We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
21 State Street, Mazomanie, WI 53560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Bondville, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great people, Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My daughter and I met half way at Walking Iron for a wonderful girls weekend. We loved the decor and the food was amazing! Karissa and David are the best hosts. There are so many things to do around the area you will never lack for something to do. If you are looking for a relaxing and special time away, this would be it! The Old Feed Mill has wonderful food and atmosphere! Tano's Pizza was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lenora's Room. It faces the street, but was very quiet. The king size bed was so co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Walking Iron B & B is a beautiful place to stay with gracious hosts. The location is exquisite in early autumn and is near Spring Green, Wisconsin. You can enjoy theatre productions at American Player's Theatre in summer and early autumn. The B & B is easy walking distance from The Old Feedmill, a charming local restaurant. Cheese and apple lovers can make a gourmet tour of the region. We plan to be regular guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The rennovation of this historic home has resulted in a perfect Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room (Doctor's Study ) was comfortable and unique. Breakfast was superior. It is close to the Frank Lloyd Wright house and House on the Rock, and also Madison. Walk to the Old Feed Mill for dinner. It is also great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our very first B&B experience and I must say it put any fears I had to rest! Dave was very warm and welcoming upon check in. Our room was AMAZING! My husband ordered a special flowers/chocolate/champagne addition and it was in the room and ready to surprise me. Very impressed with that! I would definitely return to Walking Iron. The breakfast was so DELICIOUS!! Thank you for making our first B&B experience extremely MEMORABLE!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding at the Old Feed Mill and it was an amazing B&B. Karisa was a gracious host and the breakfast was very good as well. Wonderful property and highly recommended. We enjoyed all the historical photographs, history of the property and information about Mazomanie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed many times at Walking Iron and have taken groups of people there annually. It is a magically restored Victorian mansion with rooms that are lovingly decorated in period style. The proprietors take enormous pride in what they have achieved (rightfully so). Breakfast are beyond ample and always delicious. The owners' hospitality is unmatched. Everything is spotless. The proximity to countless treasurable sites in Southwestern Wisconsin makes this the perfect spot from which to explore the region. Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin is nearby, as is American Players Theatre, the finest company of its kind in North America. Nature lovers are in for a feast. The proprietors will provide information for everything worthwhile to experience in the area. We will continue to return year after year (unless this review makes rooms unavailable!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was planing our B&B stays for our business trip from Ohio towards St.Paul MN for a business convention and then on over the top of Lake MI and back down. After reading all of the great reviews on Tripadvisor for Walking Iron B&B, I booked on-line and was not disappointed.

We drove into the area and wondered how an incredible B&B could be located in such a little town, and then turned the corner to see the grande ole home.

Once inside we could see how lovingly the house had been restored. We stayed in the Lenora's Garden View room, upstairs. Thankful that the whole house was air conditioned with the record heat of the summer of 2012!!!

We were recommended to dine (within walking distance) at an old mill that was converted into a restaurant--excellent! Then we enjoyed the rest of the evening on the front porch of the B&B with other guests.

Breakfast, the next morning was outstanding! Everything was first rate!

The whole experience was highly recommendable!

Next time we go, we would love to take in show at the local theater, which had high marks from the other guests.

Room Tip: Verona's Garden View is one of the largest rooms with a spa tub (we did not use) in a spacious b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 State Street, Mazomanie, WI 53560
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.