We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Punta Islita
Reno
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Girls Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been to this resort 3 times now and each time is better than the last. Andrea, Antonio, Louis, Marvin and all the staff is amazing!! We stayed in a Villa, but the rooms are beautiful as well!! It is a great hide away spot, but well worth the effort to get there. Food was wonderful as always, and we all enjoyed spa treatments this trip(very relaxing)! They can arrange excursions for you, zip lining, bird viewing, surf lessons, kayaking trips, horseback riding, etc.. I have and do recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: If you can get a villa do so, but the rooms are as equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Saludos again Audrey and thank you so much for your continued friendship. Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. I will gladly relay your comments to Andrea, Antonio, Luis, and Mavin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    88
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
96
302
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Isolated, beautiful, top-notch service - what more do you want! We stayed here with our 8-year-old and 6-year-old girls for spring break. We flew into the "airport" staffed by one person and were promptly picked up and driven 10minutes or so up the mountain to the hotel. Easy, convenient. They did not have the room that we requested but we were immediately upgraded to an even larger room (actually a casita I believe). It was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated.

This hotel is located on a hill so your legs will get a workout. They have golf carts you can call to get you around if you need but you'll have to wait 5-10minutes once you call them. There is a swing set area for the kids to play but they'll be busy in the pool or the beach most of the time. Oh, and there's a nice adults-only pool up near the main building if you need some quiet time:)

Our private pool at our casita was wonderful! We could sit on the patio at the end of the day and watch our girls in the pool and relax. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need if you'll be cooking your own meals. The market is walking distance but, again, you can arrange transport if you need it. You can do a little tour of the whole town in about an hour if you go into each shop and the church and mull about for a bit. The local school was out for lunch when we were there and my girls enjoyed trying to speak Spanish with the local kids - very cute.

The hotel restaurants were wonderful and even my picky 6-year-old was happy! The staff remembers you from day to day and are great with the kids. The grounds are beautiful and full of wild life.

We did the zip-line tour. Its a five minute ride up to the top and then back and forth across the jungle for 30minutes or so working your way back down to the hotel. My kids LOVED it! We also did the howler monkey tour. You can hear these guys in the jungle throughout the day but especially at first light, but going to see them (another 5-15minute drive) was pretty cool.

I got a swedish massage from the spa and it was lovely.

Bottom line: This place is off the beaten path and it has amazing service. Totally worth every penny and every minute it took to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Saludos! And thank you so much for providing such a vivid description of your family experience at Hotel Punta Islita. I am especially pleased to learn that you had many opportunities to share authentic experiences with the Islita community. We certainly hope to be a special gateway to allow visitors to enjoy Costa Rica's authentic lifestyles and heartfelt hospitality. We hope you return to Costa Rica very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a beautiful and romantic getaway if you want to visit a more isolated beach in Costa Rica. The beach itself is not the prettiest of the country but the Hotel, their Villa's and the INCREDIBLE service have made this one of my favorite hotels in Costa Rica. There are so many activities to do from surfing lessons, Kayaking tour, horse back-riding, tour to go watch sunset and dolphins, visit to the Macaw nesting project, visit to the little town. But one of the most incredible experiences is the relaxing hydrating and exfoliating massage at the Spa. This hotel really made my experience great because the staff are always smiling and happy. They only have wonderful things to say about the Hotel and all the projects and growth that it has brought to the community. There are flights available from San José direct to the Punta Islita private runway if you don't want to drive 5 hours. They are incredible in catering to all needs include very specific food allergies and necessities! This hotel is great for energetic and healthy people. Although they do have accommodation for handicap or elderly it really isn't the type of hotel I would suggest for people with mobility problems.

