We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service in a beautiful location. Why did we leave???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing service in a beautiful location. Why did we leave???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I would have to say that the Hotel Punta Islita is at the top of my list for best places to have stayed. The views are breathtaking but its the staff that really makes this place special. From the moment you arrive until the time you leave they go out of their way to assure that you have a fantastic time. Hector and Luis were exceptional as were Miguel and Antonio in the dining room and at the pool bars. The infinity pool overlooking the pacific is beautiful and the beach is a must do even though its a little rocky. Only down side is that the restaurant is a bit pricey and there's few options nearby. The Room service was a good alternate to a formal dinner as was the local restaurant in Islita. Despite the heat the golf was fun on the executive course - the cold towels at the turn and finish we're a nice touch. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Every room has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Gracias Chris! Thank you for selecting Hotel Punta Islita as your home-away-from-home in Costa Rica. I will happily relay your kudos to the many staff members you singled out. Their enthusiasm and friendship is extraordinary. I would love learn more about your experience and potential suggestions for our dining options. Please feel free to contact me at any time: outreach@grupoislita.com We certainly hope to see you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    89
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
97
309
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I mean. Ticos are great people and friendly already but this resort's employees bend over backward to be helpful and gracious. The food was very good, the infinity pool beautiful, the rooms and little garden patios with their own pool fabulous. The only proviso is that the beach is so so being rocky, but that in itself was pretty cool as we were able to check out the tidal pools and explore a bit.

One final note--the highlight of the trip in a way was seeing the Scarlet Macaws from the Ara Project fly around wild from our private garden patio. Hotel Punta Islita helps sponsor this project and I would like to thank them for that. It is certainly worthwhile for your hotel as well as seeing a flock of these birds every day was in itself worth the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Pura vida Jeff! As a tica, I am sincerely thankful for noting my country's friendship mantra! We are especially grateful for your acknowledgement of our partnership with The Ara Project to host a Scarlet Macaw recovery center. I wholeheartedly agree with you... seeing these amazing birds adding playful color to Islita's skies stays with you forever. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This may have been the best, or second best, place I have ever stayed. Let's see. The price was great; we stayed in the Colibri villa - 3 bedroom, 3 full bathrooms, a great common area and modern kitchen, and covered patio....wait for it...and, an infinity pool overlooking the bay. There was no reason to leave (there was also a separate house next to the villa for a fourth bedroom if one was inclined). Horseback riding, ziplining, a beach/pool, and a main pool. Breakfast was free and the burrito was ridiculous! Dinner was typical price and typical food, but good. Drinks were a little more expensive then one would want. But, you can get groceries before you get there or some very basic stuff in the tiny little village adjacent to the property (I suggest getting the golf cart...its fun). Also, they have a 9-hole golf course, morning walks, monkey hikes, and tons of other stuff.

The only caution is the "fishing" trip which really consists of you going on the water in a boat for 5 or 8 hours watching other people fish. It is not worth the price (which is insane) and if anyone gets sea sick or motion sick, it will kill you.

Besides that, best place. Better than Arenal's Hot Springs and Spa resort.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Warmest greetings Floyd! Costa Rica is truly magical and I sincerely thank you for selecting it as your adventure destination :) Making a savvy traveler's top best places list is a true honor! Thanks for your enthusiasm and for taking the time to share your impressions with fellow travelers. I would love to learn more about your fishing expedition. This adventure is managed by a third party and I would really appreciate further feedback to help them improve the experience. My email is: outreach@grupoislita.com Kindest regards to you and your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 4 days in arenal at tabacon and then traveled to punta islita for the remainder of a 10 day trip. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed this place, simple, serene, and the friendliest people we have ever met. The hotel is well off the beaten path but each seperate cottage is perched on a cliff over looking the ocean. The restaraunt is situated the same with the bar and infinity pool flowing off into the sunset. Everything here was amazing from the food, the quality of the lodging, the beach, the people, the prices, all of it. I would go back in a heartbeat to see the friends we made while we were here. Not a single, not one, complaint. Food and beverage prices were average to even low for a resort like this and everyone was there to make sure we had a great time. We watched a thunderstorm from our room in the wee hours of the morning in the dark and it was the scariest, and most romantic moment ever. We watched monkeys in the mango groves and children play soccor in the quanit neighborhood nearby. I can't reccomend this place enough, it's incredible and for the cost it will blow you away!

