We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, make your own plans!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Boca Raton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, make your own plans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We did not plan to stay here and fell upon it when our first choice fell through. The rooms were nice and clean, I enjoyed the splash pool in the evenings. Beach is close and there is a place to eat and umbrellas/chairs are provided. Food was not up to par but we like to explore and found some neat places in the area. Staff is not overly anxious to help you get off grounds, (which you need to do here, do not go if you are accustomed to US or European 5 Star resorts) and a few times it felt as if we were bothering them. Golf course was in poor shape, don't bother to haul your clubs here. But the views are amazing and the property/gardens are gorgeous, so for these alone we had an enjoyable stay. We commented on the plane home that this is a perfect place for honeymooners from a city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I have read your comments with concern and surprise and have discussed them with our management and staff. Our on-site team is composed of mostly local men and women who are delighted to showcase Costa Rica’s authentic hospitality and friendly character. Your described experience is uncharacteristic and I sincerely apologize for any shortcomings. If you would like to provide more details, I would greatly appreciate it. I cordially invite you to contact me at: outreach@grupoislita.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    91
    24
    19
    3
See reviews for
100
326
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and i came here recently on our honeymoon. It was the perfect place and we had a great time. I had booked a regular room but we received an email prior to arrival that due to construction on the property we would receive a free upgrade or had the option to cancel with no penalty. We decided to keep the reservation and we're really glad we did. Upon arrival we were met with cold towels and offered a tour of the property. Our room wasn't ready yet (we did arrive early and didn't let them know of our early arrival) so we were brought to the poolside bar to check in and given complimentary welcome drinks. We were driven up to our room which ended up being a private 2 bedroom/3 bathroom villa with it's own small pool and an ocean view. It was an amazing setting. The construction closed the upper pool and restaurant but we never even missed it- between our own pool and the pool by the beach and the ocean there were plenty of options. We spent the net 4 days relaxing in our pool or on the beach and doing different activities- spa, horseback riding, sea turtles, etc. The restaurant on the property serves a complimentary breakfast which we enjoyed every day. We walked in to town and bought a few things to eat for lunch and we went to the restaurant in town every night for dinner, which was great. the restaurant on site is pretty expensive and we ate there once, but really didn't need a fancy dinner every night. overall we really enjoyed our stay and this was by far the most relaxing part of our vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am delighted that you chose to keep your reservation despite the finishing touches on our latest remodeling and sprucing up project. Thank you for acknowledging your room upgrade to a Villa. I am thrilled to learn that your experience at the Villa compensated for the temporary upper pool and restaurant closing. I would also like to thank you for your kudos to our complimentary breakfast options: traditional Costa Rican (rice and beans, eggs, fresh corn tortillas, cheese, and ripe plantain), continental, or granola & cereal. Thrilled to read that you enjoyed visiting Islita, our neighboring community. It is a charming, colorful little town and offers a chance to experience Costa Rica at its most authentic. I hope you have a chance to return in the very near future. The renovations are ready, all facilities are open, and Hotel Punta Islita looks better than ever! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here recently for a few days. We were very disappointed with our overall experience compared to the way that this property is marketed based on much of our research. We travel a lot and researched this place extensively, so we were very excited to go. During our stay, we tried very hard not to nit-pick, but we kept finding ourselves continuously disappointed by various things (outlined below). Overall, this is one of the few properties that we have ever visited where we don't wish to return.

To start with the positives, the property itself is gorgeous! The views are some of the best in Costa Rica and the property is very well maintained. The property is quite large, so there is a lot of room for exploring and it never felt too crowded. The rooms were also well maintained and everything was in working order. The property really does look like the pictures on the websites and brochures.

