We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rebecca and bill westallis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crockett's Resort Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndon Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crockett's Resort Camping
Save Saved
You added Crockett's Resort Camping to your Saves list
N 2884 28th Ave., Lyndon Station, WI 53944   |  
Hotel amenities
WESTALLIS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“rebecca and bill westallis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been with crocketts since last fall beautiful place to camp clean campground seasonal site are reasonable priced trails to either ride golf cart on or take a nice walk are very well kept playgrounds are clean management are amazing people nancy and john are the most friendly and caring people you could ever meet they will go above and beyond to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. you wont be sorry at crockets u wont want to leave but you will want to return i promise you that just a little ryme ( crockets kingdom of the camp groung resorts )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WI
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sooo.... one unhappy camper's view can tarnish a destination and those who care for it.
I have to respond to the negative comments.
Ive been to many different campgrounds the past 26+ years and our family decided CROCKETTS was the place we wanted to come back to year after year, then weekend after weekend, we've been "seasonals" for alot of years. Crocketts is a wonderful place to Vacation, spend time with family and friends or just relax.
The Campground is just far enough away from the chaos of the "Dells". The 200 some acres, offers plenty of opportunities for hiking, walking, deer and bird watching and yes "riding the trails" on golf carts. The campground is located on the Wisconsin River and Lake Crockett (no motors) fishing is right out your backdoor.
The heated pool is dutifully taken care of by staff. As are the Showers and Restrooms. It's the people who use these areas and aren't respectful of others that cause problems or make these areas unkept. IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to pick up after yourself and your family!!!! (seems like some people get out in the woods and anything goes). At the expense of others.--Which is why there are RULES-
Rules are not meant to limit your fun, they are in place for reasons. If you break them, you will be asked to leave. FOLLOW the rules, its that simple! (then you won't have to write negative comments because of your perverse behavior)
The Campground in the past has had "management" issues -true. Not everyone has the expertise to take charge and is able to "run" such a large operation. The present Management has taken the Campground in a very positive direction in the past years on a Very stringent budget.
Various projects and improvements have been accomplished since their appointment.
I would Highly recommend this Campground. Its a little piece of Heaven on Earth. It is a Great place to stay!
However... If you want to party all night go to Edge O Dells. If you want all those scheduled and structured activitities go to Yogi Bear.
This is a Campground, camping is an Outdoor Experience!
Be respectful of your neighbor and nature, stay here, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family had a seasonal campsite at Crockett's Resort for many years. When we first came to the campground, we thought that we were at the bottom of a good thing since Ho-Chunk owns the campground. WRONG! We stayed with the campground thru all the management issues that the campground had. The current managers--John and Nancy--were seasonal campers that took over the management position. They have nothing better to do then to sit in the store or on the front porch and gossip and complain about other campers/seasonals and Ho-Chunk. They tell other seasonals who has paid their bills and who hasn't. It's no one else's business! I have always paid my bills on time and followed the rules of the campground so I don't care to hear this. Let's start thinking about why people avoid the store. I agree with the fact that John and Nancy will be your best friend when you first move in and from then on, it's down hill.

The cleanliness of the campground leaves little to be desired. The bathrooms are always a mess. You could go a whole weekend and never see John or Nancy stop in to check on them. The pool area is a disgrace. There are weeds coming thru the cracks in the concrete. The pool always has scum on the bottom and you never smell chlorine. The patio furniture looks like Culver's regects. Before managing the campground, John and Nancy always complained about the weeds around the "gate house" at the entrance of the campground. Since John and Nancy have managed the campground, the weeds around the gate house are just as overgrown as always. The canoes and paddle boats and old and nasty. I agree with the pot holes on the roads. Crockett's did not put in the new road up to the boat launch, nor did they put in the boat launch. The DNR did that. It is now a public road and a public boat launch. Don't be fooled. John has always complained about keeping up with the mowing. Plan your time accordingly and the mowing would not be such an issue. There is always garbage, cans, etc. on the sides of the road.

One person responded that there are plenty of activities if you care to participate. Yeah right!!! They have activities only on holiday weekends and it's always the same karaoke group--Brothers Rock. We learned to accept to come up with our own entertainment.

The electrical is outdated and old. You can't keep food in your freezers because the power goes out weekly. The funny thing is, that if we were up for the weekend, the power never went out unless there was a horrible storm. We could leave on a Sunday and come back on a Friday and our clocks would be blinking and there weren't any storms durning the week...Hmmmm??? This was almost on a weekly basis. Also, the cabins are disgusting! A little power washing would do them some good.

The only reason that we stayed so long is because of the size of the campground, the size of the sites and the golf cart trails.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyndon Station hotels

Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We are seasonal campers at Crocketts and LOVE IT! The roads and boat launch have been redone and they redid the bathrooms and are working on the main deck at the lodge.
Managment is WONDERFUL as long as you obey the rules and pay your bills. They work hard and are truly dedicated this campground considering they do not own it.
We plan on being seasonals for as long as this managment stays and the next management is just a friendly and keeps things undercontrol.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have been seasonals for 4 years now, and can't wait to move our trailer to a new campground. We have had nothing but problems with the management and we refuse to deal with ignorant people anymore. For 2 years we couldn't even get access to the boat launch and the parks were horrible for the kids. If you want to go to a campground where everyone in the whole campground knows all of your business, then go here. I would definitely not recommend this campground to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

the campsite is a buetiful secluded country setting, the people are nice, The only problem is the rules should apply for all not just a few here and there. The small lake is buetiful, the paddle boats, mini golf and canoe's are reasanably priced, it sits on the buetiful Wisconsin river.We can take our personal golf cart on the trails, and enjoy nature. The pool and bathrooms have been upgraded. The Sesonal campsites are vary personalized and spacious. Lots of weekend activities if you would like to attend. Camp store has plenty of minamal supplys. The staff is friendly but seems to become more impersonal as years go by. Your stay will be vary rewarding and you will have a good time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The parks are clean, well maintained and the grass is mowed. My kids really enjoy it here. The pool is clean, warm and AMAZING in the summer. My favorite part about this location is how you can grab your golf cart and go exploring on the vast trails and see REAL NATURE. Most camp grounds have people crammed in there so tight you cant fart without offending your neighbor, but here we were able to put in a deck for our trailer and we still have ample room for the campfire site and all the other dirt based fun. I'm a real Outdoors-man, but my wife is a city girl. This campground has things for BOTH archetypes. I get my trails, starlit nights and deer walking through the site, she gets her pool, convenience store, running water and electricity.

Its also immediately adjacent to State land which is good for hunting or, grabbing a sleeping bag, heading to the old Boy Scout Camp in the woods and roughing it for a night with my boy.

My ONE and SINGLE complaint:
They don't have any kind of severe weather shelter. Wisconsin has a lot of Tornadoes (Especially Lately) and every time a major storm rolls through I am worried about the family. They have the equipment to dig a few shelters and put in a siren. Heck, I would even help! I have worked in Disaster Management for YEARS and a simple earth dome shelter costs next to nothing to build. It would be serious peace of mind and would bring this rating to a 5. I LOVE Crocket's Resort!

Room Tip: If your'e a wimp, ask for one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crockett's Resort Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett's Resort Camping

Address: N 2884 28th Ave., Lyndon Station, WI 53944
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lyndon Station
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lyndon Station
Number of rooms: 560
Also Known As:
Crockett`s Resort Camping Hotel Lyndon Station
Crockett's Resort Camping Wisconsin/Lyndon Station

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crockett's Resort Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.