We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Friday fish and great old night club atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckhorn Supper Club

Buckhorn Supper Club
11802 N Charley Bluff Rd, Milton, WI 53563-9644
608-868-2653
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Milton
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Friday fish and great old night club atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

During a Friday night snowstorm; we braved out to keep our reservations for our first meal at the Buckhorn. The place was packed and we waited about 30 minutes past our reservation times in the bar. The bar was old time quaint and the drinks were good. $5.00 for a mixed drink. The owner (I believe) came around and talked to everyone. He's a funny man, quite entertaining. Our fish was about $13.50 for 3 pieces of fish, choice of baked potato or french fries. Very good fish. The waitress was attentive and quick and also funny.
We will go back during the summer so we can look at the water.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Prime Rib with a great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If prime rib is on your list our favorite dinners, then this supper club should
be on your list to visit. This restaurant sits on Lake Kegonsa, you can sit
in their bar and have a cocktail with a view of the lake or you can dine in
the restaurant with a view of the lake. We have had almost all of their
appetizers and they have been excellent. The owner is always in the dinning
room, visiting each table to make sure you are have a good experience. This
is a perfect example of a supper club in Wisconsin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hospitality - Buckhorn Supper Club - Lake Koshkonong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We found the Buckhorn Supper Club on Lake Koshkonong via Ron Faiola's - Wisconsin Supper Clubs book. I shared some efficient communication with Shelley via their Facebook page while making reservations. Since this was our first time, we double checked our route - but really not necessary as Buckhorn Supper Club is conveniently located less than a five minute drive off of I90 at exit 163. Take 59 East and follow the well lit signs. Our table was ready on arrival but we wanted to take a few minutes and visit the bar and sample a Wisconsin tradition - a brandy old fashioned. While we were sipping our cocktails, enjoying the sweeping views of Lake Koshkonong, Chico - the Buckhorn patriarch, stopped by to introduce the Buckhorn and welcome us - what a nice personal touch. Chico shared some "Buckhorn history", the outside terrace and lake views, and some brief adventures of their 17 years of ownership. Chico, Dawn, Shelley, and Kevin all took time to sign our copy of Wisconsin Supper Clubs - fun. We were seated at a window table and promptly greeted by Kim. Kim reviewed the specials of the evening, collected our drink and appetizer order while telling answering our questions about the Buckhorn and then she shared this Mark Twain quote - “Find a job you enjoy doing, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” - very refreshing to hear how much she enjoys her job and working for the Pope family. We were definately enjoying our visit. Our Bluegill filets / appetizer were served with our cocktails - Southern Comfort Old Fashioned and a local beer with color and body. Tasty. For dinner "she" had the Chilean Sea Bass with a house salad and baked potato and "he" had the Friday Night Fish Fry with a house salad, home made thousand island dressing and fries. The presentations were excellent and the food was delicious - what we could eat of it - we opted to take some home with us. Kim was wonderful and is a gracious ambassador for the Buckhorn Supper Club, she was attentive and responsive without being obtrusive. When she stopped to check after the initial entree service, she asked, "Is everything the way you'd like it tonight?" - I found it to be an exceptionally professional twist on "How's everything?" - well done Kim. Great location, Great people, Great service, Great food - equals an exceptional Wisconsin dining experience. We had a lot fun and really enjoyed our evening with the hospitable Pope family. Take the time to visit Buckhorn Supper Club and enjoy some "Old Fashioned" Wisconsin hospitality - I am confident you'll enjoy your visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnebago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Daves reccomendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

typical old wisconsin supper club great prime rib and the duck was good too. Great friendly service!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, WI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The ideal Wisconsin supper club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great bar, good drinks, solid supper club food. My queen-cut prime rib was more than I could possibility eat, and I am a hungry guy. The menu offers a wide variety of selections to please anyone. The atmosphere is what you want in a Wisconsin supper club, full of happy guests, energetic noise level AND seasoned, fun-loving servers who make you feel like family. On the lake. I haven't tried it, but will soon make reservations for their lobster boil which run spring though fall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckhorn Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Buckhorn Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckhorn Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.