We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Place In Mercer.... Hands Down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Lodge & Resort

The Gateway Lodge & Resort
4695 N. Popko Circle W., PO Box 387, Mercer, WI
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 15 Restaurants in Mercer
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mercer, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worst Place In Mercer.... Hands Down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I thought our first visit was a fluke for the terrible service and rude bartender/ owner so shame on us we went back, again same bartender /owner behind the bar with the same crappy attitude, oh and the waitress went to he same school of rudeness as the owner, we were seated at he bar and she asked where we wanted to sit for dinner, we said right hear at he bar would be perfect, she says um, I don't think so, I looked 3 stools down at the only other guy there on a friday night at 6:00 and yup, he was sitting there at the bar eating, so not to make a seen to the 1 other patron we graciously went to a table I had the waitress pick so I didn't get rudded again, when our food came it was all messed up and the waitress didn't even say sorry, she looked at my wife like it was her fault, there is a reason this place is empty on most Friday nights!! We will never go back and I would not suggest this to someone I didn't like!!! WHEN they fold hopefully the next owners will treat there customers to good food and good hospitality as its a beautiful location with very UGLY owners!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After studying the menu, we decided to try the Gateway....it seemed to have lots of interesting choices! I made a reservation but when we arrived, I was embarrassed....Saturday night, peak season and there was only one other table of people eating???? No reservation needed!

They offer a salad bar but it was basically chucks of iceberg, chuncked tomatoes and carrots. There were also a couple of prepared salads but they looked like they had been sitting there for a while.
Our dinners were 'grilled' or 'broiled'....they were absolutely bland! No seasoning and no flavor at all!! It was horribly disappointing....we won't be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Du Sac, WI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gateway Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family had a great experience at this restaurant. We loved the atmosphere, the games the kids could play, and all had tasty food. It was a fun, festive place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Vacation of the Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I camp for a week every year at next-door Lake of the Falls County Park, and always end up spending a lot of my time at the Gateway. It's a quick walk from the campground, and is a beautiful place in the middle of the woods on the shores of a beautiful lake. It's unusual to find such good food in the sticks, and this place also has a wide selection of booze and beer. I can't wait to come back this summer!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“taste of the northwoods.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

whenever i'm in the mercer area i always make a point to stop in at the gateway lodge.besides making the best bloodymary ive ever had, the food is always excellant.from the pan fried walleye to there cheeseburgers the food always hits the spot after a long day of fishing on the flowage.i also like the fact they have alot of games and a pooltable to keep the kids happy.its a good family restaurant with affordable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Lodge & Resort also viewed

 

Been to The Gateway Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.