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 8 and had a personal jacuzzi as well as a hammock. Any lodging at this resort w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Saludos John and warm greetings from Costa Rica! Wowing our guests from arrival to departure is our heartfelt goal and I am delighted to learn that we fully succeeded. Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience. Hotel Punta Islita's setting, overlooking the secluded cove with a full sight of the open ocean horizon allows for spectacular natural fireworks. I have had the privilege to enjoy a thunderstorm spectacle and it is truly awe inspiring. Glad you fully enjoyed the show! Please do return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was one of our three Costa Rican stops on our honeymoon and it was magical. Each casita is perfectly private and the breakfast is delicious. The staff is incredibly friendly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks Emily! Your review means a lot too us. It was a true pleasure to have a chance to be your hosts during your special vacation. Thank you so much for choosing Costa Rica, the land of Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is just heart stoppingly gorgeous!!! I just stay here for two nights with my girl friend for a Kind of Hooneymoon :) ...The Welcome was very nice, the cold towel, whatever you wanna drink as a welcome drink, what a gesture! The Room was incredible, the jacuzzi right out of our door, what a detail !!
The cleanness of our room, the decoration, all the amenities are just great!!!
Then the restaurant, breakfast, sanacks and Dinner are just delicious!!
Special thanks to Marvin, Isel at the front desk, also to Arturo a specialist making cappuccinos , the best ever!...Luis Diego and Vinicio all nice guys!!
The staff really know what customer service is!!
I definitely will be back and Highly Recomend it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Muchas gracias for taking the time to share your experience with the global travel community! Your enthusiastic kudos to Isel, Marvin, Luis Diego, and Vinicio are much appreciated. They are quite remarkable as hosts. Warmest regards and many happy returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I have been to Mexico a lot (Cancun/Riviera Maya area & Los Cabos) and we always stay at the all-inclusive resorts there. We've always enjoyed our trips there, but this year we were looking for something a little different-- something a little more peaceful & quiet. So this year we decided we would finally go to Costa Rica. We looked around at different resorts & hotels here on TripAdvisor and decided we didn't want to go with an all-inclusive, large resort this time and Hotel Punta Islita had so many positive reviews so we decided on it. And I'm so glad that we did! All of the positive reviews are there for a reason! My husband called the hotel with some questions during the process of booking our stay, and right away, the staff was so helpful & informative. We stayed in one of the casitas [it has a garden terrace & private plunge pool] and it was gorgeous! We really enjoyed having our own plunge pool and the view was just beautiful. There were a couple of days where we stayed in the backyard of our room all day, just hanging out in the plunge pool and reading books in our hammock & on the terrace. It was just the kind of vacation we had been wanting. Most of our days were spent in similar relaxing fashion, but instead of just hanging out at our private pool, we would go to the pool by the main restaurant after breakfast and stay there for a couple of hours before walking down to the beach in the afternoon. Our first full day there, we decided to explore the beach, so we took a walk onto the rocky point that juts out into the ocean. It was an arduous little journey, especially in flip-flops, but it was so much fun! There were crabs and sea urchins by the dozens and a shallow cave and the ocean was crashing against the rocks-- absolutely breathtaking! After beach-time, most days we would head to the Borrancho Beach Club for lunch, but one day they just brought us lunch right at the beach. We sat at one of the tables under the trees that border the beach and had delicious pizza (Hawaiian & Supreme) and drank out of coconuts :-). At night, we would head back up to the main restaurant (1492) for dinner. I would say that the food at Punta Islita is well above average compared to most of the food that I've had at other resorts and hotels. We liked the fact that the ingredients were local and fresh. Aside from the food, the servers always went out of their way to create a perfect dining experience. They were always so attentive at every meal and always treated us like we were special. Really the staff at Punta Islita is a huge part of what made our whole trip here special: from Marvin, who helped us with check-in and then checked on us almost every day to make sure we had everything we needed and that we were having a great time, to the restaurant staff (Vinicio, Eduardo, Edgar, Randy, Miguel and Jose Diego) who always called us by name and treated us like we were part of their family, to just the staff that we would pass on the road or on the pathways who always said hello and gave a friendly smile.
