We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Lake Geneva
Duluth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent two nights here, a room with a view, but it was a little pricey compared to other hotels we have stayed at. Although upon reading what someone else paid for the same type of room, I best not complain, as we got ours much cheaper, but it was during the week too, not a weekend. The beds were the most comfortable of any on our trip this year, slept so good. Didn't hear any street noise at all and didn't hear any noise from Gino's Pizza which was just off to the side and below our room, although it wasn't the busy time of year either. They did have a refrigerator, microwave, toaster and wet bar, which was nice, table and two soft chairs. Didn't get to sit out the balcony like I had wanted too, as first afternoon we no more than got outside and it started to pour, then it turned so cold.
We were out and about our second day and when we came back to our room in the afternoon our room card key wouldn't work, so I had to go down to the lobby and stand and wait while they took care of other guests, before they could run our cards through the machine.
We were very disappointed in their continental breakfast though, for a hotel this size they should have better and more choices.
The only real perk for me was the fantastic view!

Room Tip: ask for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Kittycat66,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are glad you enjoyed the view from your lakeview room, however it is unfortunate that the weather didn't cooperate.

I do apologize that you were disappointed in our free continential breakfast. If you were looking for more, our front desk staff is happy to offer suggestions for some great restaurants just up the block from us!

Thank you again for choosing Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
44
63
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We have paid the expensive price for a balcony room for a couple of years & loved it. However, this year we got a balcony about 2 floors over Ginos Pizza. The noise &smells from the roof fans of the restaurant were annoying to say the least.
If the hotel had been booked, I wouldn't complain so much. However,it was the day after Labor Day & the Parking lot looked empty. We were there for 3 nights and will be checking out other places for next year. It is a great location. Too bad they don't try to put their best foot forward.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Polllanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your accommodations during your stay. Since we were not sold out, we would have been happy to find another room for you had you let us know. In the future when making reservations, please feel free to request to be away from the roof of the restaurant and we will do our best to accommodate that request.

Thank you again for choosing Harbor Shores, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anneeliz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel was average. It was clean enough. There was a fridge, sink, microwave and toaster in th room, which was nice. The beds were fairly comfortable. We had a balcony room, which overlooked the parking lot. The location is great; only a parking lot and Wrigley Drive separate the hotel from the lake. Downtown and the beach are a short walk away (1 or 2 blocks). The free continental breakfast had terrible coffee and was a carbohydrate fest and nothing great.
The restaurant was closed when I was wanted a beer at 11:00 pm on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear anneeliz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are sorry that your accommodations didn't exceed your expectations. We apprecaite any feedback from our guests and we are constantly striving to update and improve our property and guest rooms. While we do offer a free continential breakfast to our over night guests, if you are looking for something more, our front desk is happy to offer you some suggestions for any meal of the day.

Thank you again for choosing Harbor Shores, we hope to work with you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Let me just start off saying I'm not one of those super picky people that constantly needs to stay at ritzy 4 star hotels. I'm a big believer in getting good deals even if it means sometimes staying somewhere like a Super 6 where you get what you pay for and it works out.
On that note, here are my pros and cons with Harbor Shores.

Cons- Like Many reviews, the hotel is a over priced for what you get. We paid $289 for a lake view Saturday night room. The view WAS very nice, however we were on the first floor so the entire time the view was somewhat ruined by the parking lot, parking attendant, and the busy street. It would have been nice to have a bit more privacy to enjoy the scenery without being so on display being so close to the ground. There are a lot more nice looking updated hotels near by that are within the same price range so it sucks seeing what your money could have bought.

WEAK walls!!! At 1:30 am I was woken by someone having a party whether it was in the next room upstairs etc. The next morning I could still here every peep and conversation they were having. It was almost like they were outside my door.

The rooms were dated but I did like the fact that they provided fridges, a toaster and a microwave in there.

The male bartender at Gino's east was awesome and I really did like how you could sit outside and enjoy your drink while overlooking the pool.

The pools were both small, but that wasn't even a huge issue. I still had fun relaxing and enjoying the views.

