We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A taste of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We are just finished a four night stay in Hotel Punta Islita and I cannot recommend it highly enough!!

The rooms are unreal, we had our own private jacuzzi and hammock.. Completely spotless! The location is something out of a film set... brightly coloured macaws fly past the pool each evening and you can hear the howler monkeys In the distance as you sip on your cocktail at the pool!

The food is fantastic, my husband swears the pork is the best he has tasted..

But I think what makes the hotel so special are the staff! A special mention to Isel our concierge and Miguel the most amazing bar man and cocktail guru! The staff are so friendly and on hand to help with anything!

We were so sad to leave and already can't wait to come back!!

Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Saludos Lucey! Our sincere thanks for your fantastic review. Thank you for choosing Costa Rica as your across-the-Atlantic travel destination and for giving us a chance to be part of your experience. I have relayed your kudos to Isel and Miguel. They are indeed extraordinary examples of the heartfelt hospitality displayed by our team. I appreciate your enthusiastic praise for their warm professionalism. I am thrilled to learn that we succeeded in making you feel welcome and pampered. And thanks for noting the presence of the colorful Red Macaws that are again coloring our skies. As you probably learned during your stay, this bewitching sight has been made possible through our partnership with Ara Project, a program that seeks to recover the Macaw populations in Costa Rica. A little over a year into the program, we begin to see brightly-colored results!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    114
    28
    20
    5
See reviews for
130
372
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure I would change one thing. The staff is the most accommodating, & friendliest I have ever seen. The food and the drinks are so perfect to the location. The website and all the pictures don't do it justice. From the moment you're greeted by Marvin with a cold cloth, you will be transported to somewhere amazing. Miss it already and I haven't even left.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Robert, thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments about Hotel Punta Islita. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we certainly look forward to your return. Best wishes from your friends in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Let me begin by saying, it isn't easy to get to, and I have some suggestions for that to begin. First, do not rely upon a GPS unit for directions as it may take you over the mountain on a dirt road that would not be classified as a road in the U.S. (I did and regretted it). Go through Samara which is the best route. The little airport is 10 minutes away, and would be my first choice on my return to this charming hotel. The hotel is small, which adds to its success. The food is good, and the staff is as good as it gets (Miguel at the bar, and Luis at reception were outstanding). You are always greeted by a smile, and a sincere desire to assist and to please. There is an understated ambiance in the surroundings, with beautiful views, and much to do for such an isolated hotel.

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. They do it right, and it shows. I will return with pleasure. I would also note that there is another swimming pool by the ocean and beach, shaded by palm trees, and with it's own quietude.

Room Tip: A tip for the airport. Pay your exit tax at the hotel, and save yourself from a line at the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Ed, Thanks so much for your enthusiastic recommendation. I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and am glad that you arrived safely after your GPS adventure! GPS is a great tool but we strongly recommend double checking with our staff prior to driving for "human-driven" updates and advise regarding road conditions, access, and directions. :) The short flight from San Jose to the Islita airstrip is another wonderful option. Thanks for providing such useful information to the Trip Advisor community. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My new wife and I spent 4 days and nights at Punta Islita on the first leg of our honey moon in February. Let me just start by saying this place was amazing in every way. I almost got sick on the trip down but once we arrived that all went away. We used the hotels shuttle from liberia. It took about 2 and a half hours to get there our driver was great allowing us to stop several times for snacks and supplies, he even went so far as to shop with us making sure we understood the exchange rate and such.

Once we arrived on the property we were blown away by the scenery and amazing view. Upon arrival Marvin was our concierge he was great the whole time. Very professional and easy to deal with.

We had a suite with a plunge pool that adjoined to another of the same type of suite that was occupied but were not able to see or here our neighbors at all. The rooms are rustic and beautiful. The lobby Wi-fi worked perfectly the entire time, was able to catch hockey highlights every morning on the hammock while my wife read.

The Food was great for all three meals, I would recomend taking advantage of their "specialty" dinners by the beach. Three of our four nights there we were given special tables on our own for candlelight dinners by the beach. Twice there were "mariachi" type singers as well. Antonio was our waiter several times and he was great as well.

