We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badger Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Badger Hotel to your Saves list
Badger Hotel
3209 E Main St, Hwys 51 & 64, Merrill, WI 54452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
West Allis, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Simple, inexpensive and very friendly staff. When we arrived, no one had checked the reservations website so our reservation was not in the book. The front desk person kept apologizing because the check in was an additional 3 minutes as a result. No big deal to us, but she upgraded us to the next best room to compensate us for the trouble. She didn't need to, but insisted. We enjoyed the hot tub and the pool, and the room was wonderful. If we stay in Merrill again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My buddy and i stayed at the Badger Motel (be advised: previously a Super 8---it came up on our GPS as a Super 8) on our way up to Minoqua.....

Not too much to say about it as we were there just to crash as the road conditions were bad and it was getting late. Our room was a first floor double (not queens, but full beds) and paid about $70, with tax, for the nite... The beds were fairly comfortable.... TV was an old school CRT and the bathroom was serviceable. The fridge in the room didn't work, so we opted to keep our cold stuff in the car.... We didn't feel like bothering the rather unfriendly desk lady at midnite about it....

The breakfast was fair---waffle maker, dry cereal along with the regular standard issue motel breakfast items. No eggs, hot food or fresh fruit, except for a basket of red apples.... At any rate, it was enough to keep us going for much of the day.... We didn't use the pool, but from i could tell, it looked pretty decent...

In conclusion, the Badger Hotel is a adequate place to spend the nite along the Interstate, but i'm not sure i would recommend it as a base camp for a visit to the area. Also, I felt we paid a bit much for what we got---- $50 or $60/nite is a fairer price..... And finally, they don't offer discounts such as AAA, COSTCO etc...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the old Super 8 in Merrill WI. I had a clean, comfortable room for a great price. Staff is friendly, and check-in is easy. The Badger is well located just off the freeway, a few steps from great eateries like the Pine Ridge, which has the best breakfast in town, Culvers, and McDonald's. And the Badger has a great lounge, with beer, food, and big-screen TV.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

For the price-range, this was a nice hotel. We were part of an overall larger party who used several rooms between us. All of the rooms were decent - clean with all functional appliances/features/etc., It's 'old-school' as you may expect, complete with Zenith CRT-TV's. Still, a nice enough space.

Coffee/Tea/Hot Water is always available in the lobby, also where the free breakfast is served. Note - The breakfast is VERY minimal (though they do have a waffle-iron), so you may want to plan to supplement elsewhere.

The building feels secure, with side entrances requiring a key-card swipe to get in, and the front desk in the lobby always staffed. Staff were very polite and helpful, as well.

The pool was a bit chilly, and the hot tub was less-than-hot, but still enjoyable. The sauna needed to be turned on about 30 minutes before we wanted to use it to warm up, but that wasn't a huge issue for us.

No real complaints, and I'd definitely stay here again if I needed to be in the area.

NOTE: Train passes nearby in the wee hours of morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed Aug.18 while in Merrill for a family reunion. Our 3-generation family had 2 adjoining rooms on the first floor with 2 doubles in one room and a queen in the other. The hotel is decorated in mauves, green and blue and looks like the 80's. But it is not worn at all. The place is immaculate. I've never been in a cleaner hotel. Had a pool and free breakfast but we didn't utilize them as we were out with family. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No elevator so plan to climb stairs if you're on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a king bedroom. It was very clean and reasonably priced with AAA discount. The night clerk was very friendly and explained all the services available as well as pointing out their bar and grill. Fridge, microwave, extra sink, coffee maker and wireless internet were all included. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was a great find! Looking for an overnight on our way north. Friendly and reasonable. Our room was toward the back upstairs and looked out over woods and was quiet. Nice, clean room with a little fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink. The king room had a recliner. I would recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Badger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Hotel

Address: 3209 E Main St, Hwys 51 & 64, Merrill, WI 54452
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Badger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrill
Super Eight Merrill
Merrill Super 8
Merrill Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.