The free breakfast was fine. It's nothing big deal but hey, its free :)

Overall, it wasn't bad and not great. If the price was cheaper, I think I would have been more apt to give it a higher score. I just don't think it was worth the $289 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Chicago1223,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are sorry you weren't overly pleased with your accomodations. Please know we do strive to constantly update and improve our property and welcome any feedback from our guests. I'm am sorry you felt you weren't able to enjoy the lakeview from your room, we do welcome our guests to make any requests at the time of reservation (i.e. high floors, bed types) and we will do our best to accomodate you.

We do apologize for the disturbances you experienced over night as well. Harbor Shores does have and we do our best to enforce quite hours, and our guests are provided with this information at checking on the list of in-house amenities they are given. We do our best to monitor this and hope you contacted the front desk to send someone to enforce our policy.

Thank you again. It is our hope that you will give Harbor Shores a chance to exceed your expectations in the future when planning your next trip to Lake Geneva.

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a great location to walk almost anywhere in Downtown Lake Geneva. It was a typical hotel. Nothing overly exciting about it but not a dump. Average overall but it did have free parking which was great during a busy weekend. They have a free continental breakfast which too was average but filling. Waffles were the only hot item. But Lake Geneva is pricey and every little bit helps. I would prefer to spend money on lunch and dinner anyway. The other plus was there is a microwave and mini fridge in room and cabinets. This was just a friend and I but with a family this would be a great perk along with the location. The front desk people were friendly. Very busy with a lot of people coming and going. Our room lamp had inches of dust on it but that isn't earth shaking. From the reviews I was a bit afraid but it was fine. It is not posh but typical of a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear VikHawkMom,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are constantly working to update and improve our facilities and guest rooms and we appreciate all feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for choosing Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, we look forward to working with you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We (family with 2 kids) stayed in this hotel when Venetian festival was ongoing in Lake Geneva during August third week. You won't go wrong with location of this hotel being right on lake and nearby all the main street activity. Harbor shores hotel has 2 pools (one outdoor and one indoor) and Lake Geneva beach is 5 minute walking distance, and this counts as positive. There is a Gino's East pizza onsite and couple of sit-in restaurants next door. Front desk and breakfast staff was courteous on all 4 occasions we had to interact with them. There are 2 rooms where breakfast is setup but don't expect too many offerings. On negative side, this hotel doesn't have secure key card entry points anywhere and anyone on road can walk-in till guest rooms without being questioned.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room on 3rd to 5th floor but not lower than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Proid,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the downtown area and events! Venetian Festival is a great time of year to come with the whole family!

Thank you again and we look forward to working with you again soon!

Sincerely,
Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited Lake Geneva for the first time and stayed here, booking the room online. A few days before arriving I called to request a room that was higher up and away from the restaurant that is attached at the front. (We had read about smoke and exhaust fan noise). They said they would see what they could do. When we arrived, there was no note of my request, and they were going to put us in a first floor room next to the parking lot. But when I told them I had called, they found another room that was in a better location. We were lucky it was mid-week, My advice is to request such a room and ask for the person's name with whom you spoke. It seemed as if the desk clerks were all young college-aged students who were friendly, but not too sharp.
The pools were nice and so was the room. It seemed to have been redecorated recently, with a nice bed too. Each room has a very small balcony that has two chairs for lake view (but look past the parking lot and road).
A pretty good place for the price, and the location is great. The free breakfast was decent, with a clean area and two different locations in the hotel in case of large crowds The best restaurants and pubs are right next door, and so are the public beach and boat tour docks. Walk two blocks and you're on the path to explore the south shore mansions.
Overall, we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Get higher room away from restaurant. Rooms have microwave, DVD player and good sized fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear carney33,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our lakeviews and great location. I apologize that there was no note of your request for a specific room or floor. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests requests, although, based on availablility we are not able to make any guarantees. I do apologize that you had a negative experience with our front desk associates who are in fact very friendly and knowledgeable. Summer is a very busy time for us, however we do our best to ensure the best in customer service. Thankfully, we were able to get you into a room that you found comfortable and we hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Lake Geneva.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Also Known As:
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Best Western
Address: 300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toll Free Reservations: 888-746-7371 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva to your Saves list