We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And we will keep going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Lake Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndon Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Lake Campground
N1497 Southern Rd., Lyndon Station, WI 53944   |  
Hotel amenities
Streamwood, Illinois
1 review
“And we will keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed at Basslake for several years now, and can't wait to go back every year! It is a great campground! Very clean, owners are very nice and has a little bit of everything to make your stay enjoyable. As for the negative reviews regarding bugs.... Bring a mosquito net or stay indoors because bugs are all part of the camping experience. I would highly recommend this campground!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda, IL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first stay at Bass Lake, but we've camped in the Dells every summer for 7 or 8 years. This is a nice clean and quiet campsite with very close proximity tot he Dells, but far enough that you aren't in the hustle and bustle of it all. Water levels were low this summer, so sadly, we couldn't take advantage of any fishing or boating on their little lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconomowoc, wi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Ok, first off this was our 2nd stay at bass lake. We found the place through another couple who have stayed here numerous times. Its 5-6 miles outside of the dells and very affordable.

We have always stayed in one of the cabins as i am just not a tent kinda guy! the cabins very a little bit but most have 4 bunk beds and a fold out or bed of some kind. This is great value for $90 a night. Really where can you stay in the dells with a family for that price!!

The property features a small lake with a sandy beach and a bit larger lake. Both are decently stoked for fishing. there is great pool with a tiki bar. A great place for the kids to swim and place for the adults to have cocktail and relax. there is also a game room.

The owners are great and always around if there is an issue. You can tell they are working upgrading things as they go. There are new grills at each of the cabins, a new bed in each of the units, etc. The seem to really care about your expierence!

I strongly recommend this place- but please consider camping in a tent site, so i can still get a cabin when i want to go again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

In the last couple of years I have stayed at Bass Lake Campground three times. Twice in cabins, and once in one of their park models. Really a great value for the money. Bathrooms are always clean, showers too. Nice pool with a tiki hut bar right there. Nice big gameroom for the kids. The guys who run the place are friendly, helpful, and have always bent over backwards to help me. I have got to know some of the seasonal campers, at least by sight if not by name and all I can say is what a nice bunch of people. The place is a lot of fun and I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This campground should be renamed Bass Creek Campground. The tent sites are very small and on top of each other. You are 5 feet from the next tent and 5 feet from the next picnic table. The rules are not obeyed nor are the inforced. My wife and I stayed in one of their so called better cabins. The bed was a futon that had 2 inches of fome and was the worst and hardest thing I have ever tried to sleep on. We ended up going out and buying a blow up mattress and sleeping on the floor. The sink did not drain, the stove had 4 burners of which only two would turn on. The bathroom was only big enough for a small skinny person. The shower was nothing more than a hose the dribbled water, hot water for less than 5 minutes. The public showers were used by our tent campers and at any time of the day there was no hot water. Not just a little but no hot water! My brother said it would have been warmer to jump in the creek! I have never stayed at a worst campground. On the plus side, the window ac did work; the fridge did work, and the microwave did work. Other than these good things, this place sucked big time and we will never again come to this joke of a campsite!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great place to camp, been a seasonal for years. Was saddened to see a review about it being too buggy? Come on people its the great outdoors! Bring the bug spray and enjoy a great camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

The campground is very clean and well maintained. The only HUGE negative is the amount of insects flying everywhere and getting in our camper. You cant walk with your mouh open and theyre constantly buzzin in your ears!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bass Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Lake Campground

Also Known As:
Bass Lake Campground Hotel Lyndon Station
Bass Lake Campground Hotel
Bass Lake Campground Wisconsin/Lyndon Station
Address: N1497 Southern Rd., Lyndon Station, WI 53944
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lyndon Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Lyndon Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Lake Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bass Lake Campground to your Saves list