We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and home-like!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SevenOaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SevenOaks to your Saves list
SevenOaks
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   682 Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Specials
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elmwood Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean and home-like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My new wife and I wanted to get away for a couple of days and have a "mini-honeymoon" while we save up for a more extravagant get-away hopefully later this year, or next year. We looked up a few destinations within a 3-4 hour drive from the Chicago-area, and we found this gem right here on TripAdvisor based on the reviews. We had an awful experience last year at a hotel in the Dominican Republic because we didn't heed the reviews, so we have learned our lesson.

In any case, this place was only about a 90 minute drive from our home, and was walking distance from the busy lakefront area of Lake Geneva. I was very impressed with the stand-alone cottage, and with how much room we had for the price.

The cottages all have a front porch and a couple of rocking chairs, and a small table, which had a citronella candle and lighter.

The living room had a sofa with an ottoman to kick back and relax in front of the flat screen TV with DVD player. Loved the fireplace, which I would imagine would come in really handy in the winter. There was a table and chairs where we can sit down for a meal next to a couple of windows. One thing that I was particularly grateful for, that many people might not think about, is the binder that had menus from various restaurants in the lakefront area. This is really helpful if you're not familiar with all the establishments, and we want a particular cuisine for lunch or dinner.

The kitchenette was nice, and included a sink, a couple of cabinets, a microwave, and a decent-sized mini-fridge, stocked with soft drinks, coffee creamer and cheese and wine as a welcome by the owners of the facility. There was a 12-cup coffeemaker, coffee mugs, tea kettle, and a tea set.

The bedroom was nice and roomy with a king-size bed, a couple of night stands, a clock radio, and even an electronic candle.

The bathroom was really nice. It included a shower with three shower heads, a hot-tub, heated floors, and a heated towel bar. There were also robes placed in the bathroom for us along with the towels.

The staff was pretty friendly and courteous, and brought us breakfast every morning, at whatever time you tell them to bring it between 8:00 and 10:00am.

Overall, we had an excellent experience! The only minor complaints would be that there wasn't always someone available at the office, which was a bit of a walk from our cottage. Perhaps a courtesy phone could be set up that we can use to contact them at the office if we need something. Also, we wish the breakfast were a little more generous with fruit, and perhaps go a little lighter on the breads. However, these couple little issues won't prevent us from coming back here the next time we come to Lake Geneva, which we hope is very soon!

I would wholeheartedly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
205
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I are full blown fans of SevenOaks. We've stayed there once a year for the last seven years since they opened. As you can see in all the glowing reviews, these little cottages are the residential gem of Lake Geneva. Cozy, inviting, immaculate.

Our ritual is to enjoy the complementary wine, cheese, fruit and crackers on the first night. Each morning we nosh on toasted croissants, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, and danishes - all included in your rate! A trip to SevenOaks is not complete without a long walk with the innkeepers' dogs, Monte and Scooby. The rambunctious twosome will make sure you get in your cardio while on vacay!

Want to explore Lake Geneva? EVERYTHING is literally a short 3-5 minute drive away. Like to get in your fitness? Walk to town in 10-15min!

Comfort, tranquility, and hospitality. Perfection. Job well done as always Amanda and Leon. Congratulations on seven years!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I went to Lake Geneva for our anniversary and found Seven Oaks quite by chance after we found our normal pick was closed for renovations. After spending two great nights here, we have a new first pick when visiting the area. The best (worst part) was the heated bathroom floors. I do not want to renovate our bathrooms but I am not sure I will win this discussion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I took a last minute over night trip to Lake Geneva from Chicago. We found Seven Oaks on Trip Advisor and could not have been happier. The owners were wonderfully pleasant and welcoming. Our room was a stand alone cottage with a separate family room that had a TV, DVD player and a fireplace. We had a long day shopping and had wanted to spend a relaxing night in. Complimentary wine and cheese plate is brought to your room and there is a huge library of current DVDs that the owners gladly lend. The mini fridge is stocked with drinks (pop and water) and they offer a nice selection of teas, as well. The room (and entire property) was extremely clean and very well maintained. We had a good night sleep in a comfortable bed and had a complimentary continental breakfast brought to our room in the morning. Even the toilet seat, floors and towel racks were heated! Honestly, every detail was considered and we couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake Il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great place will be back . Owners very friendly. We're able to check out movie upon arrival. Cheese tray waiting for us. Lots of lovely extras water, tea and coffee. Big soaking tub and heated floors. I'll be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Ilinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our second time staying at Seven Oaks. The owners are friendly and the cottages are cozy. Wine and cheese when we got there and breakfast delivered to our door in the morning. Large spa tub, heated bathroom floor, fireplace, everything you need to for a nice private getaway.

We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Quiet, immaculate with many little extras that make you feel welcomed little various teas, water, sodas, DVD player with movies heated bathroom floors, etc. the owner was very pleasant and helpful. I would stay again.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SevenOaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SevenOaks

Address: 682 Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SevenOaks 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a small luxury hotel with the hospitality of a B & B. SevenOaks offers 9 luxury suites in 7 one-floor buildings, no footsteps above or below. Each suite has a porch with rocking chairs, a cozy living-room with stone fireplace and LCD TV, king bed with luxury linens, bathroom with 2 person spa tub, large separate shower, heated floor and heated towel bar to warm your soft fluffy towels! Two suites offer 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Welcome package, continental breakfast, complimentary wireless interne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SevenOaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevenoaks Hotel Lake Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SevenOaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.