We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brisket Ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carp's Landing Restaurant and Bar

Carp's Landing Restaurant and Bar
103 S Main St, 105 1/2 S. Main St. (Mailing), Lake Mills, WI 53551-1613
920-648-3005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Lake Mills
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Featuring in-house smoked brisket and ribs, pastas, salads and sandwiches. Daily specials. Sunday Brunch. all items homemade, specializing in sauces and seasonings with a southwest twist. Sports bar with Karaoke and live music on weekends.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Brisket Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stopped in Lake Mills by chance on our way back to the airport from Baraboo and circus world. We were avoiding the franchises and Lake Mills described itself as having a historic downtown which sounded more promising than a truck stop. We saw a wine store and they described our four choices (chinese, mexican, pizza, and sandwiches - good smoked brisket) We went for the meat. The portions were huge and the meat tender and with crisp edges. It smelled and tasted great. It was clearly someone's pride and joy. The sourdough bread was freshly cut. I also had a cup of "Carp's Chowder" which apparently changes frequently and was delicious. There were also a number of other options. The service was a little vague but we were there right after brunch and in mid afternoon. Prices were more than reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A friend recommended we meet at Carp's Landing for their Sunday brunch over the weekend. When you walk into the main entrance off the square, the initial appearance is a typical Wisconsin bar. An adjacent room to the right holds about a dozen tabletops, and the back patio (smokers lounge) seats another half dozen tabletops. Local taps on hand, and at $4 each for whiskey Old Fashions you're in for a special treat. At 12pm on a Sunday, the restaurant sat 8-10 customers as the bar mirrored the same. Our group took the patio seating out back, well worth it for a beautiful Sunday afternoon. The only negative mark about the patio, some kitchen staff and bartenders would retreat outback for a smoke.

Our group of four took advantage of the $11 brunch. While the set up primarily consists of sterno cookers and a heat lamp covering the french toast, it was better then expected. Basics consisted of ham, eggs, potatoes and cheese, french toast, brisket (which they're known for), ribs, soft shell tacos and "fiesta" chicken. To be honest the chicken looks like the precooked Oscar Meyer chicken from Sentry's down the street. If you can overlook a few details, you won't be disappointed in the potatoes, brisket and dessert tray. Ribs are ok, nothing like Anniston AL ribs....but ok. Overall for the price and service we'd return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellant Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped here as a stop in our state wide poker run book after a day of riding they have been in our book for the last couple of years so we always have something to eat and drink they have a variety of food and it's always really good, great food and service hope their back in our book next year we're sure to be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed by all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stopped for dinner at carps landing on a Friday night during lent for fish fry on our way home from Milwaukee. It is a charming place in a historic building and dinner was enjoyed by all 4 of us. Our vegetarian had many options and loved her Monaco sandwich, one delicious burger, and the deep fried cod was very good as well as the potato pancakes and cowboy beans. We want to come back when we can have the brisket as it is smoked in house. Very enjoyable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I have been here 3 times. All of them was a great experience. The last time was saint patty's day. A lot of great food for the Holliday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carp's Landing Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carp's Landing Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carp's Landing Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.