We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely perfect - we'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Islita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Islita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Punta Islita
mountain view, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Completely perfect - we'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I vacationed here for 5 days and had an amazing experience. The hotel staff has clearly been trained well - their professionalism and coordinated service was evident throughout our stay. We did several excursions offered through the hotel - ziplining was awesome, the turtle night walk was so special, and our far-and-away favorite was the self-paddled canoe trip down the river. Our room (10) had an incredible view and was comfortable, private, romantic, and well appointed. We ate at the upper and lower restaurants and truly never got bored once during our stay. The spa was first class, too. I felt good knowing that we were staying at a hotel resort that was locally owned and invested, versus a Westin or some other corporate conglomerate. This place would also be good for families traveling with older children (safe, yet room to explore), although we thought it was perfect for the two of us. The swim up bar and infinity pool - yes please! One of those places that actually matches the advertising photos on the website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to read about the many adventures that you enjoyed during your stay. We certainly hope to showcase some of Costa Rica's most amazing eco-experiences! But I especially would like to thank you for noting our commitment to our natural and social environment. Our neighbor communities are key to the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We feel quite blessed about having a chance to ensure that the benefits of tourism translate into economic opportunity and environmental stewardship. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    87
    24
    18
    3
See reviews for
93
295
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived after driving our rented mid-size 4x4 from the La Fortuna area, finding that the road was not nearly as difficult as some have reported. The road was very well signed from the main highway to the hotel making all but impossible to get lost. We had booked a double room but the hotel upgraded us to a casita with plunge pool to offset the inconvenience of restaurant remodeling. When viewing the room with our concierge Marvin, I questioned the comfort of the sofa bed (one king bed and one sofa bed, we were two guys traveling) and we agreed that it would be fine once converted. However, about 15 minutes later Marvin told us they would like to upgrade us further to a 2 bedroom villa - an offer we gratefully accepted and enjoyed for four days.

While at Punta Islita we enjoyed golf on the excellent 9-hole par 3 course, canopy ziplining and kayaking down the nearby river. We also took advantage of our vehicle to explore nearby Samara and Corozalito beaches. The infiniti pool was open contrary to other recent posts and the attached pool bar made for delightful afternoons. Lunch was brought up from the beach restaurant on request for no extra charge. The beach restaurant offered quality food although expensive, but we felt this was to be expected in a somewhat isolated locale. We also walked the 500m to the local bar restaurant in Islita town were more traditional (and excellent) Costa Rican food was on offer for much less cost - and let's not forget the icy cold beer at all venues! The beach is not the classic sandy expanse but a combination of stony and sandy sections. However the swimming is safe and easy. When the conditions were right there was also a decent surf break but this is not really a surf destination.

The entire staff at Punta Islita were friendly, welcoming and consistently helpful - nothing we wanted seemed to be a problem. Our Spanish ability was limited but the English of the staff is excellent and everybody made us feel at home - literally. A fabulous property in a gorgeous area of Costa Rica and the highlight of our trip through Costa Rica. Hopefully the future presents an opportunity of a return visit or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Warm regards from Costa Rica! Thank you so much for visiting our little corner of the world. It is quite exciting to have a chance to host travelers from all around the world. I also thank you for your thoughtful review and have noted your helpful comments. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that arose out of the works that coincided with your visit and am relieved to learn that the offered room upgrade helped offset these at least a bit. Works are to be completed in the next couple of weeks and we look forward to an amazing season. I am delighted to learn that Hotel Punta Islita was the highlight of your Costa Rica holiday and certainly hope to have a chance to see you again in the near future. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our stay was incredible, thanks to Mavin and the crew. The view is incredible, the food was great, and the service was second to none. We had gone for our honeymoon 10 years ago and returned this year for our anniversary. Only watchout was that there is significant updating going on at the main building. They had completely renovated the bottom area but the top pool was not as usable due to the construction going on all day. While we found that disappointing (our favorite pool and area in the final trip), the folks there were willing to do whatever it took to make it an amazing trip. I would double check before going to see if their construction in the new kitchen is done. Even if we knew, we probably still would have stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the resort for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We really appreciate your return visit, especially since it was for such a special occasion. Congratulations on your 10 year anniversary! It is certainly regrettable that your stay coincided with refurbishment work but I am glad to learn that our staff was able to compensate through attentive service and hospitality I am glad to report that all work should be completed by November 1st. Please write to me at: outreach@grupoislita.com I would love to have a chance to further discuss your visit. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We left the Under Sea Argo dive live aboard in Putaneras for our 3 hour 20 minute van transfer by VDT to the Hotel Punta Islita! Well worth the transfer...........we love the coast line and country side of Costa Rica! It was magic from the minute we saw the beautiful reception with resturant and infinity pool! Gorgeous views of the sea......breath taking! Marvin greeted us and did not waste time making our Avacado Hydrating Couples Spa treatment apt. (we loved this) and setting us up for the 6 MAX turtle nesting night adventure. We were disappointed to see 8 people and that there was absolutely no presentation. None.......first time we have ever experinced this kind of tour. Wish we could have had information on what to expect.....our guide did not volunteer information only gave us information as we asked him questions. Not enough to complain about.....we only focused on one Olive Ridley coming up from the sea, preparing her nest, laying her eggs, and returning to the sea. The 3 hour tour was over in less than 2 hours.
We enjoyed every day exploring the hotel grounds and all of the wildlife and every night in our Villa...........it was absolutley perfect - Manfred made our bedroom special everyday with his special touch!! The staff was wonderful - sharing all kinds of helpful hints to make Punta Islita outstanding! A special thanks to Jose - he spent time with us answering questions and sharing the Costa Rica culture when he had the extra time. We must also thank Edgar for the Praying Mantis - really nice!!!! The staff did a great job of making Hotel Punta Islita very special...........we are returning!
Thanks again Marvin for making Hotel Punta Islita a perfect finale to our Costa Rica adventure!
See you again soon!
Vern and Teresa Johnson
Wyoming, USA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Vern and Teresa,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Punta Islita as your extended Costa Rica destination. As a Costa Rican, I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our magical coastline and countryside. I am glad to learn that your stay with us was very special, with diverse activities and staff-led details. I appreciate your comments about the sea-turtle expedition. It is one of our visitor's most memorable adventures and normally ranks high in terms of learning experience. I will find out what happened that night because we certainly want to ensure that all guests enjoy a top-quality eco-adventure. Thanks so much for the candid feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff were extraordinary on every count. We rented three homes adjacent to each other and did most of the cooking. Yes, they gave us oversize owns and pots so we could cook and feed the entire group of 19. Everything was as expected . . . a little rustic, very charming, very welcome, exceptional staff, great service, and a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Dennis,

