We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West of the Lake Gardens

West of the Lake Gardens
915 Memorial Drive, Manitowoc, WI
920-684-6110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Manitowoc
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Been here a few times and just gorgeous every time ...a must see when you visit Manitowoc if you love flowers...the water...or koi!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stroll and smell the roses.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love the West Gardens and stop there every few weeks in the summer. The flowers are always growing which makes the garden look different. The have added several new things in the last few years. It is so well kept it is hard to believe. I visit pubic gardens when ever I can and this is a true gem.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Secret Garden on the shores of Lake Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was a wonderful garden. While visiting one of the local shops and talking to the owner about being visitors in town, she suggested that we take the time to see the West of the Lake Gardens. What a pleasant surprise. We were there in early October, yet the roses and many of the flowers were still in bloom. There is no charge, plenty of room to park although it was not crowded...only one other couple was there. You just simply stroll around the grounds and enjoy the flowers, the butterflies and the sound of the waves rolling onto the shores of Lake Michigan. There was a nice sitting area and another area with a small pond with goldfish. Wish we could have stayed longer but we had to catch the ferry. Don't miss this treasure.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENOSHA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great place! Over 6 acres of lovely flowers right on Lake Michigan. Open Mothers' Day to first frost. No admission fee. They don't advertise so I was unaware all the times I've been by there. A waitress at Beernsten's told us about the place. Visited first week of October and the gardens were full of monarch butterflies! Inviting seating scattered about for lake and flower bed viewing. Definitely worth the visit. Ask the grounds staff about the history.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty and Serene - But Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Maybe I'm not a flower aficionado, so this wasn't something that I would normally do, but the wives in our group love flowers and wanted to visit. Well, they weren't all that impressed. The husbands found a couple of benches to rest while the ladies roamed the gardens.

Fortunately, the visit was free.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West of the Lake Gardens also viewed

 

Been to West of the Lake Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West of the Lake Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.