We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parsonage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McFarland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage B&B
Save
You added The Parsonage B&B to your Saves list
5508 Broadhead Street, McFarland, WI 53558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 McFarland B&B and Inns
Hobart, Indiana
1 review
“Great little getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a lovely older remodeled house. (1900?). Very clean and very comfortable. Craig is a gracious host and exceptional cook.(Chef?). It is located on a quiet street in a small neighborhood. 10 minutes to Madison if you need anything.
We enjoyed our stay there and look forward to another.

Room Tip: The large room on the top floor sleeps 6. There's a jacuzzi in one of the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We decided to visit Madison from Chicago as a weekend getaway. We picked this 110-year-old former Lutheran parsonage because it was only 15 mins away from downtown Madison's Capitol Square. We couldn't have made a better decision. The Parsonage is an immaculately clean B&B, quiet (no televisions!), ornate, with a warm host and two sweet dogs. The Mentor room, where we stayed, has a two-person jacuzzi built in, which was soothing to soak in after a long day exploring Madison. Our room was airy, nicely lit and cozy. Our host Craig cooked a special breakfast for us since we were the only guests staying that day. He made a green chile omelet, sausages, fresh fruit from his CSA, baked squash with cranberry compote, and a cinnamon-waffle with icing. Here's a man who is proud of his cooking, and it shone through. It was our first stay ever in a B&B, and we will not hesitate to return to The Parsonage the next time we're in Madison. Two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Kevin + Anne

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for the weekend in the Bergee room. It was very nice and comfortable. The shower was excellent. The food couldn't have been better; I need to eat gluten-free and they prepared gluten-free egg dishes both days and even gluten-free blueberry muffins one of the mornings. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed at the B&B this past weekend. We stayed in the Sorenson room which was the right size for us. It had an attached, good sized bathroom which was great, and my daughter loved that she got to take a bath in a tub that was over 100 years old. (The water pressure is great by the way). There was an assortment of soaps, shampoos, bubble baths etc in the bathroom too. The room and bathroom were so clean and spotless. Craig was extremely nice, helpful, was so sweet to my daughter, and whipped up a killer breakfast.... a brown sugary, apple, cranberry, upside down baked french toast kind of concoction, homemade pumpkin bread, fresh watermelon, and sausage links. He was very accomodating and asked us the night before if there were any allergies or food issues that he needed to know about. The price was very affordable, and the next time I'm in the area I'll be staying there instead of a hotel. : )

Room Tip: Sorensen Room has a private bathroom. Nice sized!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was our first stay at the Parsonage, but it won't be our last. The house is clean, quiet, tastefully decorated, and very well kept. Craig is a great host and he does a great job of making you feel right at home. He is also a wonderful cook. We did a two night stay and the breakfast entrées were exceptional. Well Done!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We recently stayed at the Parsonage as a stopover on our way to Chicago. The room was perfect for our family of 4. The "Reverends Retreat" is a large suite (separate bedroom) with everything you need to be comfortable. The kids slept in beds in the dormers and felt like they had their own private space. There is a large living area with stereo, TV and couch as well as a fridge and dining table and desk. My 5 yo forgot to bring a bedtime story and Craig quickly found a few to keep her happy as well as some stuffed teddy bears to make things just like home. Breakfast was wonderful with quiche and baked squash (a seasonal treat!). We eat organic at home and loved the fact that Craig prepared organic foods. We really appreciated all that Craig did to make our stay so wonderful. We'll be back I'm sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is our second time at the Parsonage B&B. We came back because the first time we had a fantastic experience. As before, the hosts were wonderful, the rooms are decorated in a tasteful vintage style, everything is clean and cozy. We were here during a drastic hot spell and the air conditioning felt wonderful. The homemade breakfast every morning was delicious! We highly recommend spending a few nights here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parsonage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage B&B

Address: 5508 Broadhead Street, McFarland, WI 53558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > McFarland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McFarland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast is a 110-year-old Victorian home located in the quiet village of McFarland, just minutes away from the center of Madison, Wisconsin. Most of our spacious rooms have queen size beds (one room = single bed),a private bath and easy chairs to relax in. We serve a full gourmet breakfast in the morning. Dietary restrictions are our specialty. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parsonage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.