We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is now average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bent's Camp

Bent's Camp
6882 Helen Creek Rd, Land O' Lakes, WI 54540
715 547 3487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It is now average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For the past 7 summers we have ventured up to Bent's Camp over Labor Day weekend for the Friday fish fry. In the beginning the location, atmosphere and great food hooked us. As the years went by the location and atmosphere stayed great but with the change in ownership there was a change in service and quality of the fish fry. Gone are the days of full service, you have to go to a salad bar type of area for bread, tarter sauce, etc. The corn with bacon has lost its flavor and the fish was so-so. On top of this the price has gone up. Unfortunately, after this last time we will probably not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    12
    10
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Busy fish fry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The fish was good. Not a lot of good dietary selections for healthy eating on Friday night. The wait was quite long for a few limited selections.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Northwoods Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had dinner at Bent's. We arrived at 5p because we heard it gets busy fast. We had drinks at the bar, they have a great beer selection and great prices too. I ordered the potato crusted walleye with stuffing and the salad bar. It was all great! My friends had the barbeque chicken pizza and the BLT sandwich. The pizza looked great, but the BLT was just okay. Overall though we had great food and great service. I would definitely return to try out more of the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Between average and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have eaten there three times this year....In the past, it has been outstanding.
This year, food varied between visits. First two visits, the food was terrible, On our recent visit, the food seemed to improved but the portions have been reduced.
Location and view is superior..can't get much better. Love the tucked away location.
Great drinks, average food...
I still recommend it because it is Bent's....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much more Up North than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Based on several reviews, we decided to try this. And we did it twice. Excellent drinks, fresh and tasty salad bar. We both had the special: flying ribs. This was a combo wings and half rack. The ribs were incredibly meaty, tender, and not burnt to a crisp by being rewarmed under the broiler like so many restaurants do these days. The wings and sauce were also done just right. The place was crowded, lively, noisy and fun. Our waitress took very good care of us.

Fast forward to fish fry on Friday. Don't miss it. Served family style, the fish was perfectly cooked and we couldn't get enought of the potato wedges. Cole slaw and potato salad were right on. But we all particularly loved the creamed corn. Round it out with park and beans, large labs of bread, plentiful lemons and great tartar sauce and it's a stomach ready to burst. Tip: immediate seating at the picnic tables outside on the beautiful lake. Sometime service can suffer outside, but this waitress was right on again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bent's Camp also viewed

 
Land O' Lakes, WI
Land O' Lakes, WI
 

Been to Bent's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bent's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.