We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Milwaukee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 W Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for several nights while in town for a convention. The fact that the hotel was very busy might explain what happened - we checked in with a reservation for a king size room, the girl at the front desk was very helpful and nice...and then we went to our room. After looking around for the bed, I realized it was a murphy bed - double size. Not exactly a king size, which we'd reserved months in advance. After calling downstairs, they apologized; king size rooms were all gone, so we got moved to a room with two queen size beds. We usually aren't ones to complain, but sleeping inches off the ground for several nights was not what we had expected. Thankfully, we got transferred to a "real" room.

After that, the stay was fairly uneventful. Comfortable beds, a heater that worked well (almost too well), working wifi. My one complaint with the room was that the bathroom was tiny - only one person could fit in there at a time. The door practically bumped into the toilet.

Yes, it's an updated older hotel, but our room didn't feel old. There was some weird condensation in the window every window, but everything else felt fairly new. The big lobby and glass elevators in the middle - meh. Frustrating design when your room is on the opposite side of the elevators. We didn't eat here at all or use the fitness centers, but they were there.

Not sure if I would stay here again - lots of other hotels in the area. Still, I wouldn't object to staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your honest review...hopefully, next time you stay with us we can exceed your expectations and make your stay special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    212
    125
    49
    39
See reviews for
64
179
43
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We will stay here whenever we are in town. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are clean and contemporary, but it's the customer service that will keep us coming back. We were treated so well by everyone we interacted with. It was absolutely great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Great review! We pride ourselves on our staff, and it is always good to hear when someone has a wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really like Hyatt properties, but this one seemed very dated.

1) Check in desk had limited staff. We arrived just in time because there was a long line behind us. The staff was friendly and couteous.
2) This was the typical wrap around the lobby hotel with the glass elevator. I don't know if it was the carpeting and the wrap around floors or the combination, but it kind of made me dizzy.
3) Bar was absolutely nothing special, very small with tables outside the bar. Staff was friendly and helpful
4) The room smelled like mildew, and I don't know if the windows were dirty or had moisture in between the panes. In either case, it wasn't a pretty view.
5) The sheets were a little rough and itchy. Also on the mattress they had a flat sheet, not tucked in at all which wound up with me sleeping directly on the mattress at one point--not a fan of that.
6) Thankfully, we received a great rate of $99.00 for the food and wine expo, otherwise, the $229 plus $25 parking would not be worth it. I much prefer the pfister for the price.
7) This is a nice location, however, many of the shops, bars and restaurants are closed. Kind of sad.