Room Tip: We only saw the two bedroom Villas but we did notice that some of the smaller rooms were closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, General Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Saludos Alejandra and thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor community! Excited to read that you had a chance to enjoy so many memorable experiences at Hotel Punta Islita. Our staff is outstanding and I am especially thankful for your kudos to them. We strongly encourage our potential visitors to contact us to ensure that the assigned rooms are the best suited and best located for special need's access. It is also advisable to contact us prior to driving to obtain the best and most updated directions, scheduling tips, and weather conditions. I will gladly answer any questions at outreach@grupoislita.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

You think you'll never get there and you wonder what's on the other side of this 2 hour ride on a dirt road, but once you get there, wow. Tranquil, romantic and beautiful. We started with 6 nights and added 3 more - we just couldn't leave. Andrea, Marvin,Antonio and all the staff were amazing. The casitas with private plunge pool and view of the Pacific were also perfect. The spa was an oasis and the massages some of the best we've had. Visiting the Ara Macaw preservation project was inspiring. A small but well equipped gym. The only thing we'd ask for is a little more variety in the daily menu and, for the price, the deluxe room we moved into our last 3 days wasn't on the same level as other luxury hotels. The casita was worth every penny however. Love this place and hope to be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Jaclin, your comments are much appreciated! Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Hotel Punta Islita. I am especially thrilled that you had a chance to explore our Red Macaw protection, recovery, and preservation initiative in partnership with The Are Project. I have noted your comments about the menu variety. Thanks for letting us be your hosts for 9 wonderful days! Perhaps next time you could experience our sister property, El Silencio Lodge & Spa in Costa Rica's cool mountain cloud forests. The Suites are simply amazing! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a excellent stay, Exceptional lodging, friendly and proactive staff, and to top it off - theSpa! Sign up for the "Swedish" A+..... , Great beach area, take a nap in a hammock and listen to the waves.

Room Tip: Bungalow with the hot tub. We had #10. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Saludos and thank you so much for your wonderful description of the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We take relaxation very seriously and certainly aim to give our guests a remarkable vacation that breaks with daily stress. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from 5 days in Paradise. From the minute our car delivered us at the reception area until good-bye hugs for Andrey and Isel, it was a dream retirement gift. The staff was beyond description. Our casita for 2 with plunge pool was the perfect size--beautiful, comfortable and housekeeping kept it immaculate with the added bonus of fresh hibiscus blooms. Loved the "adults only" infinity pool beside the dining area with ocean views. Breakfast was local and delicious. Waiters and bar staff seemed to anticipate what you wanted before you could ask. Andrey is the perfect manager and concierge Isel could not have been more helpful--making sure everything we planned was perfect. We were treated as if we were their only guests. Nelson, our river kayak and birdwatching guide was very knowledgeable of all local wildlife. It's well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Any villa or casita would be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jary,

Thank you so much for choosing Costa Rica as a retirement celebration destination and thank you for selecting Hotel Punta Islita as your host. I am so happy to read about the many details that our staff showered you with to make the experience memorable. Andrey and Isel are delightful! Please enjoy your retirement to the fullest. Explore, share, and dream away. Warmest regards from your friends at Hotel Punta Islita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are looking for a true hideaway where you will be looked after from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave then this is the resort for you.

The only frustrating part of our adventure to Punta Islita was the road journey there; adamant that it wouldn’t be too arduous the journey was frustrated by a two and a half hour traffic tail back following an accident. Arriving some 7 hours after we set of from San Jose we were met by Marvin our concierge for the week.

It quickly came to our attention that there was nothing Marvin couldn’t do; getting used to on the spot attention takes a little getting used to, however once you do it is apparent just how marvelous Marvin can be.

Of course one man alone cannot run such an establishment, it takes a team. There was not one occasion where the level of service could be faulted; the waiting staff, bar staff, golf pro, surfing instructor and horse groom all excelled in ensuring service was their first priority.

As efficient as he was we thought long and hard as to who Marvin reminded us of, our thoughts were confirmed when, at the Punta Islita airstrip, he proclaimed, after a 20 minute delay, ‘the plane is here’; we may very well have been on Fantasy Island!

Room Tip: Go the extra and book a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Saludos from Costa Rica! Thrilled to learn that you had such an amazing time at Hotel Punta Islita and that you had a chance to enjoy so many experiences at our property. Our staff is an amazing team and I thank you for noting their professionalism and heartfelt hospitality. Many happy returns to Fantasy Island, tico style :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.