We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the Coast of Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Vancouver Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gem on the Coast of Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have visited Punta Islita several times over the past two years and have had first class experiences most of the time. In the past three weeks two groups of friends have stayed at the hotel and a number more staying in near by Carrillo have headed over for lunch by the beach. Our service has been excellent for a mixed crew including three small children and one infant. My wife and I are heading there to stay over the weekend and I will report back expecting the same level of service that we received in the past. We will also be having a spa experience and will be able to comment on that. Last February when we stayed, the service was great including some special touches such as setting our dinner table away from the main dining area to give us a bit more privacy. Compared to the prices one pays for similar experiences near Tamarindo, this hotel provides good value and supports the local community.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
The best compliment to a hotel are repeat visits so please let me thank you for choosing us repeatedly and for sharing your enthusiasm with the Trip Advisor community. Muchos saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    90
    24
    19
    3
See reviews for
100
323
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

On the bumpy ride from the airport to the resort, my family and I were worried if staying at Hotel Punta Islita would be worth it. From the minute we arrived, and were greeted with fresh cold towels, our stay was way more than we ever expected. There were 32 of us in all because on the 3rd day of our stay my sister was getting married. The whole trip the staff was incredible, especially Marvin who did whatever we asked- and more. He was unbelievable. Miguel, Andrea, Nelson, Antonio, and Briner were also wonderful and greeted each and every one of us by name. All were happy to help us. They contributed fully and helped my sister and her new husband have the best night of their lives. The rooms, villas, and views were absolutely breathtaking. It helped to be in a villa because then we got a golf cart which helped us (and others) get around the hotel campus. We also did many activities including; the zipline, horseback riding, and surfing and our guides were fun and so nice. Overall, our vacation was beyond words and we are all already talking about making a trip back.

Room Tip: Most of my family occupied the villas, and I stayed in Ilan Ilan which was absolutely wonderful. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was a true pleasure to be part of your sister’s wedding! The staff was quite excited about the event and I am thrilled to learn that their enthusiasm helped you and your family fully enjoy the event. We certainly hope to have a chance to be your hosts again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent 3 lovely days and nights in the quiet secluded hotel.
The service was excellent and so personalized. I particularly enjoyed the bartendress Andrea who was so pleasant and accomodating and made our stay so enjoyable. Our cabena was lovely and i loved the infinity pool and swim up bar. My husband enjoyed the golf and the beach and hotel beach area with another swimming pool was great. I loved my stay here.

