We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelos Mexican Embassy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Abuelos Mexican Embassy
Middleton, WI
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 85 restaurants in Middleton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The food at Abuelos is average at best. Today, the service was terrible. Took her 5 min. to get drinks out for three people. Then at least another 5 for chips and then she didn't bring the extra salsa we asked for. She did not refill drinks and was not visible for us to get her attention. Each time we go to Abuelos the service is poorer and poorer. Enchiladas today were less than an inch wide, so pretty small. Definitely poor value for the money, matching the poor service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    17
    16
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a cut above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

better than your typical neighborhood Mexican restaurant---more choice with some seafood options, etc. But also more expensive than your typical neighborhood Mexican restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This was my fourth time at Abuelos and it gets better each time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I visit a client who has become a good friend. He lives in Middleton and suggested Abuelos. He was right. I first went with him and have been back three more times. Large portions, good food, friendly staff, good drinks and fair prices. I am normally very picky about Mexican Food after having a Mexican roommate in college who was a chef in his family run restaurant but Abuelos gets a "Thumbs Up".

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We eat here frequently - often as carry out. The food is always good, a bit pricey. We like the chips and salsa starter and our favorites are the enchilada dinner and the chicken medallions. Our favorite side dish is the papas which are very cheesy/nacho-ish mashed potato. Yum.

If you are a costco member you can get $100 worth of gift cards for $80 which is a good deal. Also, signing up for their email program will often get you buy one get one for birthdays and anniversaries.

The lunch menu is also a reasonable cost. Their after dinner mints are good too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kicks your Tastebuds Up a Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Upscale from the moment the doors are opened. Very spacious, yet warm inviting atmosphere. You're greeted by a waiter/waitress with a baset of paperthin chips (usually still warm) along with mild & hot salsa shortly after being seated as you browse through a menu with many choices. I tried the enchildas "rancheros". My husband tried a combo plate. The Enchilada's were some of thee best ever. Definitely a flavor you'll be back for, or find yourself craving. Came with a side of beans & rice. Both meals arrrived piping hot & were outstanding - absolutely delicious. Their hotsauce offers the ultimate "Chili Pepper High." We also tried a dessert - the Sopapillas. EXCELLENT, light pillowy pastry puffs with a light coating of cinnamon/sugar to make your tastebuds dance with delight. They're fairly large so we were only able to eat one each. They came with a side of honey (pass on that - they're plenty sweet as is}. If you go - ENJOY - we'll definitely be back. I feel a craving coming on just thinking about it. The wait-staff is very attentive. The manager usually stops by to ensure you enjoyed your dining experience as well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelos Mexican Embassy also viewed

 

Been to Abuelos Mexican Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelos Mexican Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.