We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie
320 Oak Avenue, Menomonie, WI 54751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Menomonie
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The staff was very friendly, especially the gal that checked us in wish I had her name, she checked us in, answered questions and never appeared bother when I went back to the front desk to ask more questions. We didn't use the pool, but it appeared to be clean, my son did use the workout room and it was average, however they do have an agreement with Anytime fitness and you can ask for a pass at the front desk. The club is right across the parking lot. Breakfast wasn't the best, oatmeal runny, eggs dry and staff took a little long to restock items. Room was clean and roomy - no microwave though. Location was good, probably will check out one or two of the other hotels in the area as I have a child going to UW Stout and the price for the room was a little high, but will definitely keep this one on the list.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast, we appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hopes that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. On behalf of our entire staff at the Country Inn & Suites we thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
6
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in Menomonie only because the Eau Claire exit was closed. This hotel was definitely overpriced for the average kind of place it is...maybe not enough competition in town? Our room was nice enough. Not the newest but o.k. The pool area was a bit larger than some of the hotels we have stayed at. The breakfast was ok...waffles, omelets, potatoes (not very good), oatmeal, breads, toasts pastries, cereal, apples, oranges, yogurt (not individual pkgs:( ) granola bars, fruit salad (NOT RECOMMENDED unless you like mushy bland tasting fruit), hard boiled eggs(with very pale yellow yokes:(...farm fresh is SO MUCH BETTER!!!) Also assorted juices, milk, coffee, hot chocolate,and teas. Overall it was nice enough but not great enough to make us feel we have to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that we fell short of meeting your expectations during your stay. We are in the process of completing a number of upgrades to our hotel, including new flat screen televisions, microwaves, fridges and freshly remodeled bathrooms. I will work with our staff to make sure that they are properly preparing the breakfast items and work with our vendor to help remedy the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My son and I selected this hotel based on previous reviews. The room was very clean and offered everything we needed. My son enjoyed the pool and the breakfast the next morning was great. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Overall, we found this hotel a great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are glad to hear that we met your expectations during your recent stay. Thank you for the feedback and we will continue to provide an exceptional product to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

On Christmas Day our family celebrated the holiday along with our parent's 60th wedding anniversary at this hotel in Menomonie. My husband and I talked to Nancy at the front desk in early November about the rental of their party room along with the rates for the rooms we would need to reserve for the families to stay in that evening. She was so helpful and accomodating. We had a party of approximately 30 people and the party room was perfect. The lady working the front desk on Christmas Day was so welcoming to all of us and didn't seem to mind working on the holiday. The breakfast the next morning included everything a person would have wanted from hot oatmeal to eggs/sausage, yogurt with fresh fruit, to cereal and toast. Not one person in our party had a complaint with this hotel!

Room Tip: All of our rooms were on the first floor with easy access to breakfast room, swimming pool, and exer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We take a lot of pride in what we do and are happy you noticed. Our goal is to make sure everyone leaves our hotel with great memories. Thanks for staying with us. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We recently stayed with our hockey team at this property. Location was great. Service was good and cookies were amazing. I'd recommend this property for such a visit. Breakfast was great for the boys. The pool was a great place to play.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I gave this an excellent based on the size of our room. We had a king Jacuzzi suite and it could have fit another suite inside the room !. For the price it is a great value, even with a so so bed and lack of microwave.

We had a table w 2/chairs, closet, loveseat, coffee table, sink area outside bathroom and a lot of open floor space. Flat screen with good stations.

The Jacuzzi itself was so large that my 6'4 sweetie could stretch his legs and still not touch the other side. Filled up fast with plenty of hot water.

We had no problems with the air, we only used at night and it cooled our room fine. The rest of the time we had the windows opened.

Our was bed firm and not the most comfortable, but not the worst. It is sleepable. Bedding was cozy.

Bathroom was overly large as well and had good water pressure. Plenty of counter space.

Hotel, room and grounds were clean and well kept. Staff was attentive and friendly.

Odd thing- my husband went to Perkins to place an order for pick -up - they were so rude that he went to the gas station and got me hot pockets. Made my night-until I went to cook them and discovered the microwave cart was lacking the microwave! I ran to the lobby and used that one, while waiting I discovered they had peach juice in the dispenser and it is fantastic !

Basic breakfast- nothing special but area was clean and not crowded.

Would stay again if in area , we had a relaxing quiet evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy that you were comfortable and enjoyed the spacious rooms that Country Inn and Suites provides. We take a lot of pride in what we do and are happy you noticed. Our goal is to make sure everyone leaves our hotel with great memories. Thanks for staying with us. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed at four hotels in the Menomonie area and have found that my last stay at this hotel (mid August 2013) was the most enjoyable. I was traveling with my two toddlers without my husband and found this hotel to be very comfortable. We stayed three nights in their one-bedroom suite-- it was a great night's sleep for all!

Pros: in- room free wifi access and computer in lobby for guest use, cookies in the lobby, great breakfast, friendly staff (who even accommodated my special request -- thanks Leolani!), clean rooms & pool area, and access to snap fitness across the parking lot!

Cons: Limited parking spaces when they are full.

Overall impression: By far, the best hotel in Menomonie!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are very happy that you decided to give the Country Inn and Suites a try. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope you will continue to try other Country Inn and Suites in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie

Address: 320 Oak Avenue, Menomonie, WI 54751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Menomonie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Menomonie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Menomonie
Menomonie Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Menomonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.