Room Tip: My room was on the 10th floor, had a nice view but smelled. My friends room on the 5th floor, not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and please let us know anything we can do better for you next time...we always enjoy our guests' feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located in hot spot downtown, the Hyatt Regency is a cool 80's retro hotel with a pleasant staff indoors and a disappearing one outdoors. We wanted to valet-park when we arrived but were told it was full. Self-parking is a confusing mess since no humans are employed at the parking booth. You pay your parking bill to a machine in the garage, but the instructions are so convoluted we had to wait for someone to explain the system to us. Two tickets and a credit card later we were paid up. At $25 you think there'd be enough money to cover payroll. Ironically, valet parking only cost $2 more. Other than that our stay was enjoyable. Our breakfast buffet the next morning was excellent-good choices and good value for the money. My only other complaint was the lack of bell attendants at check-in and check-out. Were they on the unemployment line with the garage attendants? Every staff member we came in contact with was friendly and professional. We just need to see more of them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. In regards to the parking situation, we do not own or operate the parking structure that we are attached to, but we are glad to hear that someone from our staff was able to assist you. We would be happy to make sure that a bellman is available for you the next time you are with us...our bellstaff is amazing, and that is why they are always so busy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Location: The hotel is in downtown, with plenty of restaurants nearby, such as Thai, German, Subway, and a 24 hour American restaurant. You can take a shuttle for $14 + gratuity or a taxi would cost about $28 (depending on traffic situation) + gratuity to the hotel. There's a shopping mall very close to the hotel, but they only open until 7 p.m. (weekdays, I believe. Weekend hours, don't remember). There's a food court on the third floor of the mall.
Check-in: The check-in staff are all very pleasant, efficient and helpful.
Lobby: There's a computer in the lobby where you can check-in your flight and print your boarding pass for free.
Room: My room is spacious and clean. My only complaint (just to be picky) is there's only one paper cup in the room for tea and coffee. (Yes, I can ask them to bring a few more cups to my room. But if they provide a few more in the room in the first place, then I don't have to call and wait for the cups to be delivered.) I don't think anyone wants to taste coffee in the tea or vice versa. There is also a safe in the room. Didn't use it so I don't know whether it's complimentary or not.
Overall speaking, very satisfied with my stay. Wish I would stay longer...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and we wish it could be longer as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family & I decided to "splurge" the $229 per night (plus extra $25 parking) to be conveniently located to the Bradley Center for the JUSTIN BIEBER concert. Our money got us within walking distance (1 block), clean rooms and comfy beds, but that was it. We had to wait 30 minutes to check in (the clerk said he would get us when a room opened and didn't...we had to wait in line a second time); there was NO POOL, NO in room FRIDGE or MICROWAVE, no revolving RESTAURANT on the roof (apparently closed in 2008) and no BREAKFAST. Although the interior was clean and somewhat modern, it was very BORING. This hotel is EXTREMLY over priced for what you actually get. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I can only shake my head when I walk into some mammoth 1980s style hotel... This is one of those places where they somehow thought it would be a good idea to have all the hallways/floors face each other in a giant, cavernous open area. It's noisy and ugly and tons of concrete. Now for the good news - once you get past the dated building, you'll find friendly employees and a spotless room. Yes, the bathroom is small and not any nicer than something you'd find in a Red Roof Inn, but the room itself was spacious and nicely furnished, including an inroom safe, flat screen tv and a nice chair and ottoman in addition to a desk and coffee maker. The location is excellent - walking distance to a bunch of arenas that house the basketball and hockey teams and family friendly events... and there's tons of bars/restaurants like the hole-in-the-wall Brat House that serves incredible brats on pretzel rolls. I ordered room service ($24 for a smoked salmon omelette and toast with a side of fruit instead of home fries) and was blown away by an incredibly energetic and friendly room service employee named Orlando. When he left, I felt wide awake and ready to take on the day. If only every hotel employee around the world were half as nice! The bellmen and front desk employees were friendly as well, (with the exception of one kind of snotty male front desk guy). Overnight parking is pretty expensive and it was difficult to tell if it was safe to simply park on the surrounding streets. All in all, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room that ends in 19 or other rooms that are just off the main square hallways that all fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeHyatt, Manager at Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It's great to hear that your stay with us was so pleasant! We are proud to have many employees like Orlando on our staff, and we all look forward to providing you with more outstanding service next time you choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Address: 333 W Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#21 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Milwaukee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in downtown Milwaukee with $19+ million renovation. Hyatt Regency Milwaukee… The premier hotel and meeting center in downtown Milwaukee beckons with world-class amenities in the heart of Milwaukee’s entertainment district. Located one block from the city’s riverwalk, and connected by enclosed skywalk to the Midwest Airline Center, Federal Plaza, and the Shops of Grand Avenue, it’s an ideal setting for business or pleasure. A magnificent 18-story atrium welcomes you to 481 guestrooms complete with wireless high-speed Internet access, including 18 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and Hyatt Gold Passport accommodations. More than 26,000 sq ft of T1 equipped function and meeting space is perfect for any occasion. When it’s time for dining, enjoy American cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere at Bistro 333, or experience Bar 333, where hand-shaken fresh squeezed cocktails are our specialty. Unwind in a new Hyatt Stay Fit 24 hour fully equipped fitness facility. Enjoy golf and Lake Michigan beaches. Or, discover Milwaukee’s renowned festivals and breweries. A short walk away is the Milwaukee Center Theater District, Milwaukee Theatre, US Cellular Arena, Bradley Center and the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts. Hyatt Regency Milwaukee….experience a unique combination of amenities and unsurpassed service, as only Hyatt can deliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.