We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva to your Saves list
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Round Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

This hotel is located across the street from the lake. You can easily walk to all of the restaurants, bars, and shops in town. The rooms are average, but decent in size.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    91
    49
    16
    4
See reviews for
58
80
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

I initially booked a regular room thinking it would be no big deal, but as soon as we arrived we realized we should have a lake view. The rooms on the other side don't have balconies and the view is of the parking lot. Make sure you do this before you arrive. Had I reserved this room in my initial reservation it was $20 more. Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade and was told it would be $30, then we went downstairs half an hour later to change rooms, they wanted $38, but agreed on $30.

The rooms are typical hotel rooms although they do have a small fridge, sink and microwave which is great. The continental breakfast was what you would expect. Hours were 6 - 10 which was nice. They do have waffles, sausages and pancakes now, compared to ealier reports I read.

The rooms were not the cleanest nor were they that bad. Bring your own pool towels, the ones they have are no bigger than hand towels, lol. There is sporadic beverage and food service at the pool. Only when a waiter or waitress from the restaurant over looking the pool looks down and wants to take the time to go down the stairs for orders will you see anyone. Bring a cooler instead.

We ate at Gino's East which is connected to the hotel and that was great. we also ate at Houlihans next door and Popeye's all fine.

Parking was easy, nobody was checking anything although there are signs all over. We asked if we needed a placard and was told no. The front parking lot, even though it says for hotel and restaurant guests only is filled with employee cars from the marina directly across the street. Kinda rude I think for the hotel to let that happen.

The best thing is being able to sit on the balcony and watch the lake and all the activities. I recommend this hotel IF you can get a good price.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2006

Had a fantastic stay with an unbelievable lake view room. Staff was very friendly and the hotel is very comfortable and clean. Recently upgraded and one of the best lake locations with a short walk to town. Nice place to stay for a getaway at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

This supposedly redecorated hotel had dark, dingy and dirty public areas. Worst of all was the overwhelming smell of stale cigarettes, cleaning products and body odor. Room was ok, tissue thin towels, sagging mattresses. There was a small microwave & refrigerator if you want to cook. The lake view from balcony was nice.The included breakfast was gross. The "breakfast room" had grungy white walls, stained and filthy carpet. Stale, small sized muffins and bagels were tossed onto serving plates by a worker with bare hands. No serving utensils, toaster didn't toast. Watery coffee, no cream, off tasting milk, Canned fruit in a plastic bowl had an ant looking bug in it. Not worth the money.($160 per night). Stay somewhere else and drive to the lake.

  • Liked — lake view, pool
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

Limited parking only one parking pass per room. I was not alerted of this upon booking. Made for some inconvience. I stayed during off peak so nearby parking was available. If it were summer we would have been S.O.L.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

I chose the best western based on reviews from this website. I called last minute and was lucky enough that they still had a lakeview room available. Definitely worth the extra $20, although the room itself was a little pricey. had a balcony which was nice. Great location.. boat rentals across the street which we used. bars and restaurants nearbye. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

The extra price for the lake view room is well worth it - the other side faces the parking lot! Has both an indoor and outdoor pool so would be nice in most seasons. Room was good size with a kitchenette - micro, refrig and sink. Decorating was not typical chain and rather nice for the change.

Breakfast was a little weak - way too much sugar. Sugar cereal, donuts, muffins and canned fruit - no toaster or oatmeal. Only orange juice. Also served only 6 - 9.

Definately walking distance to the downtown shopping/eating areas. Much easier to get around without a car too. Take the time to walk along the lake front by the homes - they are stunning close up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Address: 300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toll Free Reservations: 888-746-7371 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.