We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven at the end of a long dirt road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven at the end of a long dirt road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

You think you'll never get there and you wonder what's on the other side of this 2 hour ride on a dirt road, but once you get there, wow. Tranquil, romantic and beautiful. We started with 6 nights and added 3 more - we just couldn't leave. Andrea, Marvin,Antonio and all the staff were amazing. The casitas with private plunge pool and view of the Pacific were also perfect. The spa was an oasis and the massages some of the best we've had. Visiting the Ara Macaw preservation project was inspiring. A small but well equipped gym. The only thing we'd ask for is a little more variety in the daily menu and, for the price, the deluxe room we moved into our last 3 days wasn't on the same level as other luxury hotels. The casita was worth every penny however. Love this place and hope to be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Jaclin, your comments are much appreciated! Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Hotel Punta Islita. I am especially thrilled that you had a chance to explore our Red Macaw protection, recovery, and preservation initiative in partnership with The Are Project. I have noted your comments about the menu variety. Thanks for letting us be your hosts for 9 wonderful days! Perhaps next time you could experience our sister property, El Silencio Lodge & Spa in Costa Rica's cool mountain cloud forests. The Suites are simply amazing! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    91
    24
    19
    3
See reviews for
100
326
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a excellent stay, Exceptional lodging, friendly and proactive staff, and to top it off - theSpa! Sign up for the "Swedish" A+..... , Great beach area, take a nap in a hammock and listen to the waves.

Room Tip: Bungalow with the hot tub. We had #10. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Saludos and thank you so much for your wonderful description of the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We take relaxation very seriously and certainly aim to give our guests a remarkable vacation that breaks with daily stress. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from 5 days in Paradise. From the minute our car delivered us at the reception area until good-bye hugs for Andrey and Isel, it was a dream retirement gift. The staff was beyond description. Our casita for 2 with plunge pool was the perfect size--beautiful, comfortable and housekeeping kept it immaculate with the added bonus of fresh hibiscus blooms. Loved the "adults only" infinity pool beside the dining area with ocean views. Breakfast was local and delicious. Waiters and bar staff seemed to anticipate what you wanted before you could ask. Andrey is the perfect manager and concierge Isel could not have been more helpful--making sure everything we planned was perfect. We were treated as if we were their only guests. Nelson, our river kayak and birdwatching guide was very knowledgeable of all local wildlife. It's well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Any villa or casita would be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jary,

Thank you so much for choosing Costa Rica as a retirement celebration destination and thank you for selecting Hotel Punta Islita as your host. I am so happy to read about the many details that our staff showered you with to make the experience memorable. Andrey and Isel are delightful! Please enjoy your retirement to the fullest. Explore, share, and dream away. Warmest regards from your friends at Hotel Punta Islita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are looking for a true hideaway where you will be looked after from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave then this is the resort for you.

The only frustrating part of our adventure to Punta Islita was the road journey there; adamant that it wouldn’t be too arduous the journey was frustrated by a two and a half hour traffic tail back following an accident. Arriving some 7 hours after we set of from San Jose we were met by Marvin our concierge for the week.

It quickly came to our attention that there was nothing Marvin couldn’t do; getting used to on the spot attention takes a little getting used to, however once you do it is apparent just how marvelous Marvin can be.

Of course one man alone cannot run such an establishment, it takes a team. There was not one occasion where the level of service could be faulted; the waiting staff, bar staff, golf pro, surfing instructor and horse groom all excelled in ensuring service was their first priority.

As efficient as he was we thought long and hard as to who Marvin reminded us of, our thoughts were confirmed when, at the Punta Islita airstrip, he proclaimed, after a 20 minute delay, ‘the plane is here’; we may very well have been on Fantasy Island!