Room Tip: spend a little extra and get the best accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Carol and Ira,
It was a true pleasure to have had a chance to be your hosts in Costa Rica. Thank you for choosing Hotel Punta Islita and thank you so much for sharing the highlights of your experience. Please do return soon… perhaps you could combine Hotel Punta Islita with its sister cloud forest property, El Silencio Lodge & Spa to experience more of Costa Rica’s amazing natural diversity. We will gladly put together a special package: outreach@grupoislita.com Muchos saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I just spent 5 days at Hotel Punta Islita and it exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and very service oriented, our casita with private pool and view of the ocean was spacious and upscale and the beachfront was something out of a movie. Highlights for us were birdwatching (we've never done this before but were astounded visiting the scarlett macaw rescue and rehabilitation center), kayaking through mangrove lined river onto a wildlife preserve and having our boat surrounded by sea turles on the return from a snorkling trip. Amazing! Special thanks to Nelson our guide and Callis the golf pro who made our trip fantastic. You can take your kids... but would recommend this more highly as a romantic get away spot. Food for breakfast and lunch was excellent, dinner was average... best meals were down the street at Kmbute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Muchas gracias for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. It is wonderful to learn that we succeeded in having your five day stay be full of exciting adventures. The turtle sighting from the boat must have been amazing. If you are on Facebook, please do find our page and share any images. ☺ I am especially thrilled that you had an opportunity to visit the macaw rescue center. We are honored to have partnered with Ara Project. The sight of these beautiful creatures once again traversing the skies of Islita is absolutely stunning. Thanks for noting it on your review. Warmest regards from Hotel Punta Islita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've just had very disturbing news from four friends who are visiting us here in Nosara, Costa Rica. On their way home from a two-day road trip to the south of the Nicoya Peninsula, they stopped at Punta Islita's beachside restaurant today for lunch. (We had taken one of them to the hotel restaurant two years ago and he was eager to share this lovely spot with the others though they decided to stay at beach level rather than go up the hill to the hotel this time.) They parked in the restaurant parking lot which was attended by a guard employed by the restaurant. Yet, when they came out from lunch they found that everything they had left in the car had been stolen. Thank heaven, they hadn't left anything of significant value except a new and lovely briefcase -- the thieves got only clothes, cosmetics and overnight bags along with this briefcase. They were told that the parking lot has a security camera in addition to the guard but that the camera showed nothing of this theft. We trust that the hotel management will investigate this strange-sounding occurrence further, though our friends are not feeling confident that this is being taken seriously at the restaurant.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, General Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
As I detail in the first response to this incident, we are actively investigating the facts. The safety of our hotel guests and restaurant patrons is of utmost importance. The parking area that you describe is part of the public road that connects Islita Beach to Carrillo Beach and is not actually part of the Hotel’s campus. Security staff prevents unauthorized access to our private gardens, pool area, and beachside restaurant. They will also intervene if any vehicle is unduly approached. These reasonable efforts have been successful in securing the public areas surrounding the Borrancho Beach Club and I can confidently tell you that this incident is extraordinarily unusual. Please ask your friends to write to me at: outreach@grupoislita.com

Their further input would be most helpful and much appreciated. Warm regards, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of the Honeymoon Package that Punta Islita & El Silencio offer together and every experience down to the littlest of details was amazing! These two properties provide a one/two punch of beautiful oceanside villas and relaxing spa villas in the cloud forest. We're in our mid 30's and were looking for a place to getaway, leave our laptops/cellphones behind, and completely be pampered for 7 days - this is the place. The staff are absolutely amazing and every guest, including ourselves, that we ran across commented on how out-of-way service oriented these properties are. Whatever you want to do while you're there - the answer was always "yes - let me arrange that for you". If you're looking for wild nights, dance clubs, rowdy partying with spring breakers, or screaming kids that this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a getaway to relax, decompress, enjoy nature, experience amazing food, and be pampered - do it here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are truly honored that you chose to enjoy Costa Rica and celebrate your honeymoon in both of our special destinations, Hotel Punta Islita and El Silencio Lodge & Spa. Combining both is truly a wonderful way to experience this amazing country. Seamless logistics, meticulous attention to detail, and heartfelt hospitality are the elements that make our combined Honeymoon special an outstanding option for special getaways. Thank you for letting us be part of such a meaningful occasion. Warmest wishes from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for the last two days/nights of a 9 day Costa Rica honeymoon trip. It was very nice to end the trip in the lap of luxury. We had one of the secluded 'honeymoon' suites (#27) and it was perfect.
Service was attentive, friendly, and they went above and beyond for a few special requests (especially Leonardo, who was great from check-in to check-out).
Food was the best we had in our time in Costa Rica. From the lunch sampler at the beach, to the main entrees in the restaurant at dinner, to the delicious breakfast, it was all great.
I wouldn't bring kids here, but there were kids there and they seemed to be having a great time. The rough road getting here (from Samara) was not too bad and it made this oasis of comfort all the more pleasantly surprising.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: #27 is a very private 'honeymoon' suite/bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Congratulations on your honeymoon and thank you for selecting Costa Rica as your trip-of-a-lifetime destination. Hotel Punta Islita is amazingly romantic and I am thrilled to learn that you fully enjoyed your stay, sampling delicious Costa Rican food and Costa Rica’s heartfelt hospitality. Many blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.