We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with nice ambience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Madison West

Save Saved
You added Marriott Madison West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Madison West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1313 John Q Hammons Drive, Middleton, WI 53562   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Middleton
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with nice ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Its a nice hotel with rooms doors pointing inwards to the internal space. Nice ambience. Cosy.
Gym is equipped with 3 threadmills and 2 exercise bikes and a heated pool and jacauzzi.
Only 2 lifts, so that slows down vertical transport.
Rooms are nice and big.
Only 1 gripe - I found hair in the toilet, the cleaners did not do a good job of cleaning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    82
    41
    14
    12
See reviews for
33
24
15
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011 via mobile

Excellent staff there to help in any way and very friendly. The room is a different matter. The sheets on my king size bed were paper thin and the bath towels must be years old, making it feel like I'm at a motel 6. For business the desk was very nice but only had one power receptacle available that was under the desk and made me choose which device to recharge. For these reasons I would not recommend this hotel. There are many other more modern hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Germain, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I have never been to a noisier hotel. It was very difficult to sleep at night because the bar/lounge area is in the center of the hotel and the rooms are circled around it. I was here for a class/conference and got very little sleep which left me less than prepared for long days of classwork. If you have to stay here, try requesting a room on one of the higher floors. And the high speed internet cost $10 per day with no free hot zones.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

This is an older, atrium-style hotel, and a bit out of the way. The room was spacious and comfortable, but we needed to switch because our first room smelt funky. Free laundry machines available. The Wifi is expensive and didn't work in my room. However, at check-out the charges were removed. Courteous and friendly staff. The hotel felt very empty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I attended a three-day conference at the Marriott Madison West, which is why I stayed at this hotel. I have attended this conference in previous years, and I have stayed at the Marriott as well as other nearby hotels. The convenience of staying in the same hotel where the events are held was my main reason for staying here. The group negotiated a rate of $109 per night.

Like most Marriotts, this property is well suited for the business traveler. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and up to date. They are also quiet. A group of high school students also had event at the same time, and I was never disturbed by noise at night. There is a bar and restaurant in the main atrium area, which is also convenient. I ate breakfast at the restaurant on the morning I left. The breakfast buffet was very good and reasonably priced at about $12.

Internet access is available for $13 per day. This is overpriced in my opinion, but most business travelers will submit the bill as a travel expense, so most users don't worry about this expense. The access service was ok. It was not the fastest, but I was able to stream a Skype video call with little difficulty.

There are lots of restaurants in the immediate area, so dining outside the hotel is easy. Many are a short walk as well. There is also a Post Office about 1 mile away. The hotel is located right off the highway, so it's easy to access.

I have stayed at this hotel before, and like my previous stays, I still like staying at this hotel. It is ideal for a business function, although it would work well for a social event held at the hotel as well. I would stay here again for an event held at or near the hotel. (CS)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to accomodate my requests. The room was very comfortable and quiet. I cannot comment on the restaurant as i did not eat at the hotel (my meals were provided by the conference I attended.) The only issue I had (and its not very big) was that the fitness center was small and became crowded quickly after 6 am. I do think it is ridiculous that a Marriott which charges a nice price such as this one did not provide free internet access in the room. However, the business center had free computers to use and there was never any waiting. Overall a great stay in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We have been very loyal to the Marriott Chain but this property needs to be examined by their Executives.

Check-in was decent but the room had stained walls. The toilet had an issue too.

The fitness center had spoiled bananas sitting in the "fruit basket". One treadmill seemed like it was out of order for a while.

When we checked out, the woman did not say one word, honest! She looked up, we handed her our keys and said we were checking out. She nodded and when back to whatever she was doing on her computer. We were like "OOOhhhh-kay?"

If given a choice, we will not stay at this property until their Trip Advisor reviews start turning around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonMarriott, General Manager at Marriott Madison West, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear Ms. Janie C,

I would like to apologize for the issues that you encountered during your last stay with the Madison Marriott West.

I have sent a seperate e-mail asking for more information on the "Stains and toilet issues" for better clarification. I promise to personally inspect the rooms to insure that we did not miss this upon cleaning of the room.

The treadmill had parts on backorder from our service provider, and it just came in yesterday, and is now repaired. Unfortunately, we repair our equipment as fast as parts are available, but it is not always the next day.

I have spoken to my Front Office Manager regarding the attitude that you also spoke of.

I appreciate your comments, as it allows us to fix any issues that we may have not been aware of.

SIncerely,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Madison West

Address: 1313 John Q Hammons Drive, Middleton, WI 53562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Middleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Madison West 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Madison West Hotel Middleton
Marriott Hotel Middleton
Marriott Middleton
Middleton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.