Punta Islita was a more expensive trip for us than our trips to Mexico and Jamaica. Getting there is more expensive not only because of the flight, but because you also have to pay for transportation from the airport in Liberia to the hotel which is about a 2.5 hour drive. The excursions are pretty expensive too. It was going to be $1200 US if we wanted to go fishing for a day. We did decide to do the Monkey Quest tour, but it was only $49 US per person. It lasted for about 2.5 hours and we got to see three different groups of howler monkeys and it was also a great way to see some more of the countryside and the farms and villages. The meals were also fairly expensive. Breakfast is free though (aside from a tip for the servers, which is well-deserved!), and they do offer a meal plan that you can purchase when you book your stay or even after you get there if you feel that it would be more economical. We decided not to do the meal plan and we probably spent more on meals than one would have to. We always got appetizers and desserts and I usually had wine at dinner. And we usually got mixed drinks while sitting by the pool, which added to our expense, but you have to get someone to make you a watermelon mojito at least once while you're there. They are sooo delicious and refreshing and are currently my very favorite drink!
There are some things that I think would bother some people. You probably will get bugs in your room. There are these little 1-inch long caterpillars or centipedes that are all over the place and were constantly in our room. There were a couple of very small spiders, a gecko and a small scorpion that got into our room also at various times during the week. But you have to expect this to some degree any time you stay in a tropical place. It's inevitable and even though pesky at times, the wildlife here is part of the magic. On our walks around the property we saw a golden orb spider, geckos, iguanas, a praying mantis, large frogs, a vine snake and once an armadillo came out to visit the restaurant while we were having dinner. And speaking of walks, the stairs are endless! Just walking to dinner or the beach is a pretty good workout especially with the high temperatures and humidity. However, the hotel does offer free transportation to and from the beach and within the grounds if needed. Also, this is a very quiet, tranquil resort so you won't find an activity director at the pool or raucous drinking games going on at all hours at the pool and beach and given the secluded location, there is no nightlife to speak of, but that's not what we wanted this time anyway, so that was fine with us. It also seems to be a good place for families, so if you're there for strictly couple-time, you might be bothered by the presence of children. It didn't really bother us because the hotel wasn't very crowded so there were only 2 or 3 families with children in the first place and most of the time those families were down at the beach and at the pool that is by the beach. The pool that we went to each day is the one by the 1492 restaurant and it is for ages 16+. And if all else failed, we had our private plunge pool to retreat to.
For us, this trip was perfect and I'm so glad we picked Hotel Punta Islita for our stay. I highly recommend it and would love to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the casita for its privacy (although there is a window that looked into our bathroom from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Our heartfelt thanks for your thorough and thoughtful review. As experienced travelers, your input and comments are quite valuable! I am delighted to learn that you found about us through Trip Advisor and that the experiences shared by our former guests helped you make your decision. Costa Rica is an amazing travel destination and it is especially enjoyable if you are able to fully immerse in its happy mantra. Nature is intense, friendships are meaningful. We are quite proud to be able to showcase both. Thanks so much for your wonderful description of your stay. We always hope to provide our guests with a Perfect Paradise. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.