We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old Howard Johnson that was adequate, but ho--hum” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Milwaukee Airport Inn to your Saves list
Milwaukee Airport Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1716 West Layton Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53221 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Milwaukee Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An old Howard Johnson that was adequate, but ho--hum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We wanted to overnight in Milwaukee before an early morning flight. We booked this hotel online for $80 per night. It was not expensive, but the hotel was practically empty. They put us in a part of the hotel that was well away from the street traffic and we expected a good nights sleep. We also arranged for a wake up call at 3:00AM and a Shuttle for 4:00AM. We shared a Reuben sandwich in the restaurant and headed off for an early night. The only problem was the noise from the room above. One would think that with so many vacant rooms, it would not be necessary to have occupants directly above each other. The people upstairs were very noisy and did not go to sleep until about 12 midnight. Then our wake-up call came at 1:30AM instead of 3:00AM. Fortunately my husband had also set the alarm on his watch. The shuttle arrived on TIME and got us to the airport promptly. We would not stay here again, however.

Room Tip: If you go here, ask to be in a room that does not have any occupants above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    3
    5
    31
See reviews for
9
13
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed on 24 April 2014. Checkin was swift and the staff friendly.
After that you could tell this hotel is lacking in maintenance and cleaning of rooms. Our floor had white fuzzys and the shower had a long hair on the bottom of tub. Fortunately I did not find any surprises under the sheets. The room heater was very noisy even on the low setting. This hotel is like a road side hotel. Our room did not smell like it was fresh, but instead a slight musty carpet smell. The pillows are also very thin. You may need to fold them in half.
But all in all I did sleep ok. If you are on a budget this place will work with good access to freeway and many eating places nearby, including one that is attached. That was a great place to eat by the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I wasn't expecting the best but it was by no means the worst. Front desk staff was very friendly. My room was clean and satisfactory. The free round trip airport transfer was great. The onsite restaurant was pretty good. I was expecting much more noise but it was surprising quiet. At least 3-4 fast food places that deliver.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Dirty, hard beds, old (probably architecturally unstable), clogged shower and toilet. Our glass slider door wouldn't lock (broken) to the balcony. People next to us were loud & ghetto!!! Little kids crying and screaming through the night, Pretty sure I saw a hooker. People in parking lot blast bass rap and driving fast. The towels are the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel. This place NEEDS to be closed down. Only thing that was nice was that we had hot water. Do not go here if you are concerned for your safety.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

unsatisfied customer!!!
wouldn't be back at anytime at all...
pool was non-existent..../rooms did have unpleasant smell :(
the a/c in our room died in the middle of the nite, luckily it was raining so we slept with the sliding doors opened :(....never again will i re-book at this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

this place is nasty, the pool has been closed for years yet they show it in their advertisement. i sat on the edge of the bed, afraid i would get bugs. When i arrived i walked up in a drug deal going on in back of the hotel!!!! i was very afraid to walk to the cafe without having someone one the phone with me. they also do not allow pets , not sure why, a dog could do no damage here. however the cafe was awesome, best food Ive had since i left my state. i dont think they have the same owner. i can't believe the picture in the ad, i am sure my company seen it and thought they put me in a nice place. Stay at your own risk. i ended up leaving at 11pm to stay else where......well worth spending my own money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Do not stay here. I completely regret getting a cheap room since all we needed was a quick place to sleep. The entire hotel smells terribly. I couldn't even sleep because of how poorly it smelled. I ended up sitting out on the balcony at 4:00am just so I could breathe. I also felt like I was in the ghetto and did not feel safe. Spend the extra 20 bucks and go down to the road to a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Milwaukee
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#22 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
12.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Milwaukee Northwest
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milwaukee Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Airport Inn

Address: 1716 West Layton Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53221 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Milwaukee Airport)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Milwaukee Airport Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Story interior corridor property. Outdoor seasonal pool. Business Center. NO pets. Spring Garden Family Restaurant and Lounge on site. Exercise room. FREE wi-fi. FREE parking for cars/trucks/buses. Guest laundry. FREE shuttle service to Milwaukee's Mitchell Airport. Gas and diesel nearby. Other restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Milwaukee Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn / Milwaukee Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Howard Johnson Milwaukee
Milwaukee Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Airport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.