We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Breath taking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent 3 lovely days and nights in the quiet secluded hotel.
The service was excellent and so personalized. I particularly enjoyed the bartendress Andrea who was so pleasant and accomodating and made our stay so enjoyable. Our cabena was lovely and i loved the infinity pool and swim up bar. My husband enjoyed the golf and the beach and hotel beach area with another swimming pool was great. I loved my stay here.

Room Tip: spend a little extra and get the best accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Carol and Ira,
It was a true pleasure to have had a chance to be your hosts in Costa Rica. Thank you for choosing Hotel Punta Islita and thank you so much for sharing the highlights of your experience. Please do return soon… perhaps you could combine Hotel Punta Islita with its sister cloud forest property, El Silencio Lodge & Spa to experience more of Costa Rica’s amazing natural diversity. We will gladly put together a special package: outreach@grupoislita.com Muchos saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    90
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
97
311
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I just spent 5 days at Hotel Punta Islita and it exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and very service oriented, our casita with private pool and view of the ocean was spacious and upscale and the beachfront was something out of a movie. Highlights for us were birdwatching (we've never done this before but were astounded visiting the scarlett macaw rescue and rehabilitation center), kayaking through mangrove lined river onto a wildlife preserve and having our boat surrounded by sea turles on the return from a snorkling trip. Amazing! Special thanks to Nelson our guide and Callis the golf pro who made our trip fantastic. You can take your kids... but would recommend this more highly as a romantic get away spot. Food for breakfast and lunch was excellent, dinner was average... best meals were down the street at Kmbute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Muchas gracias for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. It is wonderful to learn that we succeeded in having your five day stay be full of exciting adventures. The turtle sighting from the boat must have been amazing. If you are on Facebook, please do find our page and share any images. ☺ I am especially thrilled that you had an opportunity to visit the macaw rescue center. We are honored to have partnered with Ara Project. The sight of these beautiful creatures once again traversing the skies of Islita is absolutely stunning. Thanks for noting it on your review. Warmest regards from Hotel Punta Islita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've just had very disturbing news from four friends who are visiting us here in Nosara, Costa Rica. On their way home from a two-day road trip to the south of the Nicoya Peninsula, they stopped at Punta Islita's beachside restaurant today for lunch. (We had taken one of them to the hotel restaurant two years ago and he was eager to share this lovely spot with the others though they decided to stay at beach level rather than go up the hill to the hotel this time.) They parked in the restaurant parking lot which was attended by a guard employed by the restaurant. Yet, when they came out from lunch they found that everything they had left in the car had been stolen. Thank heaven, they hadn't left anything of significant value except a new and lovely briefcase -- the thieves got only clothes, cosmetics and overnight bags along with this briefcase. They were told that the parking lot has a security camera in addition to the guard but that the camera showed nothing of this theft. We trust that the hotel management will investigate this strange-sounding occurrence further, though our friends are not feeling confident that this is being taken seriously at the restaurant.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, General Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
As I detail in the first response to this incident, we are actively investigating the facts. The safety of our hotel guests and restaurant patrons is of utmost importance. The parking area that you describe is part of the public road that connects Islita Beach to Carrillo Beach and is not actually part of the Hotel’s campus. Security staff prevents unauthorized access to our private gardens, pool area, and beachside restaurant. They will also intervene if any vehicle is unduly approached. These reasonable efforts have been successful in securing the public areas surrounding the Borrancho Beach Club and I can confidently tell you that this incident is extraordinarily unusual. Please ask your friends to write to me at: outreach@grupoislita.com

Their further input would be most helpful and much appreciated. Warm regards, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of the Honeymoon Package that Punta Islita & El Silencio offer together and every experience down to the littlest of details was amazing! These two properties provide a one/two punch of beautiful oceanside villas and relaxing spa villas in the cloud forest. We're in our mid 30's and were looking for a place to getaway, leave our laptops/cellphones behind, and completely be pampered for 7 days - this is the place. The staff are absolutely amazing and every guest, including ourselves, that we ran across commented on how out-of-way service oriented these properties are. Whatever you want to do while you're there - the answer was always "yes - let me arrange that for you". If you're looking for wild nights, dance clubs, rowdy partying with spring breakers, or screaming kids that this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a getaway to relax, decompress, enjoy nature, experience amazing food, and be pampered - do it here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are truly honored that you chose to enjoy Costa Rica and celebrate your honeymoon in both of our special destinations, Hotel Punta Islita and El Silencio Lodge & Spa. Combining both is truly a wonderful way to experience this amazing country. Seamless logistics, meticulous attention to detail, and heartfelt hospitality are the elements that make our combined Honeymoon special an outstanding option for special getaways. Thank you for letting us be part of such a meaningful occasion. Warmest wishes from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for the last two days/nights of a 9 day Costa Rica honeymoon trip. It was very nice to end the trip in the lap of luxury. We had one of the secluded 'honeymoon' suites (#27) and it was perfect.