To move to the negatives: we were welcomed by our eco-concierge, but it was very half-heartedly. He seemed more annoyed than happy. We were quickly ushered to our room and did not receive any written information about pool/restaurant/etc hours and we were not given a tour of the property or introduced to any of the ammenities. Our room was nice, but we did not have hot water for the entire length of our stay (which made showering quite unpleasant). The bedding was only standard--I've had better at a Hampton Inn. The beach pool was also dirty with lots of bugs and the pool in our room also was not cleaned as there was a lot of film on the walls and filter area. The food was downright horrible. The included breakfast options were limited and if you cannot/don't want to eat eggs, you're doomed to cereal and warm milk every day unless you pay for an "upgraded" meal. Lunch was decent though, but dinner was absolutely disgusting and we avoided eating dinner as much as possible. There were a lot of activities available, but none of them ever started on time. I understand the laid back culture of Costa Rica, but why publish a schedule if it's not going to be followed? With the exception of the "rank and file" staff, we found the management to be quite pretentious and snotty to the point that we were afraid to ask for anything that we needed or ask any questions about local culture, etc. Many of the higher management staff--including some of the activity sponsors--seemed to walk around with clipboards with notes about each room (yes, we can read Spanish and no, the comments were not always nice) and seemed to push spending money or catering to their "favorite" clients more than having a good experience or caring if you were actually enjoying yourself. It really made our stay quite uncomfortable and we were glad to leave. This was really the most disappointing part and I'm sure we could have overlooked all of the above if we weren't so uncomfortable around the staff.

Overall, this really is a beautiful property, but sometimes the views don't make up for an otherwise poor experience. I would definitely recommend looking into other properties or adjusting your expectations of your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Costa Rica and Hotel Punta Islita. I am delighted to learn that you fully enjoyed our spectacular surroundings. With our just-completed renovations, Hotel Punta Islita is more gorgeous than ever. That said, I read your comments about service with much dismay. I thank you for giving us an opportunity to address any shortcomings and would certainly appreciate having a chance to further learn from your uncharacteristic experience. I kindly ask you to write to me at: outreach@grupoislita.com We certainly value all feedback as a tool to ensure that the experience enjoyed by all our guests rises to the high standards that we aim for and consistently achieve. I thank you in advance for your additional input. Sincere regards, Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I vacationed here for 5 days and had an amazing experience. The hotel staff has clearly been trained well - their professionalism and coordinated service was evident throughout our stay. We did several excursions offered through the hotel - ziplining was awesome, the turtle night walk was so special, and our far-and-away favorite was the self-paddled canoe trip down the river. Our room (10) had an incredible view and was comfortable, private, romantic, and well appointed. We ate at the upper and lower restaurants and truly never got bored once during our stay. The spa was first class, too. I felt good knowing that we were staying at a hotel resort that was locally owned and invested, versus a Westin or some other corporate conglomerate. This place would also be good for families traveling with older children (safe, yet room to explore), although we thought it was perfect for the two of us. The swim up bar and infinity pool - yes please! One of those places that actually matches the advertising photos on the website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to read about the many adventures that you enjoyed during your stay. We certainly hope to showcase some of Costa Rica's most amazing eco-experiences! But I especially would like to thank you for noting our commitment to our natural and social environment. Our neighbor communities are key to the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We feel quite blessed about having a chance to ensure that the benefits of tourism translate into economic opportunity and environmental stewardship. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived after driving our rented mid-size 4x4 from the La Fortuna area, finding that the road was not nearly as difficult as some have reported. The road was very well signed from the main highway to the hotel making all but impossible to get lost. We had booked a double room but the hotel upgraded us to a casita with plunge pool to offset the inconvenience of restaurant remodeling. When viewing the room with our concierge Marvin, I questioned the comfort of the sofa bed (one king bed and one sofa bed, we were two guys traveling) and we agreed that it would be fine once converted. However, about 15 minutes later Marvin told us they would like to upgrade us further to a 2 bedroom villa - an offer we gratefully accepted and enjoyed for four days.

While at Punta Islita we enjoyed golf on the excellent 9-hole par 3 course, canopy ziplining and kayaking down the nearby river. We also took advantage of our vehicle to explore nearby Samara and Corozalito beaches. The infiniti pool was open contrary to other recent posts and the attached pool bar made for delightful afternoons. Lunch was brought up from the beach restaurant on request for no extra charge. The beach restaurant offered quality food although expensive, but we felt this was to be expected in a somewhat isolated locale. We also walked the 500m to the local bar restaurant in Islita town were more traditional (and excellent) Costa Rican food was on offer for much less cost - and let's not forget the icy cold beer at all venues! The beach is not the classic sandy expanse but a combination of stony and sandy sections. However the swimming is safe and easy. When the conditions were right there was also a decent surf break but this is not really a surf destination.

