We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish it was better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Coming from the sister property in El Silencio, we were in for quite a shock at the difference in temperature and unfortunately service at Punta Islita. Let's talk about the good stuff first.

Andrea and Luis are superstars, they worked the upstairs restaurant. Service at 1492 was excellent overall. The view and infinity pool is breath taking. I would highly recommend the zip line activity, it was crazy fun and the instructors were great (Nelson, Bialys and I forget the other guy's name -- sorry!) Loved that our room had a little yard, hammock and a gorgeous view.

Points off that our concierge who greeted us disappeared our entire stay. On our first night we had the special lobster dinner near the beach and while it was a gorgeous setting, it was very disappointing. My bisque arrived luke warm and salty, we were never offered anything other than water and the quality of our dishes was "eh." We also waited 20 minutes for our bill, which we gave up on and the waiter met us as we were heading back up to the hotel. The servers were very nice, just very absent. I understand the hotel was full, but I don't accept that as an excuse from the manager who's speech after the fact was ineffective. That said we did go back for the BBQ by the beach and since it was a buffet, it was a better experience.

While I liked our room, the air conditioning was not great and thus hard to be comfortable. I'd also recommend that they install black out curtains. Sleeping in was not an option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Saludos again Rose! I just read your glowing review of our sister cloud forest property, El Silencio Lodge & Spa. Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is a true honor to have visitors selecting our two properties and we thank you for giving us a chance to offer you a complete Costa Rica experience.

I thank you for your candid praise of Hotel Punta Islita's view, amazing infinity pool overlooking Islita cove, thrilling canopy zip line adventure, and the little garden and hammock that you enjoyed in your room. I also thank you for giving us specific feedback about the not so stellar aspects of your stay. I have relayed your comments to our Manager and onsite staff. Thank you for helping us guide our efforts. Warmest regards and best wishes for a wonderful 2013 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    89
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
97
309
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas.
We had the lowest price room, which was still lovely, with hammock, private patio and big double bed.
we ate every night in the hotel restaurant near reception. Make sure you reserve a table, on the other side of the pool for dinner. The food was tasty and the waiters and bar staff were very friendly, chatty and professional. Great service.
We spent a lot of time in the infinity pool, although there is another pool down by the beach and beach club.
We drove to the hotel from La Fortuna. The roads are definitely bumpy and we definitely recommend a 4by4.
great relaxing time. we used the spa for a Swedish massage. Professional service but not a very big area for relaxing afterwards.

Room Tip: spend up if you can, to get a mini pool in your garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Saludos Val! Thank you so much for choosing to spend your Christmas with us. I hope you had a chance to visit our neighbor town of Islita during this time. It is a wonderful Costa Rican community where many of the season's traditions are on full, colorful display.

Your observations and comments are insightful and will certainly help the Trip Advisor community. I hope you enjoyed the drive from La Fortuna. It can be an amazing way to sample many Costa Rican landscapes, little towns, and rustic restaurants. An SUV is definitely recommended!

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with our staff, our facilities, and our Spa. I will ask if it would be possible to add more lounging chairs near the whirlpools to have a chance to fully unwind after treatment. Thanks for the suggestion! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed two days at PI. Rooms ok, but quite worn out. Don't take room close to reception, motel-like athmosphere. We had no problem to get another one. Welcoming and reception was strange, more like immigration. Restaurant staff exremly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Warm greetings from Costa Rica Tom! Our sincere thanks for having visited our beautiful country and for selecting Hotel Punta Islita as one of your destinations. I genuinely appreciate your comments. It is our goal to fully dazzle our guests and if we fall short, we certainly want to learn from the experience. I kindly ask you to provide more details to better understand your room experience and the check-in process. My email is outreach@grupoislita.com. We just completed major renovations and we certainly want to ensure that all of our facilities shine. Thank you much for singling out our restaurant staff's excellent service and friendliness. Warmest regards and best wishes for a fantastic 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at punta islita! The staff is amazing, from the moment we arrived to our departure, they all took great care of us ! We could feel that guest satisfaction is the number 1 priority! We were on honeymoon and we had many attentions. It was perfect! Thank you everyone and Marvin especially who was amazing ! This hotel is outstanding and we will stay there again if we come back to Costa Rica !
Victor and Blanche Bellier

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Saludos Victor & Blanche! On behalf of our staff, thank you so much for choosing Hotel Punta Islita and Costa Rica as your special honeymoon destination. We were delighted to help you celebrate and certainly hope that the memories of our special corner of the world linger. We wish upon you a lifetime of blessings and love. Warmest regards and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

PI is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we travel a lot (once or twice a month). We chose PI because it was one of the options on our Presidential Plus cards.

We stayed in Guanacaste, a three bedroom villa that was in the middle of the property. It's location allowed us to walk everywhere which was really convenient. We went mangrove kayaking, zip-lining, hiking, visited the spa a couple of times and played golf everyday. The par 3, nine hole golf course was an excellent way to get our exercise in for the day since there are no golf carts. We ate the Costa Rican BBQ friday night which was good but the price was a little high ($50/pp) compared to the rest of their food prices. We will order off the regular menu next time. All their fruity tropical drinks were excellent and the bartenders were so sweet. We could talk to them all day long :o)

Service is amazing, seriously all you have to do is pick up the phone and they will help you with whatever you need. Another reason why we love PI so much is because they support their local community and are sustainable. Costa Rican's really are so hospitable. We felt very safe during our stay.

We took the three hour shuttle from Liberia but plan on flying form San Jose next time. The roads are similar to hatch-backs and get very bumpy the last half hour.

