We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise in Lake Geneva!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva to your Saves list
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Lake Zurich, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise in Lake Geneva!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here Sunday-Monday because we had a Living Social voucher. This voucher was for a standard room (no balcony/lake view) & included 2 free DVD rentals (normally $1.99/each), a Harbor Shores goody bag filled with water bottles, microwave popcorn, chocolates, & a coupon for a free appetizer at Gino's East Pizza, which is attached to Harbor Shores!

When we arrived, it was well before the 4 PM check-in time. However, we were warmly greeted by Tessa who explained the hotel amenities, and we were allowed into our room. Tessa also encouraged us to contact the front desk 24/7 if we needed anything. Her professional demeanor was a welcome relief compared to some hotel check-ins I have experienced.

We proceded to our room which I had requested be close to the elevator and on a top floor, all of which were given to us. The room was clean and included a refrigerator, microwave, dises, glasses, silverware, and complimentary WiFi, although we didn't get it to work and gave up after a few tries. The TV is HD and includes an attached DVD player. You can rent DVDs from the hotel for $1.99/each or the hotel will recommend a nearby DVD rental store. The hotel lobby includes massage chairs ($10/30 minutes or less for smaller incremental usage), as well as ice cream case with Ben & Jerry/Good Humor ice cream. Adjacent to the lobby is also where a free continental breakfast is served from 6:30-9:00 AM. Breakfast items include half-dollar sized pancakes, a waffle maker, muffins, bagels, cereals, orange juice, milk -- the usual stuff. Surprisingly, no yogurt was served, though!

One of the nicest surprises was the attached Gino's East pizza restaurant. Since we were there during the heart of winter, this meant we did not need to get in the car and drive somewhere for dinner! Nor did we need to get our coats on. Very, very convenient. Now, there are mixed reviews on Tripadvisor regarding the food quality of Gino's, but I would say our food was delicious! One of us ordered a small thin crust Supreme pizza, another person ordered the sausage rigatoni, and the third person ordered the spaghetti. Imagine our surprise when the food arrived and the portions were enough to feed 4 people each! Next time we eat at Gino's, we will definitely share portions!

Checkout was quick, and again the desk clerks were friendly. In the past, we have always stayed at The Cove whenever we were in Lake Geneva....no more will that be the case after experiencing the friendly people and the amenities of Harbor Shores. (photos attached)

Room Tip: No need to pay for a balcony in winter months; the big windows overlooking the park are quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Front Office Manager at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear ieduca8,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our great location and a great deal! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Sincerely,
Harbor Shores Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    91
    50
    17
    5
See reviews for
58
81
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We bought a three day stay on living social deal. It was a great bargain and this trip was well worth the money spent. The deal was for a park (short for parking lot) view room, but after inspection I gladly paid the $20 per night to upgrade to the lake view which has a balcony and a great view of the lake. Regardless of the deal I would have checked out before staying on the park side as it seemed dark, dank and prison like. Even though it was January and the balcony was not utilized it was well worth the extra money for the view and the openess it gave the room. We enjoyed watching the ice fishermen venture out on to the ice as well as others, like us, test out the ice with everything from atv, snow mobiles to cars. Quite the show.

Room and property was clean and I am sure the housekeepers were tested with all the snow and salt being brought in. Housekeepers did great cleaning our room during our stay which isn't easy with two adults and a four year old. Only cleanliness issue was a mold ring around the hot tub(think salt on a margarita glass) which was enough to turn the bubbles on the side of the tub an unpleasant shade of green. The next day it was better, but I think just because it was used more.

Hotel location is great with many restaurants in easy walking distance with our favorite being the baker house next door.

In short it is a dated 2 star hotel in a great 4 star location that is doing pretty good with what it has to work with. If you go do what you can to stay on the lake side otherwise it will probably disappoint.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Front Office Manager at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Jeff111808,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy to hear you took advantage of the great deal. Although our Parkview rooms do not have a balcony, we try to maintain the historical architecture of the building. We want to keep the original décor and atmosphere without losing the modern amenities guests are accustomed to. Again, we thank you for your time and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Sincerely,
Harbor Shores Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel for a great getaway and were more than pleased! The check-in staff greeted us immediately and were very friendly. Our room was very clean and quiet. They have a restaurant that is right on the property that we ate at and the staff was very friendly again. It's in a great location right in the heart of Lake Geneva with views of the lake. We will return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Front Office Manager at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear rdertz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! It was our pleasure having you as an extended stay guest! We will miss having you here and hope you visit again soon and share with us the stories of your next adventure!

Sincerely,
Teena S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been coming to Lake Geneva for several years. Usually we stay in town but not on the lake itself. We decided to try the Harbor Shores. It was a very pleasant surprise. Well maintained, clean rooms, basically a studio apartment, microwave, fridge, kitchen sink, cabinets, silverware and dishes were provided. The lake side rooms have an incredible view of the lake, right across the street from the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of all the downtown shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Front Office Manager at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva! We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Teena S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two month stay in Lake Geneva thanks to Harbor Shores. Not only was the location perfect with beautiful sunsets overlooking the lake and being right in downtown Lake Geneva next to restaurants, shops and the library, but the staff was exceptional. Tammy the manager, maintenence men, housekeepers and desk staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful and responded immediately to any of our needs. We love Harbor Shores and can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Caroljean2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! It was our pleasure having you as an extended stay guest! We will miss having you here and hope you visit again soon and share with us the stories of your next adventure!

Sincerely,

Laura
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Upper-floor lake-side rooms are attractively furnished and offer a marvelous panoramic view of Lake Geneva. Rates are reasonable and include a continental breakfast. Downtown Geneva is within easy walking distance. There is a restaurant in the hotel, another around the corner and more only blocks away, of which our favorite is Scuttlebutt's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Eric L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of our spectacular lake views! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Been coming up here for years,tried all of the hotels and Harbor Shores is my hands down favorite. Beautiful Lake views ,nice continental breakfast and a great restaurant ( Gino's ) is all part of this wonderful experience. The staff here is top notch and will help with all of your needs. Recently remodeled the rooms and they all have Flat Screen TV's.... Check around and you will not find a better value in Lake Geneva....This location is walking distance to everything !

Room Tip: Any Lake View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear tominyous,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva! We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Address: 300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toll Free Reservations: 888-746-7371 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.