We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi - Quality Inn & Suites” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1721 Plaza Dr, Menomonie, WI 54751 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Menomonie
Hamilton Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Semi - Quality Inn & Suites”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 2 days when visiting friends.

I'll start with what was good. Check in. It was pretty easy. I was greeted with a smile and the rules were explained. I was warned particularly about not smoking in the room. (which we don't do anyway). I found that a bit odd given I requested a non smoking room.

We were told to access our room around the back of the building. That was where we started wondering. We assumed there was a renovation going on with a huge dumpster in the parking lot. This may have been because everything seemed to be dirty and the paint was chipped, patched outside and given the appearance of work in progress. To enhance our experience filthy bird crap covered walls and sidewalks from hundreds of nesting barn swallows around the perimeter's roofline. Nothing says welcome like dodging birds and their crap when trying to unload your luggage to enter a building.

We should have left then.

Upon arrival to our "newly" renovated jacuzzi suite, and even leading to it were many odd stale odors. The room itself had what looked like newer carpet, yet it retained the smell smoke from seemed like decades ago.

Furniture is crammed awkwardly into the tiny space and there are many signs that it should be chopped up for firewood. Some walls have been patched and repaired but not re-painted. Bathroom had a hole in the side of the tub, along with chipped and cracked floor tiles, broken baseboard and a shower rod held by one screw on either end. It will probably fall off shortly. Tried to ignore the dark ring under the inside of the toilet. Did not and wouldn't use the jacuzzi - I cannot imagine what might be hiding in the residual "jet" water. The bed was ok from a mattress standpoint, however we picked several black hairs off the sheets before trying to get some rest. Sheets came off the bottom right of the bed because they were worn out. The cooling or AC groaned and cycled all night doing its best to cool. Thankfully it wasn't hot outside because I don't think it would have kept up all night.

The vanity over the sink was nicely accented with a burnt out bulb, which seemed to help take the focus away from the chipped counter top. Even on day 2, the bulb had not been replaced. I'll even add, one of the washcloth's left near the safe in the entry closet wasn't picked up. There was a soap bar (from the previous guest) on the top left of the shower - it was never noticed (odd, you'd think they'd want to get the shower rod fixed) and would have noticed it.

Breakfast was in a stuffy room on the first floor. It was ok. We had a waffle and hard boiled egg. The coffee was hot, and the staff did a good job cleaning up the area.

The entire Choice Hotel chain should be ashamed of property's in this state. Take your business to a more reputable brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
25
5
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The parking lot alone must scare people away. Hundreds of barn swallows swooping at you when you are outside. There was coffee (cold and old tasting) in the lobby. There is a damaged room upstairs with a sheet used as a door. I was told this room has been like this for years. Our room smelled weird. I don't believe the carpet had ever been shampooed. The pillow cases looked old. I pulled back the pillow cases and saw our pillows were very stained. There were no pool towels at the pool. The next morning I discovered what appeared to be bug bites on my legs. When I went to check out and complain, there wasn't anyone at the front desk. I went to my car to leave and saw the birds covered the car in bird poop. Luckily, there was a car wash close by. I would not recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Where to start, room was clean but bed was too small for wife and I. I am 6" 2 225# they where only doubles in size. When checking in they notified me any damage would be charged to my card. So wouldn't you know as soon as we entered our room the dresser had a trim piece hanging down and they tried to hold it up with tape. Call the front desk to let them know, why didn't they just fix it before you would make it available? Lots of people staying there the weekend we where there, so at the free breakfest it was crowded and when they refilled the egg tray I took a healthy portion. They where ice cold!! the other stuff was ok. Needdless to say we ate else where. You might want to go somewhere else unless you like cheap rooms. I will be looking to stay at a different place next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Me and my friend spent the night here because we were looking for morel mushrooms and planned to bike the Red Cedar Trail. The price was certainly right ($69/night). This hotel is located just east of downtown Menomonie, right off I-94.

The room was just fine. The linens and towels and such were exceptionally clean, and the bed and pillows were comfy... I'm a fussy sleeper. The shower was great with excellent water pressure and moderate temperature (seems like a small thing, but I've had terrible showers in much more expensive hotels). Being mushroom hunters, we really NEEDED a good, tick-removing shower after being out in the woods all day!

The breakfast buffet was okay. I guess it's pretty comparable to most hotels of this price range. The milk and orange juice were cold and the stuff that was supposed to be warm, was.

This hotel has a nice pool and the employees that we dealt with were very nice.

This is a good place to stop if you're on a travel budget and need to stay in western Wisconsin. Since it's right off the interstate, it's close to lots of things in all directions and there are a lot of things to do in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This spot is making the effort, and although it is a solid "OK" for the most part, there are a few weaknesses needing attention. First, on the plus side, the beds and linens were great - comfortable and fresh. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our questions and needs. The room was also nice and clean overall. On the downside, the faucets leaked ... not gushing, but a steady drip from both the sink and the shower. It didn't keep us awake at night, but it made for a pretty drab ambience. The worst was the free breakfast. It was advertised as the "Deluxe Breakfast," but this was like the Great Gatsby after the fall. The choices were poorly replenished. When we came down the only items available were biscuits and gravy and a few lonely muffins. When the harried provision gal did replenish the choices, the scrambled eggs were still cold on the inside. The breakfast was a bummer. But ... the room was only $79 so it was a wash.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rooms and Bath were very clean condition.Staff was friendly...Breakfast buffet was terrible - warm juice, old muffins and bad waffles - long wait for eggs and coffee.....apparently understaffed or not experienced in even simple food service. Good place to sleep but plan on breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on Saturday, January 19th, It's nothing fancy but very nice. Beds were comfortable, and it was super quiet. Good value for the money. We stayed here on a trip to the Mall of America, and didn't really want to stay in the city. I have booked this hotel again for December 2013 for a graduation at UW Stout that we will be attending.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1721 Plaza Dr, Menomonie, WI 54751 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Menomonie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Menomonie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right off exit 45 on I 94. Our location is easily accessible to University of Wisconsin - Stout and other businesses in Menomonie. Renovated recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Menomonie
Menomonie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.