We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marinette Inn

Marinette Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marinette Inn to your Saves list
Marinette Inn
1450 Marinette Avenue, Marinette, WI 54143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Marinette
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Lucky us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We often travel on the spur of the moment and must take what we can get when it comes to accommodations. When we decided to head to Marinette the next day, we found one room left at the Marinette Inn and we took it. What a pleasant surprise! Other than the room being small, I felt like I was in a private home. The rooms are clean and decorated with colored towels in the bathroom and printed sheets on the bed. Although there are no ice buckets in the rooms, the owners are more than happy to fill one for you. The location is perfect and the price can't be beat...$59. You can even grill your own dinner outside if you wish. Don't be afraid to stay at this Mom and Pop motel.

Room Tip: Ask to be as close to the office as is available. That will get you further away from the road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Can't beat the cost of the rooms here.. about $55/night including tax. Our room was spotless, the bathroom was roomy and spotless as well, and there was a fridge and microwave. The alarm clock was even an Ipod docking station, and there was free WiFi. The bed was very comfortable and had the vintage 'Magic Fingers' setup in working condition! Getting to park right in front of your door at little motels like this is always a treat. The staff was very warm and helpful and obviously care about maintaining the condition of this vintage mom-and-pop establishment. We would definitely stay again. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent a weekend in the area and stayed at the Marinette Inn. We have 2 kids so we opted to have the adjoining rooms. Even with paying for 2 rooms it still cost less than the bigger hotel chains around. The rooms are a bit on the small side but with 2 rooms we had plenty of room plus we had 2 bathrooms and tvs available that way (it did rain all weekend). The fridges are a good size. The decor is nice. The rooms are extremely clean. The bed was comfortable. We have plans to visit the area again and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I have been staying at the Marinette Inn for about 7 years, as a matter of fact, it is now the ONLY place I stay. I have stayed here many times for various reasons, I have probably stayed in most of the rooms they have. At one time, I actually stayed for an extended period of time with my little girl. I always recommend this place to friends and family.

Dave and Noreen are great when it comes to running their business, they are also a wonderful family with hearts of gold. As you can see from other posts they are friendly, cheerful, sincere people who treat everyone with respect and care.

We always have appreciated your hospitality Dave and Noreen. Thanks for all you do and have done.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I would highly recommend the Marinette Inn if you are looking for a nice, clean place to stay. This is a family owned business and the inn keepers, Noreen and Dave are so friendly and helpful!. The office does provide access to the Internet during business hours.
The location is perfect... close to tourist sights, fishing and boating, shopping, and restaurants. There is a gathering area with picnic tables, while the rooms do have a microwave oven and small refrigerator. On a return trip to the area, we plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We wanted to like this motel. We really did. The staff was very friendly and polite and we really try to use mom and pop motels when we are looking for an inexpensive and simple place to spend an overnight.

However, the Marinette Inn just didn't cut it for our family.

Many reviewers on here have indicated that they found the motel to be "clean." I would argue that it was "surface clean" - they do a good job of vacuuming the carpets and keeping incredibly fresh linens on the beds and in the bathrooms. However, when you really look at the carpet (or sadly, touch them) you realize they are in desperate need of a "deep cleaning." I wore my white athletic socks on the carpet for 15 minutes in the morning and they were fairly dingy by the time I got around to putting on my shoes. As another example, our second room (we stayed here on both the outbound and returning legs of our last trip) had an incredibly strong musty odor to it. They had tried to cover it with aerosol spray, but someone with allergies (like myself) can still detect the mildew and mustiness that permeated the air. It wasn't enough to force us to leave, but we spent as much of the evening out of the room as possible so I could tolerate the overnight.

You get what you pay for. By keeping their prices so low they don't have the budget to actually do the deep cleaning that needs to happen from time to time in a motel like this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinetteInn, Owner at Marinette Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
We are very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on either of your visits to our motel last month and sincerely appreciate your effort to still give us a second chance, regardless of your initial impression. We are also thankful that you took the time to give us your candid and helpful review, as we take our customers opinions very seriously and your impression of the cleanliness of our rooms will not be taken lightly.

We have been blessed with a very strong recovery this year from a recession that took more than 50% of similar mom and pop motels across the country . Out of appreciation and respect for all of our customers that have been struggling right along with us and have helped us keep
our doors open, we have not raised our rates since the recession began. Regardless of this, we try very hard not to cut any corners when it comes to keeping our rooms clean, as that is our number one expense and concern. Cleanliness has always been our biggest asset in bringing customers back year after year, so we will definitely make sure we use your complaints to our advantage and work even harder to maintain that asset going forward.

Thanks again and God Bless :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed a night here, and came late on a festival weekend, and all the other hotels near downtown Menominee were booked solid. We were happy to find this place. I have never stayed at a motel before but was pleasantly surprised. Simple but sufficient rooms, beds were comfortable. Showers were hot, bathrooms were clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were half the price of the larger hotels in town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinetteInn, Owner at Marinette Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you so much! We will never be an expensive full service hotel, but you noticed and appreciated everything that we constantly strive to be....which is a clean, quiet and comfortable place to sleep, without paying a full service hotel price. Thanks again and God Bless :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marinette Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinette Inn

Address: 1450 Marinette Avenue, Marinette, WI 54143
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Marinette
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Marinette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marinette Inn is a small, friendly, clean and comfortable family owned motel. We are located 50 miles north of Green Bay, Wisconsin and within a mile of the waters of Green Bay and the Menominee River, on the Wisconsin/UP border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marinette Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinette Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.