Though the beach is not electric blue white sand like many carribean destinations. We enjoyed it just as much. Some decent size waves that were surfable. It was very private and relaxing.
Drinks were great as well. Spa was also fantastic. Literally can not find one thing to complain about. The staff takes care of everything removing any worries or stress from the trip.We will definitely be back for an Anniversary trip most for sure...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Congratulations on your honeymoon and thank you so much for detailing your experience at Hotel Punta Islita. I am enthused to learn that you fully enjoyed our setting, including the secluded black-sanded beach with rugged mountain surroundings. Thanks for detailing your impressions of our wonderful Casa Spa, our hospitable staff, and cuisine. We hope to have a chance to be your hosts in the years to come. Many blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We only stayed one night in this amazing hotel and will definitely be back to stay a bit longer, it is a breath taking place on top of the mountain with a swim-up bar in the infinity pool. The bar tenders were extremely nice and made great mixed drinks.The rooms are very nice and very comfortable, the iguanas walk around like it is the most normal thing in the world and the birds add wonderful music to an otherwise very quiet place.

The service was top notch, people working there could not have been more helpful or nicer. The restaurant is situated nicely by the pool, the food was good but since I don't remember what we ate it was not memorable. My husband played golf and said it was nice, it is a small golf course.
The hotel owns a smaller beach restaurant down the mountain where we had lunch on the way out to Santa Teresa, we liked the food there better than the fancier restaurant from the night before.
All in all it was one of the nicest places we have stayed at.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Saludos! Thank you so much for your visit and for your wonderful comments about Hotel Punta Islita. Although your stay was quite brief, it certainly sounds like you were able to enjoy many experiences. Please do return very soon! Perhaps you could combine it with a stay at our sister property, El Silencio Lodge & Spa for a chance to experience Costa Rica's high altitude cloud forests as well. Many happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been to this resort 3 times now and each time is better than the last. Andrea, Antonio, Louis, Marvin and all the staff is amazing!! We stayed in a Villa, but the rooms are beautiful as well!! It is a great hide away spot, but well worth the effort to get there. Food was wonderful as always, and we all enjoyed spa treatments this trip(very relaxing)! They can arrange excursions for you, zip lining, bird viewing, surf lessons, kayaking trips, horseback riding, etc.. I have and do recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: If you can get a villa do so, but the rooms are as equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Saludos again Audrey and thank you so much for your continued friendship. Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. I will gladly relay your comments to Andrea, Antonio, Luis, and Mavin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Isolated, beautiful, top-notch service - what more do you want! We stayed here with our 8-year-old and 6-year-old girls for spring break. We flew into the "airport" staffed by one person and were promptly picked up and driven 10minutes or so up the mountain to the hotel. Easy, convenient. They did not have the room that we requested but we were immediately upgraded to an even larger room (actually a casita I believe). It was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated.

This hotel is located on a hill so your legs will get a workout. They have golf carts you can call to get you around if you need but you'll have to wait 5-10minutes once you call them. There is a swing set area for the kids to play but they'll be busy in the pool or the beach most of the time. Oh, and there's a nice adults-only pool up near the main building if you need some quiet time:)

Our private pool at our casita was wonderful! We could sit on the patio at the end of the day and watch our girls in the pool and relax. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need if you'll be cooking your own meals. The market is walking distance but, again, you can arrange transport if you need it. You can do a little tour of the whole town in about an hour if you go into each shop and the church and mull about for a bit. The local school was out for lunch when we were there and my girls enjoyed trying to speak Spanish with the local kids - very cute.

The hotel restaurants were wonderful and even my picky 6-year-old was happy! The staff remembers you from day to day and are great with the kids. The grounds are beautiful and full of wild life.

We did the zip-line tour. Its a five minute ride up to the top and then back and forth across the jungle for 30minutes or so working your way back down to the hotel. My kids LOVED it! We also did the howler monkey tour. You can hear these guys in the jungle throughout the day but especially at first light, but going to see them (another 5-15minute drive) was pretty cool.

I got a swedish massage from the spa and it was lovely.

Bottom line: This place is off the beaten path and it has amazing service. Totally worth every penny and every minute it took to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Saludos! And thank you so much for providing such a vivid description of your family experience at Hotel Punta Islita. I am especially pleased to learn that you had many opportunities to share authentic experiences with the Islita community. We certainly hope to be a special gateway to allow visitors to enjoy Costa Rica's authentic lifestyles and heartfelt hospitality. We hope you return to Costa Rica very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury boutique beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. It's award-winning planet-friendly, people-positive model offers a unique opportunity to fully engage in intense eco-adventures and authentic cultural experiences. The property features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted Private Villas. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.