We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay EVER!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Badger Hotel

Save Saved
You added Badger Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Badger Hotel
3209 E Main St, Hwys 51 & 64, Merrill, WI 54452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Merrill
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel stay EVER!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Besides mechanical issues, like the hallway door not locking, our family experienced our worst nights sleep EVER! The person staying in the room above us walked all night and kept turning the water on and off to the point that our family of four could not rest comfortably. When we brought the issue to the general manager and owners attention they refused to offer any sort of compensation, they were rude and began a personally attack which is when we decided to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in Wisconsin. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitijoa, General Manager at Badger Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
The guests who stayed did not lodge a complaint to the front desk about any of these problems. instead she wrote a letter and gave it to the front desk at checkout.. We contacted the guest and tried to work with her on a resolution. We offered a free night stay, or a 50% refund. They said no! So they took revenge and wrote an inasty review of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We arrived at this hotel late in the evening, with a half-flat tire after a long drive. It was a blessed relief. The staff accommodated our request for extra towels and blankets (3 teens). The room was modern, well-maintained and clean. The hotel has a nice pool room with hot tub and sauna. It has nice common areas for sitting and talking, and they are isolated from the rooms so noise doesn't carry. The hotel has a bar attached; it's patrons seemed to be parents from a traveling ball team. I don't know if food is served in the bar. The breakfast offerings could be enhanced. The rate was fair. The neighborhood is fine with shopping and chain restaurants nearby. Good in-room wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

This was supposed to be a King Jacuzzi Suit. The room was the same size as a normal room, no microwave (as advertised on their website), the hot tub didn't work, the AC performed sub par keeping the room too warm and muggy, and the management was very rude. I will likely never stay at another Super 8 ever again. I can't believe they can charge extra/suite rate for this room. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

The hotel was OK, but needs some updating. The beds were not comfortable and pillows were the awful. Breakfast in the morning is very limited.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

Although the room was clean and the service was friendly and helpful, I thought it overpriced for a very basic room with two double beds in it. Also, I was quoted one price when I booked the room, but when I went to check in, the rate was 7 dollars higher. The bed was only marginally comfortable and the blanket was skimpy, or was tucked in too far under the mattress, but at midnight I didn't want to have to take the bed apart to see what the problem was.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Badger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Hotel

Address: 3209 E Main St, Hwys 51 & 64, Merrill, WI 54452
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Merrill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Badger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrill
Super Eight Merrill
Merrill Super 8
Merrill Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.