We chose PI for our wedding because we love the set up of the hotel. Our guests (75-100 people) will be able to share villas, cutting the cost pp/night. Villas have full kitchens and the hotel will stock it for you if you send them a grocery list. Grocery list prices are a little high but it is a great alternative to eating at the restaurant every night. We look forward to villa-hoping at night ;o)

The views are absolutely amazing. Every room, casita, and villa have the same view - you really can't go wrong. We wish we could have stayed longer...

See you again in November!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Your review is truly special. Thank you so much for sharing your heartfelt opinion of Hotel Punta Islita, its wonderful staff, and amazing local communities. We are deeply honored to have had a chance to host you and your family and are quite thrilled that you are choosing to return for such a special occasion. Congratulations y mucha Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for the first three nights of our honeymoon. Beautiful property, nice rooms, and romantic isolated location. Highly recommended, and if the hotel wasn't under construction likely would have garnered a 5 star rating.

The casita was decorated with local Costa Rican flair - much of it available for purchase at the local village - which was a nice touch. The room was clean, however, there were numerous spiders in the room -- likely can't be helped given the location but worth mentioning if you are squeamish like my wife. The property was gorgeous, the food good albeit expensive (try the fish burrito!), and the drinks were well-made. The service was very gracious and the staff truly went out of the way to be accommodating, especially considering the hotel was under construction at the time -- the infinity pool and main restaurant were closed during our stay, which meant that we had a long walk to breakfast each morning (the alternative is to call a shuttle, which they are happy to bring but it can be a long wait at times). But they did upgrade us to a casita with its own private pool and allowed us to get room service free of extra charge.

Further, the local restaurant is good and cheaper than the food at the hotel. It's the only choice besides eating at the hotel restaurants, which can get monotonous at times. The spa is excellent, and we got great service and fantastic couples massages for an affordable price. The only drawback of the spa is that the jacuzzis were not hot, but instead lukewarm which was very disappointed after a massage. Also, we did the kayaking tour, which provides a wonderful tour of the nearby mangrove forest, river, and beaches.

A word of warning: the drive in is very steep and difficult. We did it at night, and would advise doing it only during the daylight for safety reasons. Along the same lines, if you are walking around the hotel property at night, be sure to bring a flashlight (located in the closets) or you may find yourself enveloped in darkness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am glad that your overall stay was enjoyable. I certainly wish it hadn’t coincided with our temporary pool and restaurant closing. I am delighted to share that all refurbishments have been completed and Hotel Punta Islita looks more gorgeous than ever! Glad to learn that the staff was able to compensate for the inconvenience through an upgrade and extra pampering. I will relay your comments to our restaurant staff. We fully agree with your advice regarding nighttime arrivals. Hotel Punta Islita is an off-the-beaten path, non-touristy destination and the access roads are not suited for evening driving. We strongly recommend arriving by 5pm at the very latest. Hope this is helpful! Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just came home from a 3 night stay here for my friends 30th Birthday! Let me just say that aside from the obvious gorgeous views, the service here is absolutely amazing! Everyone goes out of their way to make sure your stay is excellent.
First - This property is remote and takes quite a bit of a windy, unpaved road to get there, if you are driving. We flew into San Jose and drove (5 hours)... The last two hours is pretty rough... if you have car sick troubles, look into taking a puddle jumper plane to the local airport... ask the hotel for help... Hector investigated getting a plane back to San Jose and its about $150/ person. But it could be worth it for the time savings. Or, if you enjoy seeing raw country side... you'll enjoy it, just build that in to your plans!
When we arrived, we were very late in the evening (because it took us so long) and they greeted us with fresh cool towels. We were hungry so we went right to the restaurant...I'll get to my review of the food later... and again, the service was excellent.
After dinner we were both escorted to our rooms... we were in 8, had a warm whirlpool, two lounge chairs and a hammock. Very private and charming. Room was spacious and charming.
Our friends were taken to a different room on a different part of the property.
The next day, after breakfast, we were approached by Luis who offered to move us to the casita next to our friends, stating that they didn't realize we were traveling together... So, we looked at the room, which had a better view and a cool plunge pool (only difference, really)... still had a king 4 poster bed, hammock, yard & lounge chairs... They moved our things for us, too!
Both nights we retreated to our Casita, and curled up in the Hammock and fell asleep looking at the stars... which were amazing...
Luis, Eric, Miguel, Hector and Andrea are just a few of the names I remember who assisted us in making our trip fantastic.
There is plenty of wildlife, lizards, birds, racoons, skunks and more and it is fun to see it all around.
There is another pool, restaurant and bar down at the beach and again, service is impeccable. All the bar drinks were great! a bit pricey but great!
So, the food is why I didn't give this 5 stars. Honestly, the food was a bit lack luster. Expensive and it was just OK.
Standard breakfast, standard lunch, and dinners - well, again, expensive and just OK. The upper restaurant's ambiance was fantastic and i enjoyed it very much. There is a restaurant about 3 min away... they will tell you the name.. begins with a K - which was STELLAR! I'd go there again in a heartbeat.
All in all, I really enjoyed our stay, and I'd definitely go again, but I'd take a plane, and eat at the other restaurant and I'd be interested in checking out the town. Hotel Punta Islita is a beautiful place to just relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here... We stayed in both 8 and 203...The honeymoon suites com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It was a true pleasure to be your hosts in Costa Rica and we are quite grateful for your valuable and thorough feedback. Sharing your comments with our staff and management is the best way to encourage our strengths and address our shortcomings. Thrilled to learn that you enjoyed Cambute’s Restaurant. It is owned and ran by a local entrepreneur and offers a wonderful way to experience our neighboring communities and directly benefits the local economy. We are very proud of Cambute! Sleeping while cocooned in a hammock while stargazing is one of life’s little wonderful experiences. So glad you enjoyed it so much. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;