We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pies!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hubbard Avenue Diner

Hubbard Avenue Diner
7445 Hubbard Ave, Middleton, WI 53562-3117
608-831-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 85 restaurants in Middleton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Amherst, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Pies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Food and service was good. Place was busy and it seemed like the staff always new someone walking in. Pies were very good. Would come back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    54
    59
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I heart 3.14!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you are looking for a popular, classic 50's style diner with great burgers, salads, sandwiches, and PIE? Then, go to Hubbard. I have not come for breakfast yet, but everything else on the menu is tops. You get a great quantity of food, at slightly high rates (about $10-$12 for any dish on the menu). I would have expected $5-$6, but it is Middleton. After dinner, PLEASE, don't forget the pie. A quick count on the website lists 136 different flavors. I prefer the Key Lime or the Rhubarb, but they will have scads to choose from. After a drink, meal and pie, I usually have a $20 or so bill PER PERSON. So it is a little high, which I am not a fan of, but I will pay for the quality!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Classic diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We went here on a Sunday morning, had to wait about 15 minutes for a table at 10 am, when we left at 10:45 or so the wait was a lot longer. But it was their annual Good Neighbor celebration weekend, so that probably contributed. We had probably the best booth in the place, right next to a curved glass block wall, so that probably made the food and service seem better, but all in all both were fine.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Stepping into the Hubbard Avenue Diner was like a time warp of a 1950s movie, but without the cliche. Squeaky clean and full of patrons at 11:15 AM on a Tuesday, we had to wait 20 minutes for a table. My reuben was sensational, and my partner's Wisconsin burger was also delicious. We were very tight on time and had to skip dessert, but we will be back. I was also pleased to see that whole pies are available for purchase. Next time, we'll take the kids.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“pies is a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Pies are a little pricey in my opinion ($5 a slice). But the french silk is to die for. I also really enjoyed the chicken pot pie. Diner atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hubbard Avenue Diner also viewed

 

Been to Hubbard Avenue Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hubbard Avenue Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.