice touch and not needed. Later I noticed the shampoo sample in the shower had already been used. Appears housekeeping staff could use some follow up training. Not big issues - but issues. The room itself is fine. Hyatt why do you insist on the eco lighting in the rooms. Trying to read or put on make up is almost impossible. This Hyatt could use room face lifts soon. Little things like paint chipping is starting to show wear and tear. Rooms are quite ample. Bath room is fine but a bit cramped like most Hyatts these days. Breakfast buffet is overpriced for what you get. We had the free vouchers but never would have paid $20.00 each for what we got. Service was very slow and our plates were usually not cleared before we returned from the buffet. Had to constantly request coffee refills. Parking is typical - but you would think there would be a discount for hotel guests. We paid $25.00 for 24/hours. There is a machine where you can get passes for in/out passes. We were here on a Saturday night and there was a fraternity event of some kind. The party in the hallways went at least until 3AM. Really Hyatt - come on. In the morning lots of people laughing about partying till all hours and thinking it was all fun and games. Luckily we did sleep through most of the noise by having the TV on, but I thought about calling the front desk a few times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay...our Housekeeping department has taken everything you stated under advisement & will be looking into them. In regards to the parking cost, unfortunately, we do not own or operate the parking structure that we are attached to, so we cannot offer a discounted parking rate to our guests. There are a number of other parking options, however, and our knowledgable front desk staff would be happy to assist you in finding a less expensive lot. As far as the late-night noise you experienced, please accept our apologies. Our security staff worked hard to curb as much of the noise as possible, and do not think for a moment that the level of noise you experienced was normal for the hotel, as we hope you will discover the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, WI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I'd give this a 3.5. Stayed here during a recent business trip. Was a sweet deal off of hotels.com. Here's my rationale for my rating:

Pros:
great location, you can walk to a number of great pubs and restaurants
clean rooms, my studio room was a little small but clean
staff was very helpful and friendly

Cons:
bar is very high priced
parking fee is $25 per night
wifi in room is $$

Recommendations: use public parking garages on same block, much cheaper; make sure you check out Cafe Benelux in Old 3rd World

Room Tip: Stay away from the Studio rooms, very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that we are located so close to the action...we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyAT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. Two of those nights were on weekdays, when the atmosphere was that of a lovely business hotel. The third night was a Friday and the place changed 180 degrees. People -- lots of people -- checked in carrying cases of beer and multiple bags of liquor. I saw one woman checking in with an open bottle of beer in her hand. Within hours the ENTIRE hotel resonated with drunken yells and screams. The hotel has an atrium that extends from the lobby level to the top floor, with balconies looking down to the lobby on every floor. Therefore when the party began, every room in the hotel heard it. It sounded like a frat house, because it was -- more than one fraternity apparently was having a reunion of 30-somethings intent on getting loaded and making unencumbered noise the whole night long. I am stunned that management did NOTHING to stop this. I felt like I was back in college - -NOT what I want when paying for what is supposed to be one of Milwaukee's better hotels.

Beyond the partying -- and, really, it is so inexcusable that anything else I say seems immaterial -- the place has been updated in the last few years, and the improvement is good. The rooms are stylish although the bathrooms are still small. My mattress had an incline from one side to the next and was clearly ready for replacement. The towels were flimsy and non-absorbent. Room cleaning was OK but missed details. As a frequent traveler I always check the mattress for bedbugs and found under the top sheet two pretzels on the mattress -- how could the person who cleaned the room miss pretzels on the mattress???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay, again. We hope you look at this as a rare situation and not a reflection of any lack of high concern for your patronage. All of us here at the Hyatt Regency Milwaukee are able to provide a much better and more pleasant experience for our guests that what you had the misfortune of experiencing. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to the high level of service that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

It's the closest hotel the the Bucks game. Lounge is nice with great chairs in the lobby to have a drink and relax.
Walking distance to lots of bars and dining. Rooms are spacious and clean. The atrium is dated and plain but really high.
You get the feeling of an a bunch of Hampton Inns stacked on top of each other. I'm there to get a good nights sleep. Whatever....
I'd return though..

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, and we are happy to hear that you will be staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Address: 333 West Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee is the premier hotel and meeting center in downtown Milwaukee with all the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining. A magnificent 18-story atrium welcomes you to 481 guestrooms, including 18 suites, complete with high-speed wireless Internet access. Business travelers can enjoy easy access to many of downtown Milwaukee's most exciting sites and prominent businesses making the Hyatt Regency an ideal setting for business or pleasure. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, numerous restaurants, sports arenas, museums and the theatre district all within walking distance. With more than 26,000 sq ft of T1 equipped function and meeting space is perfect for any occasion. When it's time for dining, enjoy American cuisine on site in a relaxed atmosphere at Bistro 333, or experience Bar 333, where craft beers and cocktails are our specialty. Unwind in our new Hyatt Stay Fit 24 hour fully equipped fitness facility. Hyatt Regency Milwaukee...Experience a unique combination of amenities and unsurpassed service, as only Hyatt can deliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.