Room Tip: Go the extra and book a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Saludos from Costa Rica! Thrilled to learn that you had such an amazing time at Hotel Punta Islita and that you had a chance to enjoy so many experiences at our property. Our staff is an amazing team and I thank you for noting their professionalism and heartfelt hospitality. Many happy returns to Fantasy Island, tico style :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friendly, knowledgeable staff, incredible views and beautiful accommodations made our stay most enjoyable and a vacation we'll not soon forget. We took a flight in on Nature's Air from Pavas Airport near San Jose and was just a 40 minute flight. 'Golf 1' was the name of our Villa, right on the golf course and quite a short walk to the beach. It has 2 private pools, one shallow for paddling and cooling off and another smaller jacuzzi-like tub. Lots of comfortable seating outdoors, including a hammock. We rented a golf cart to get back and forth to the restaurants, into town and any where else on the lovely grounds we traveled. There's also a shuttle on stand-by that transports guests as well. Our room was incredible with a fully equipped kitchen, beautiful decor/ furniture and every attention to detail right down to the fluffy towels and comfortable beds. The activities offered by the hotel were varied and would keep a person as busy as they'd like to be. My husband and I are retired and still enjoyed zip-lining one morning, enjoyed making an art project in town and exploring the rest of the town on foot. We enjoyed our time so much that we asked the hotel to contact our travel agent and make arrangements for a day's extension. We both were pleased and impressed with the food selections in both restaurants. Truly something for every taste and served with a flare and creative touch. Dinner on the beach was very special and I'm glad we took advantage of that offer our last night at Hotel Punta Islita. We will miss the beautiful beach & wonderful staff. Would love to return to this lovely facility in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sheri,

Muchas gracias for your thorough and thoughtful review. Your detailed comments are sure to be helpful for anyone planning a visit and I thank you for taking the time to post. I am thrilled that you were able to engage in so many activities, especially the art making session with local community artists and the torch-lit beachside private dinner. Please return very, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is truly a 5 star establishment. Service, accomodations, and food were over the top and all this was in the most beautiful location nestled high up, over-looking the Pacific.
Attention was paid to every detail that would please a guest. Rooms were well maintained,(more than once a day) and lovely. Beach access was easy, either by van or down the paved steps. Lunch on the beach was very special. The beach has plenty of shade trees, so it is not necessary to get "baked." Tours were offered, but some of us just enjoyed the beach walking, photographing howlers, trip to village and reclining in our chaise reading a book, having done the routine touring previously. My husband and I are seniors and truly enjoyed all that the Punta Islita offered-we'll return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Puna Islita and for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and that we ay look forward to your return. You will always be welcome! Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City,USA/Epsom, Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Punta islita/El Silencio combo trip for my husband's birthday, but we loved Punta Islita so much we asked to stay! The location is stunning. I had been to Costa Rica before but it was my Scottish husband's first trip. We were wowed immediately by the beautiful lounge area adjacent to the pool bar, infinity pool and dining room, all of which overlook the ocean. Our room (unit 11) had a fantastic view of the ocean and a wonderful private, outdoor hot tub that we used at least twice a day. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very attentive the entire 6 nights of our stay, and if we had any issues they were immediately remedied and staff went out of the way to make amends--an example, the dinner table we reserved for my husband's birthday dinner was given away before we arrived; there was a lovely bowl of fresh fruit in our room an a letter of apology waiting for us. The staff were very concerned about how such a mistake could have happened. Dinner service was slow one night, and the waiter brought a selection of desserts on a tray for us to make up for it. We took advantage of the activities, and went horseback riding one day (another first for the husband) and it was a great ride--a real ride, not a sedate path. If you go, let the horse find it's own way over the rocks and ruts! They know the way. We went night ziplining--pretty sedate since it's pitch black darkness; best to go during the day. We were just there to chill out so the place was perfect for us. My husband played a few rounds of golf, I went to the spa--BEAUTIFUL--a couple of times and the services were fantastic. We lazed in the sun and shade at the beach, ordered drinks and snacks and napped in the warm breeze. The dinner options were very good--plenty of fresh seafood. At breakfast, you could ask for something not on the menu and they accommodated you if at all possible. I don't understand another reviewer's report about a car break-in at the beach--the place felt very safe the whole 7 days we were there. Plenty of staff and guests around. However, the beach area is public and if you don't lock your car in Costa Rica, well, that's what happens. The resort itself is very well staffed and safe. My husband had a memorable birthday and we would definitely return.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Connie: Thank you so much for letting us help you celebrate your husband’s birthday! Thrilled to learn that you enjoyed Hotel Punta Islita so much that you decided to stay for the entire vacation. I appreciate your thorough comments detailing the experiences you enjoyed. Costa Rica is a generally safe destination but, like every country, it is hardly immune to opportunistic, petty theft. I hope you do have a chance to return soon to Costa Rica to sample El Silencio Lodge & Spa for a relaxing wellness escape. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Splendia, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.