We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, convenient location, old world charm, refurbished rooms but tiny bathroom.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astor Hotel to your Saves list
Astor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   924 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent value, convenient location, old world charm, refurbished rooms but tiny bathroom.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay at Astor because it was one of the most affordable hotels in the downtown location, yet the reviews I've read had been positive.

I'm pleased with my choice! Although this not a modern or fancy hotel, it is very clean and comfortable, with fantastic location, and has character.

Service was slow at check in as there was only one reception staff on and the phone kept ringing.

I would gladly stay here again for its great location and price, and decent rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lumby, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Astor Hotel is a Old-World hotel that maintains it's charm from a bygone age. The hotel was built in the 1920's and still gives out metal keys and has mailboxes. The lobby creates quite the impression when entering. It is ornate, charming, beautiful, and huge. The hotel is in a lovely and quiet neighborhood and is a relaxing place for a stroll. My room was a no-frills basic room with little to no charm and which was somewhat cramped with the 2 big beds taking up most of the room. Notably the room had no table or chair and I had to put my small possessions on the spare bed as there was no room on the bedside table . No fridge, microwave, or coffee-maker although they do have large urns of complimentary coffee (incl decaf) in the lobby. The bed was soft and comfortable and the room was very clean with a roomy bathroom. I could clearly hear voices at night from street level even though my room was on the top floor (9th). When the air conditioner is on it does block out any other noise. The staff were very friendly and helpful. When my TV went on the fritz one nite I reported it to the room clerk the next morning and it was working when I returned later that day. All the staff were great. The clerk even offered me a different room after the weekend saying the rooms in the floors below the 9th were better. Even though I declined the offer - having already settled in - I appreciated it. The hotel is in a good location about 7-8 blocks from the downtown area and a small supermarket and some restaurants are a short walk away. Would I stay again while in Milwaukee? Maybe; but not on the 9th floor.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the 9th floor. I was told by the room clerk that the better rooms are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Astor Hotel describes itself as elegant, which is stretching it a bit. It is an old hotel with a beautiful lobby and many original features like brass & glass mail slots by the elevators and ventilating room door. It has a wonderful rooftop deck with view of the lake and nearby city where you can enjoy a cool evening breeze. The restaurant & bar recently opened and has a nice selection of drink. They do a lovely breakfast in the restaurant. (Hotel is no longer providing free breakfast). They are serving dinner as well although I did not eat dinner here.

I have rarely stayed in a hotel of this age. Many of the original features are still present, of high quality, and in good working order. The Astor is the Model T of hotels - still works, interesting to experience, but different than what is built today.

The rooms were clean and included a modern flat screen TV and comfortable bed. I enjoyed my night and would stay here again.

Parking in the hotel lot is convenient and reasonably priced. It requires an electronic card pass to enter so do not attempt to park in the lot until after you have checked in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahoedewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dirty room. Stained furniture. Horrible bed.. Shower leaked all night. I just hope that I did not pick up any unwanted critters to go home with me. Stay here at your own risk and only if you are desperate .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Last weekend we attended a wedding reception at the Astor. The reception area was very nice and the bar area, though smaller, was well manned by several very good, hard working bartenders. The parents were not too happy with the timliness of the dinner serving because the waiters/waitresses didn't start serving until about an hour and 15 minutes after the scheduled time. We enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonW763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I would not stay here again.Too many bugs in this room and a moth! Nice free breakfest. Stayed here for Summerfest 2012. They have a shuttle but not realiable. Choose another hotel. This hotel needs an exterminator. Staff locked our luggage in a office room on our last day came back and they didn't have key almost didn't make our only way home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahthephotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This visit started out as two nights and since we enjoyed ourselves we extended it to a week. We had the parlour suite. The room felt like a suite with a kitchen and living room. The water pressure in the showers was strong. It was a nice experience and very low key. The location was in the middle of all the fun. Breakfast was included and not too impressed with it. We eat little carbs and protein. But, it was nice to have coffee there.

Room Tip: Get the big room! It 's worth it to have a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#14 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Downtown
Knickerbocker on the Lake
Knickerbocker on the Lake
#43 of 53 in Milwaukee
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Park East Hotel
#42 of 53 in Milwaukee
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel

Address: 924 East Juneau Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing