We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of good and some adjustment needed....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lot of good and some adjustment needed....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Althought at the beginning of the rainy season, we had to take the long way there, the shortcut being already not usable with a car. Pretty long way. Like the other said, just an amazing view! The staff were all so nice, althought I wish I would have seen more smiles...thumbs up to Randy from the beach restaurant who brought sand toys from his house for my son because the hotel didn't have any! Wonderful bar man at the bar not the beach. I also regretted that my kids could only use the pool down by the beach. It is so far from the rooms, at least a 10 minutes walk. We cannot leave them to get something in the room, so we have to plan for a whole day at the beach. That's not good. The room was absolutely beautiful. We had the 22 and the kids, number 18. Th first days we had no neighbours, but when they arrived, we could very easily ear all their night activities and their TV. Activities were very expensive. Too bad since we are kind of stuck there because of the distance. We golfed and the kids did the surfing lesson. The teacher was just ok. He refused to book a second course at the last minute the day after, saying he was to tired ( at 2 in the after noon!) I consider the food average. We stayed at the Marriott Los Suenos a couple day before and it was way better for the same price. The fruits weren't really good comparing to what we had before in Costa Rica. All the fish and seafood were way too cook. The shrimp almost seemed like frozen ones.The heat was unbearable in the gym and some machines didn't work properly.

But we have seen a lot of animals on the site ( more than a douzain in flying macaw) and the view!!! A couple of days were great, but enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Salut Pascale! Your thoughtful comments are much appreciated. I am glad that your stay was overall positive but regret that your experience fell short of our normal WOW factor. Thanks for underlining Hotel Punta Islita's gorgeous view and setting. It is one of the most spectacular in Costa Rica and its beauty is greatly due to the secluded location. Arrival options include a local flight, a private driver, or renting an SUV for full peace of mind. The best accommodation options for families are our 2-4 Bedroom Villas. These are very private, fully outfitted, and even feature a private plunge pool. It is regretful that your dining experience was not ideal. Our restaurant sources local and regional seafood from premium providers. I have relayed your comments to our Food & Beverage staff to help them make any necessary adjustments. I also thank you for your feedback on the Surf instructor. Lessons are provided by third-party professionals that must abide by our strict safety code that forbids over-scheduling. If an instructor is not feeling well or is tired, we ask that lessons be discontinued. The well-being of our guests is paramount.

I am thrilled that you were able to enjoy many wildlife sightings! Again, this is one of the stellar benefits of our secluded location. Thanks for exploring Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    114
    28
    20
    5
See reviews for
130
372
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I must first say that the road to this hotel was absolutely horrible!!! Scary, scary conditions and totally unexpected. Thank God we had rented 4 Wheel drive otherwise we would have been in deep trouble. However, once at the hotel, we were amazed at the view, the service, the food and the entire set up. Marvin was amazing in welcoming us and we were greeted with big smiles all the time. Beach was beautiful, pool was amazing, rooms were big and luxurious. We had a great time and appreciate the amazing service we got from everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Saludos Marjan and thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am thrilled that the warmth of our people, natural surroundings, and premium facilities provided a wonderful vacation in Costa Rica. Although 90% of the access roads are paved, the last 10% or so entails gravel roads that are susceptible to increased rainfall. We certainly recommend an SUV for full peace of mind. Our Reservations Staff will also provide the latest updates on road conditions, recommending the best route possible. Another fantastic option is to take a local flight via the Islita Airstrip (Code PBP). Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was the perfect end of our Costa Rican trip. This place has some enchantment to it that just made my wife and I relax, relax and relax even more. The atmosphere is excellent, you are staring at their private beach on the pacific ocean (I think this was therapeutic to me). I loved the music they were playing in the bar, which opened up to the most magnificent infinity pool. The food was excellent, definitely ate way too much and the drinks were fantastic. Local costa rican specialties as well as your favorites.

Best of all is the service, I can't rave enough how fantastic the service is. Upon arrival we were greeted at our car with some wet face towels to cool off and freshen up a bit. Then escorted to the restaurant where the bartender prepared us an awesome costa rican drink while we were checked in. Our bags were brought directly to our room, we were also given a free upgrade to a suite. The staff was constantly catering to all of our needs at all time and it didn't stop until we left. Very courteous, polite and helpful staff. There service went beyond even my highest expectation.

The rooms are fantastic, we got upgraded to a suite and had our own jacuzzi, view of the beach, king size bed, comfortable stay (air conditioning, fans, etc are in the room). You cant' go wrong with any of the rooms, but must say that the one we stayed at is exceptional.

I can go on and on about this hotel, definitely give it a try if you are going to Costa Rica. The drive is totally worth it! Last note, the restaurant had the most delicious food ever! Compliments to the chef, we even made it to dessert...even when there was no more room left in our stomachs.

Room Tip: Take the advice on the website, try to arrive during the day. It is a bit remote and driving on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hola Winston! Hotel Punta Islita is certainly off-the-beaten-path. The secluded location sets the perfect stage for relaxation and prompts the ideal state of mind to enjoy dreamlike ocean landscapes, fun eco-adventures, and authentic Costa Rica. Access may pose a bit of a challenge, but offers the best option for travelers who want to avoid crowds and a touristy vibe. I will gladly relay your kudos to our Chef! We recently revamped our menus and guest feedback has been fantastic. Thanks for adding your voice! Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wow! What a resort, if you can get one of the villas with a plunge pool I highly recommend it. The resort was beautiful. The food was great. The hospitality was unbelievable. We did not want to leave. Not just because the resort was amazing but be because the people were the friendliest of any resort we have been at. When we left we felt we were leaving friends. If you go there please say hi to some of our friends - Antonio, Tito, Miguel, and Johan.

Room Tip: The villa with the plunge pool is something you won't forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Warm greetings RG! Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. We are very proud to be part of Autograph Collection, a unique ensemble of independent luxury properties. Curated by Marriott, but autonomously managed, member hotels have achieved world-class standards while retaining the authentic character that makes them extraordinary. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has an exceptional view and equally exceptional staff. The room was quite small but overall we were comfortable. Loved the Red Macaw rescue center located nearby. There were lots of on-site activities, like surfing lessons, and ziplining right on the property which was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Bonnie –Thank you for underscoring Hotel Punta Islita’s exceptional view and exceptional staff. Our goal is to wow each and every guest with an amazing stay that best reflects Costa Rica’s charm, hospitality, and eco-wonders. Although your comments are undoubtedly positive, the overall score you assigned falls short of our goal. Please do let us know if there is anything we could have done better. We genuinely appreciate all suggestions and observations as the best way to ensure the superlative quality of our guests’ experience.
I look forward to your comments: outreach@grupoislita.com

Warmest regards and thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and for choosing Costa Rica as a family vacation spot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a family getaway that blew us all away. Marvin met us at our vehicle when we arrived and brought us to the restaurant bar for a much needed drink while our bags were taken to our villa. The level of service only got better from there. The staff of this resort are the most friendly we have ever encountered. They go beyound to ensure your every desire is met. The best we have experienced in our many worldly travels bar none. The grounds are well maintained. The open air restaurant superb. They went out of their way to accomadate our daughter who is a picky eater making her things off the menu. A special thanks to Marvin, Antonio and Tito, they are the best. Andrey who is the General Manager went out of his way when we had an AC problem in our villa. If you want an amazing vacation this is the place. We are planning on returning next year.

The Herndon family. Houston, Texas

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Saludos Herndon family! Wonderful to hear back from you. We are incredibly proud of our staff and their amazing ability to create welcoming spaces through a caring attitude and meticulous attention to detail. This singles out the Hotel Punta Islita experience as extraordinary. Looking forward to your return next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our recent stay was a perfect vacation from the first contact with the staff at Punta Islita. After finding the hotel on a travel website, the staff was helpful from the very start by offering a competitive rate and we booked directly through the property. This also allowed us to stay in our casita, which (as other reviews have noted) all have amazing views.
Our stay at the end of May was the beginning of rainy season, which seemed to keep some other travelers away, but this was actually quite a benefit. The hotel was even quieter and the rain only came in for about an hour in the late afternoon--perfect time for a drink or a nap.
The property is absolutely beautiful from every location, from the top of the hill to the beach, and we enjoyed all of the activities we did, including horseback riding and zip-lining. The hotel even set us up with a private boat for a half day to head out on the water to see dolphins, go swimming, and do a little bit of fishing.
Enough cannot be said about the staff of the hotel! Everyone was friendly and accommodating and provided top-notch service.
While the food was good, we did wish there were local options on the menu, but even here the restaurant staff offered some adjustments for more local fare. (That said, we highly recommend taking a night or two to eat at the restaurant in town.)
Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Pura Vida Matt! Thanks for embracing Costa Rica's Green Season and Hotel Punta Islita's uniquely relaxing, fun, and good-natured vibe. For travelers who wish to experience a low-key atmosphere and the unforgettable sight of the tropical forest in verdant bloom, the rolling showers can definitely add to the experience. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury boutique beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. It's award-winning planet-friendly, people-positive model offers a unique opportunity to fully engage in intense eco-adventures and authentic cultural experiences. The property features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted Private Villas. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.