Service was attentive, friendly, and they went above and beyond for a few special requests (especially Leonardo, who was great from check-in to check-out).
Food was the best we had in our time in Costa Rica. From the lunch sampler at the beach, to the main entrees in the restaurant at dinner, to the delicious breakfast, it was all great.
I wouldn't bring kids here, but there were kids there and they seemed to be having a great time. The rough road getting here (from Samara) was not too bad and it made this oasis of comfort all the more pleasantly surprising.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: #27 is a very private 'honeymoon' suite/bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Congratulations on your honeymoon and thank you for selecting Costa Rica as your trip-of-a-lifetime destination. Hotel Punta Islita is amazingly romantic and I am thrilled to learn that you fully enjoyed your stay, sampling delicious Costa Rican food and Costa Rica’s heartfelt hospitality. Many blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Rooms are just OK, but the infinity pool rocks! Loved that the infinity pool was for adults (kids pool located by the beach). Shuttle available to the beach. Food was superb. Service spectacular! Hammock outside the room was a plus for relaxing in the morning. Yes, some of the rooms don't have awesome views, but I spent little time in the room anyways. Watch out for stars, Michael Douglas and Catherine Zeta-Jones were apparently there the week before our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for describing Hotel Punta Islita as “heavenly”. I happen to wholeheartedly agree. All of our Deluxe Rooms, Suites, Casitas, and most of our Private Villas are interspersed in a tiered hill-based layout that affords broad views of the stunning beach cove and surrounding forest. Golf Villas are located in the ocean-level tier and enjoy views of the golf course and mango orchard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is not for anyone who doesn't have adult children. There is a beautiful adult only pool next to the restaurant but b/c we have younger children we were forced to go to the pool by the beach which u need to drive to. We had a 2 bdrm casita and the beds r hard as rocks. Also no dressers to unpack ur clothing so all of our bags r left on the floor. Within an hour of our arrival I killed 2 huge black spiders in our room. The last night of taking a cold shower (no hot water) i stepped out of the shower to find a hairy black & purple furry spider the size of a tarantula. Most of the staff only speak Spanish and the lady making omelets in the am has a horrible attitude! Very disappointed for what we paid for this place. Also very remote and the roads are not paved within 20 miles so expect a bumpy dusty ride! Will never go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Greetings and thank you so much for providing feedback about your experience. Our goal is to provide memorable vacations that provide authentic cultural immersion with first-rate comfort. We are consistently successful at attaining this goal and when we fall short, certainly appreciate the chance to improve our services. I have communicated your comments about our two-bedroom Casita. Best efforts are made to keep tropical critters out of lodging units but sometimes the surrounding tropical forest takes the upper hand. It is just teeming with life. That said, I am sincerely sorry that you encountered spiders. All of our accommodations feature either closets or closets and dressers. Just for accuracy, the unpaved road portion when accessing Hotel Punta Islit through Camaronal is about 8 miles. We also feature a nearby airstrip (15 minutes away) that receives local flights from San Jose. Our sustainability model emphasizes local employment to ensure cultural authenticity and economic opportunity for our neighbors. This sometimes entails less than perfect English, but most of our staff is able to communicate without a problem and with a big smile. Thank you so much for your comments! Thrilled to learn that you fully enjoyed our spectacular views. If you would like to provide more feedback, please write to me at: outreach@grupoislita.com Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.