The entire staff at Punta Islita were friendly, welcoming and consistently helpful - nothing we wanted seemed to be a problem. Our Spanish ability was limited but the English of the staff is excellent and everybody made us feel at home - literally. A fabulous property in a gorgeous area of Costa Rica and the highlight of our trip through Costa Rica. Hopefully the future presents an opportunity of a return visit or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Warm regards from Costa Rica! Thank you so much for visiting our little corner of the world. It is quite exciting to have a chance to host travelers from all around the world. I also thank you for your thoughtful review and have noted your helpful comments. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that arose out of the works that coincided with your visit and am relieved to learn that the offered room upgrade helped offset these at least a bit. Works are to be completed in the next couple of weeks and we look forward to an amazing season. I am delighted to learn that Hotel Punta Islita was the highlight of your Costa Rica holiday and certainly hope to have a chance to see you again in the near future. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our stay was incredible, thanks to Mavin and the crew. The view is incredible, the food was great, and the service was second to none. We had gone for our honeymoon 10 years ago and returned this year for our anniversary. Only watchout was that there is significant updating going on at the main building. They had completely renovated the bottom area but the top pool was not as usable due to the construction going on all day. While we found that disappointing (our favorite pool and area in the final trip), the folks there were willing to do whatever it took to make it an amazing trip. I would double check before going to see if their construction in the new kitchen is done. Even if we knew, we probably still would have stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the resort for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We really appreciate your return visit, especially since it was for such a special occasion. Congratulations on your 10 year anniversary! It is certainly regrettable that your stay coincided with refurbishment work but I am glad to learn that our staff was able to compensate through attentive service and hospitality I am glad to report that all work should be completed by November 1st. Please write to me at: outreach@grupoislita.com I would love to have a chance to further discuss your visit. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We left the Under Sea Argo dive live aboard in Putaneras for our 3 hour 20 minute van transfer by VDT to the Hotel Punta Islita! Well worth the transfer...........we love the coast line and country side of Costa Rica! It was magic from the minute we saw the beautiful reception with resturant and infinity pool! Gorgeous views of the sea......breath taking! Marvin greeted us and did not waste time making our Avacado Hydrating Couples Spa treatment apt. (we loved this) and setting us up for the 6 MAX turtle nesting night adventure. We were disappointed to see 8 people and that there was absolutely no presentation. None.......first time we have ever experinced this kind of tour. Wish we could have had information on what to expect.....our guide did not volunteer information only gave us information as we asked him questions. Not enough to complain about.....we only focused on one Olive Ridley coming up from the sea, preparing her nest, laying her eggs, and returning to the sea. The 3 hour tour was over in less than 2 hours.
We enjoyed every day exploring the hotel grounds and all of the wildlife and every night in our Villa...........it was absolutley perfect - Manfred made our bedroom special everyday with his special touch!! The staff was wonderful - sharing all kinds of helpful hints to make Punta Islita outstanding! A special thanks to Jose - he spent time with us answering questions and sharing the Costa Rica culture when he had the extra time. We must also thank Edgar for the Praying Mantis - really nice!!!! The staff did a great job of making Hotel Punta Islita very special...........we are returning!
Thanks again Marvin for making Hotel Punta Islita a perfect finale to our Costa Rica adventure!
See you again soon!
Vern and Teresa Johnson
Wyoming, USA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Vern and Teresa,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Punta Islita as your extended Costa Rica destination. As a Costa Rican, I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our magical coastline and countryside. I am glad to learn that your stay with us was very special, with diverse activities and staff-led details. I appreciate your comments about the sea-turtle expedition. It is one of our visitor's most memorable adventures and normally ranks high in terms of learning experience. I will find out what happened that night because we certainly want to ensure that all guests enjoy a top-quality eco-adventure. Thanks so much for the candid feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.