We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Woodfield Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Woodfield Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Woodfield Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1651 N Central Ave, Marshfield, WI 54449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Marshfield
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Woodfield Inn and Suites this past weekend for a wedding. Not our first choice but we ended up here due to other hotels being completely booked for the weekend. Requested a poolside room as we planned on using the pool/ hot tub. Room was very outdated and blah, not even a single piece of 'hotel-art' on the walls. Ceiling looked like it had water damage stains on it and overall made me question the cleanliness of the room. Hardly any electrical outlets, there were 4, including 1 by the sink. Had nowhere to plug in electronics as all the outlets were filled with lamps, alarm clock, fridge, and TV cords. Had to unplug lamps for phone charger. Pool area was hotter than it was outside, very sauna-like, a huge disappointment. There was a large ladder and some other maintenance tools strewn about the 'arcade' area (located in the pool area), that was also unusable because of how sweltering it was. Couldn't even escape the heat because the room's "energy-efficient" air conditioning unit runs only when you have your key card in the slot, and when it was left on over night it froze over completely and stopped blowing cool air. Woke up in pools of sweat, only to find out there is no continental breakfast , nor even a coffee maker in the room. I had asked the front desk the night before for a take out menu from the next door restaurant, and they referred me to the bar to get one, which they didn't even have any, so I couldn't plan ahead for any other meals or breakfast the next day. Walls were paper thin and was startled awake at all hours of the night and early morning by screaming running kids in the hallway, slamming doors, stomping above us and could hear low murmurs of conversation from the surrounding rooms! The front desk was, however, accommodating when we needed more pillows, towels, etc. The room did have a decent TV, a microwave and a mini fridge. That's probably all of the positives with this place. Glad it was just a one time stay, if ever in town again, definitely will be going elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
9
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Machesney Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room itself was nice and the desk clerk was also very nice. However, the air conditioning in our room did not work. It was only blowing out lukewarm air, despite my having the thermostat turned down to 60 degrees. The room never got below 83 degrees. Probably one of the worst nights of my life for sleeping due to the extreme heat. A complaint to the desk only got me a "well, that's too bad" for my trouble. Would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure your air conditioner is working before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a block of rooms for a baseball tournament. Check in was smooth and the desk clerk polite. The rate was wrong at check out time but was also handled pretty quickly and politely. The room itself was basic, comfortable and clean. The carpet was a bit old but the beds were comfortable. We did not use the bar or restaurant area. The kids liked the pool but I could not spend anytime in the pool area as the temperature in the pool area seemed higher than in any sauna I have been in. Started sweating immediately in this enclosed space. I would stay here again in the future because the rates are VERY reasonable as well. Good job!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent about 4 nights here on business. It was pretty nice. Not terribly expensive either. They did have a decent bar/restaraunt attached. The service there wasn't great but the food was good. The hotel itself was pretty basic. Nice rooms but the cleaning staff didn't do much cleaning during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, il
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Woodfield Inn and Suites several times....I must say, this is a big hotel, with a lot of rooms, but the times we stayed here we have nothing but good things to say,,,rooms were a good size and clean...pool was huge( grand kids had a ball) staff was excellent,and the hotel is in a good location...Stay here and you won't be disappointed..!!.

Room Tip: If you have children traveling with you request room by pool. Those get booked quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we have traveled to Marshfield several times and every time we stay at the Woodfield Inn. The pool in nice size for the kids and the rooms are always clean. We will continue to book our hotel stay there anytime we are going to Marshfield which is at least twice a year. It has lots of stores and restaurants near by some within walking distance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We travel to Marshfield a couple times a year to visit family and have stayed at the Woodfield Inn several times. The staff is always very pleasant, rooms are clean and the pool/game area is great for the family! Good location - close to many stores and restaurants.We plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodfield Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodfield Inn and Suites

Address: 1651 N Central Ave, Marshfield, WI 54449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Marshfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Marshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodfield Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodfield Inn & Suites provides spacious, comfortable rooms for those traveling on business or pleasure to Marshfield, Wisconsin. Our convenient location offers easy access to local shopping, restaurants, and night life, as well as the Marshfield Clinic/St.Joseph's Hospital complex only six blocks away. We make your stay easy with our attached Lumberyard Bar & Grill Restaurant, offering great food in a family-friendly atmosphere. Relaxing with friends and family is easy - enjoy a delicious dinner and watch your favorite sports team while having a beer in the Lumberyard or lounge poolside as the kids splash and swim. Our clean, comfortable rooms with multiple amenities and friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is enjoyable. We offer several discounts including medical, corporate lodging, AAA, AARP, and military. We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Marshfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodfield Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfield Hotel Marshfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodfield Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.