Our enthusiastic thanks for your glowing review. Thrilled to learn that your travel group fully enjoyed a fantastic Costa Rica vacation. Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Punta Islita. As you note, our Private Villas are fully outfitted and offer a great lodging option for families or groups of friends. We look forward to many returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I flew in with nature air - a lovely scenic flight on a 12 seater (bit of a flying minibus) A good choice I think, hearing some of the rough road stories. From the moment we arrived we were looked after by Marvin. I mentioned that there was only one vegetarian dish on the menu and he spoke to the chef and the waiter had a list of choices for me by that evening! He also arranged for a bodyboard and fins so I could surf. The staff were all lovely and made the stay extra special. I did one organised activity which was turtle watching and saw olive rilley sea turtles come up the beach and lay eggs, back lit by lightning from a storm out to sea - amazing (but could have been better guided) The hotel is surrounded by dry tropical forest and you don't need to go far to see wildlife; howler monkeys just past reception and a coati walked under my hammock not to mention all the birds. I had a lovely time - it was a gorgeous place to relax (lovely infinity pool, good cocktails) with enough to do that I didn't get too restless (beach walks, wandering into the village, walking into the forest, birdwatching, surfing)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Ali,

I enjoyed reading your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful comments and advise with the Trip Advisor community. Nature Air is a great option because it lets you enjoy Hotel Punta Islita just 40 minutes after boarding from San Jose. For additional scheduling options, Sansa Airlines provides the service as well.

Hotel Punta Islita is proud to showcase some of Costa Rica's most amazing natural wonders and I am glad that you had a chance to spot monkeys, coatis, exotic tropical birds, and sea turtles. The egg-laying ritual of the sea turtle is a true gem and I would love to have more input as to how the viewing experience could be improved upon. I would welcome your comments at: outreach@grupoislita.com Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Me and my fiancé spent 3 nIghts here. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful and the hotel had a friendly atmosphere.

Food: the restaurant was very good quality but drinks were expensive.

Acivities: there is a bit to do but only on selected days. We went on a nature walk and the guide was very knowledgable and professional. The sPa service was excellent and fairly good value.

Rooms: we stayed in room 7 which had its own zacuzzi, the room was really nice.

Overall we had a great time despite the ridiculously rough road on the way in!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Great to learn that we succeeded in providing a wonderful beach getaway to enjoy some of Costa Rica's best ocean landscapes and warm hospitality. Driving to Hotel Punta Islita entails fully asphalted roads until the last 10 miles that blend asphalt, gravel portions, and depending on the time of year, muddy conditions. We are also accessible via a 35-40 minute local flight. Our reservations staff will gladly assist guests in determining what is the most suitable transportation option :) Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Punta Islita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita

Address: Punta Islita, Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is a luxury beach resort set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste (Costa Rica. Hotel Punta Islita features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted private Villas. Authentic experiences and eco-adventures highlight the best of Costa Rica's exciting cultural and natural treasures. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Islita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.