We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Middle of Wisconsin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinco de Mayo

Cinco de Mayo
651 N Union St, Ste 5, Mauston, WI 53948-2314
608-847-5700
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Mauston
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: This is the best Mexican food I have had in a long time. Everything was fresh and delicious. The service was great. The prices were reasonably. The portions were good. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys authentic Mexican food served fresh and hot. The fried cheesecake finished off an excellent meal! 5 stars!!!
Restaurant details
Description: This is the best Mexican food I have had in a long time. Everything was fresh and delicious. The service was great. The prices were reasonably. The portions were good. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys authentic Mexican food served fresh and hot. The fried cheesecake finished off an excellent meal! 5 stars!!!
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Middle of Wisconsin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently discovered Cinco de Mayo which is near our summer home. I can only say that I wish we had gone there sooner than we did. The salsa has a nice kick (with continual refills of salsa and chips), the margaritas are nicely blended and the food is terrific. In addition, the folks that run the restaurant are delightful....very anxious to please and wanting to make your dining experience a good one. The decor is very sweet, the prices reasonable and the portions HUGE! During the summer, we go their 3-4 times a month. We love it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just strongly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were directed by hotel staff that this is a good locaal spot in town. A littel distance from our Best Western hotel.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Mexiican Food at a Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a good Mexican restaurant with reasonable prices. Nothing special about ambiance but the food and service is very good. Portion size is reasonable. A good place for families with children.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved Cinco de Mayo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate dinner at the Cinco de Mayo restaurant the first weekend in September when we stayed in Mauston overnight. It was fantastic! I'm glad we ignored the couple bad reviews listed here. The restaurant was beautiful, they had recently got all new booths and tables there that were hand carved and painted in Guadalajara and imported just for the restaurant. There was a bit of a language barrier with our waiter, but not bad; knowing some spanish would help. The food was delicious, the portions large, and the margaritas were tasty. The price was right too. We enjoyed a great conversation with one of the restaurant owners at the end of our meal who told us all about the new booths and how he ended up in WI. We really enjoyed our visit to Cinco de Mayo and would go back any time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Satisfying ethnic food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fajitas were a bit dry and chewy. Hot house tomatoes in Sept were disappointing. Tamale and chili rellano had good flavor. Would try it again if I was a locale. Would not be a high priority for a traveling re-do. Reasonable prices. Friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinco de Mayo also viewed

 

Been to Cinco de Mayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinco de Mayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.