We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manitowoc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manitowoc to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4601 Calumet Ave, I-43 & Highway 151, Manitowoc, WI 54220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Waterloo, Iowa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We always enjoy staying at Holiday Inn. The staff is friendly and helpful. Although it needs an upgrade, it is clean and comfortable. Always like that they have a bar and restaurant on the premises. It is located in a good spot with easy access to the interstate and to the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Sir - we appreciate your repeat business. As you make mention of, our staff and accommodations make for a very pleasant stay. We will be undertaking a property-wide renovation later this year that will only add to a great experience. Thanks very much for staying with us. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    21
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
16
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LAKEWOOD
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had no choice, since I was on business. This hotel has no free breakfast, unheard of in this day and age of belgium waffles. Free wifi, but it was extremely sluggish, even for just email. Heat was next to impossible to regulate. It was either freezing or like a sauna. Good shower and good linens. My key card demagnetized every day. Very inconvenient. And of course it was my fault (not sure how). If it had been my call to make, I would have spent $50 (instead of $125) and stayed at the new Super 8 and not had to buy my own breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello – We’re glad to have the opportunity to address your concerns. As you make mention of, Holiday Inn Manitowoc is a full service hotel and we offer guests the benefit of an off-the-menu, sit-down restaurant. In case this doesn’t suite your needs, there is also a Starbucks coffee shop in the lobby providing lighter fare (do look for it next time.) As to the keycard and Wi-Fi, I’m not sure what happened with your particular circumstances, and I’m truly sorry for the inconvenience. Our staff tries to go the extra mile when things aren’t going right, and I would hope dealt with your problems in a courteous fashion. Regarding the heat, our heating units are regulated by an internal thermostat and kick on/off based on room temperature. If the unit was truly malfunctioning, our maintenance staff would have been glad to address the issue (or we would have happily moved you to another room) – next time just let us know! Again, thanks for the information, and just as an FYI, you might have noticed the design boards for our upcoming renovation on display in the lobby. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night because of a family function nearby. The king bedroom suite with an extra adjoining room suited our needs perfectly. We were able to share with my in laws and hang out after the kids went to bed. The pool was a little cooler than I would have liked but the kids didn't seem to mind. Checking in and out was very quick. The hotel is a little dated but clean. The only semi complaint I have was from the dining room. We waited several minutes to be seated and had to get someone from the coffee shop to help us. The food and service there was mediocre. My daughter's fresh fruit was not very fresh. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experiences at Holiday Inn Manitowoc. With 204 rooms, including a variety of suites, we are a great place for family gatherings. The hotel will be undergoing a full renovation this year as well, which will make for an even more enjoyable stay. Our apologies for your experience in the dining room; we'll certainly review our recent staffing and make sure that service and food quality are up to par. Thanks again for your patronage. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicollet, Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff at the Manitowoc is outstanding. They are friendly, patient an reasonable. Our group of 7 families which translated into 30 adults, adult children and children had a great experience for our 10th year in a row.

When we asked for something they were right there and friendly about it all. The rooms are nice a nice size, the water is hot and the towels are soft.

It does need new carpet and wallpaper. But that is in the works. Once done, it will be a lovely place. Right now it is still outstanding for its service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello - thanks for taking time to pass along your experiences at Holiday Inn Manitowoc. As you make mention of, our staff are a great group of people that really strive to please. The upcoming full- property renovation will ensure that the physical condition of the hotel is just as top-knotch. We look forward to hosting your gathering again - next time at the "all new and improved" Holiday Inn Manitowoc. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart In Texas But Body In Central Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visited this Holiday and was greeted by a lady by the name of Patti. Not even clocked in this lady was on her game. Very personalbe and caring is how she came across. Very customer focused. We asked for a fridge and microwave which were upon request. Patti informed us we would have one the next morning as we had a later afternoon check in. My wife went out for a quick dinner. Upon returning to our room...viola!!! Fridge and Micorwave were already there. Not thats service!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! We hope to see you again.
Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Traveled to Manitowoc on business and it was recommended by my client to stay at the Holiday Inn. I looked at the Trip Advisor reviews online and was skeptical about booking because of the poor reviews. It sounded like I would be staying in a musty, run down, dirty place. I am pleased to say that those reviews were inaccurate! The hotel was spotless clean, service at the front desk was excellent and most importantly my room was super clean. The decor in the hotel is very out of style/date, but as it is clearly stated in the front lobby and on other TA reviews, this hotel will be undergoing major renovations in 2013.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you make mention of, our overall upkeep is top-notch, and our staff is unfailingly professional and friendly. We hope to see you again, when you can take advantage of our upcoming renovation. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The bar has plenty of room and games to play. drinks and food are average. There is a large entry area, rooms overlook from private balconies. The rooms do need to be updated, i stayed in a larger room with a living room,bar and private bedroom. bed was nice, i cant wait to see the update. close to places to eat and plenty of parking

Room Tip: Request a room away from the ice machines, they are very loud. spend the extra cash to a large suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for commenting on our upcoming renovation. The entire hotel including guest rooms, public areas and meeting space will be completely redone by early 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back and showing off a great “NEW” Holiday Inn Manitowoc in the near future!
Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manitowoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manitowoc

Address: 4601 Calumet Ave, I-43 & Highway 151, Manitowoc, WI 54220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Manitowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manitowoc 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEWLY REMODELED Holiday Inn - Manitowoc. Having completed a full property renovation of all guest rooms and public areas, the hotel is located at I-43 and US 151 (Exit 149), one mile from the beautiful Lake Michigan shore line and approximately 30 minutes from Green Bay and Sheboygan. Holiday Inn - Manitowoc Facilities: 204 newly renovated guest rooms and suites with some rooms overlooking an impressive atrium (pets are welcome); business center; conference center with over 20,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, and banquet space; complete conference services staff; complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service; fine dining and relaxation in the hotel's full service dining room and lounge; Starbucks coffee & snack shop; off-site catering services; state-of-the-art fitness center; indoor pool and whirlpool.In-house laundry facilities. Close to Corporate Businesses: Aurora, Burger Boat Co., Dowco Inc., Federal Mogul Powertrain Systems, GKN Sinter Metals, Holy Family Memorial, Industrial Distribution Group, Kaysun Tool and Engineering Corp., Koenig & Vits, Krueger International Inc., Lakeside Foods, Lowe s, The Manitowoc Company, Manitowoc Crane Group, Manitowoc Food Service Group, Manitowoc Ice Inc., Northern Labs Inc., Parker Hannifin Corp., Red Arrow Products, and Weyerhaeuser Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Manitowoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manitowoc Hotel Manitowoc
Manitowoc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manitowoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.