We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Inn East Farleigh

The Bull Inn East Farleigh
Lower Road, East Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0HD, England
01622726282
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited here as a family of 5 for the first time one evening. Extensive menu and food was nicely presented and tasty.
Our only disappointment was that a large number of iems on the menu were unavailable but the waitress clearly did not know what was off the menu at the time of taking our order. It became a joke as she kept returning saying 'I'm really sorry but...'
None of us were able to have our first choice of dish!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebull59, Owner at The Bull Inn East Farleigh, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Just wanted to say sorry about your experience with us at The Bull.
We had a very busy lunch that day with our normal lunchtime & then we had a walking group in as well .
We can normally offer all what is on the menu but this particular evening we did run out due to the busy lunch period .
The waitress should have told you what was not on the menu when the menus were given out .
I apologize for your disappointed .
We do hope this has not put off visiting again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Again we visited for a Sunday Carvery, again we was not disappointed :-)
We also noticed this time that on the bar is a 5 star food hygiene rating, always look for these when we are out and The Bull certainly deserve their's
And may I just add that the pudding list just get's better and better
Many thanks to Jan, Jon ad all of their friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“return visit..........2nd review.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we have been over to The Bull from Surrey twice over the summer period and again felt had to write a review, especially after reading the comments the last contributor made! We went back for a meal and the only disappointment was for my friend who heard that the chef was on holiday! but the food was ok. We then returned another day (when chef had returned) and had a lovely relaxing meal - a guest of ours had the curry and we all had a little try and it was very good and not too hot at all (cannot understand if you do not like hot dishes why you would order a curry!!) in fact it was gorgeous and was sorry that i did not order it but we had no complaints about anything at all and my friend got a glimpse of the chef so she was even happier!
All i can say is if you have any gripes (which we never had to here) then speak out! the landlady and landlord are approachable and would put things right - maybe also the last people visited when the chef was on holiday?
We love it here and will be back as soon as we can for another carvery, etc, etc

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am not sure I visited the same place as the other recent reviewers. Five of us arrived for an early evening meal. I had chicken curry, which was too hot for my palette. I assumed it would be mild as there was a note on the menu that it could be "spiced up for the braver guest". I dread to think how hot that would be.

The others had lasagne, which was 'crusty', steak which was 'average' whilst the other meals were ok.

The atmosphere was lacking as they were very few customers at the time. We had visited this establishment a few years ago (under previous management) and found the food, atmosphere and value for money far better. I do not wish to visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebull59, Owner at The Bull Inn East Farleigh, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi I am very sorry for your disappointment in visiting the Bull . Unfortunately Jon & myself were away at the time , we have been at the Bull for 6years now & pride ourselves in giving a good service /serving good food & making people welcome.I have taken your comments on board & they will be dealt with .I do hope you will give us another chance & perhaps try our Sunday carvery ?

Landlady Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Another very pleasant evening spent in convivial surroundings with a much more adventurious menu. Beautifully presented & cooked so filling we were unable to manage a dessert from the very comprehensive menu. The landlord & landlady are so obliging & enjoy a bit of friendly banter we feel so relaxed here. Prices are more than reasonable & the food was of an exceptional standard. Well done to the Bull once again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn East Farleigh also viewed

East Farleigh, Maidstone
 

Been to The Bull Inn East Farleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Inn East Farleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.